We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible,horrible pub”
Review of The Mailmans Arms

The Mailmans Arms
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyndhurst
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mailmans Arms
Ranked #20 of 22 Lyndhurst B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrible,horrible pub”
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

My husband and i went to this pub to watch a football game on a monday evening. We were looking for a pub with a tv and it look lovely from the outside- so we went in,looks can be decieveing .Ordering our drinks the barmaid who serves us was okay,but the landlord walked around in a pair off jogging bottoms and looked like he could do with a wash. We odered food as we were there for a few hour. My husband ordered scampi-- it wasnt cooked properly.....i ordered the the mushrooms in creamy garlic sauce and an omelettee to follow. I then spent the rest of the evening in the bathroom,after throwing up 6 times............DO NOT GO THIS HORRIBLE PUB!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank skwhitehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    4
    4
    0
    4
See reviews for
4
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night in July en route to Bournemouth! Room had a shower, tv and was clean and the breakfast was excellent, wide choice. The Mailmans is positioned perfectly right in the middle of town. Wi-fi abailable which in this day and age is required. Staff were very friendly, nothing was too much trouble, would definitely stay again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We only ate, we didn't stay here so can't comment on the accommodation. The food was average but as we were a party of 4 adults and 3 children under age 7, the spacious, clean and sunny beer garden to the rear was perfect for us and the location in lyndhurst is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jellygreenbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2012

In the pub area I felt very uncomfortable as a visitor and intimidated by the locals. At closing time I was forced to neck my drink as the bar lady said "drink up we are closed" more than once. before 11.30 !!!
I will not be going there again and suggest that unless you are a local you don't go either !!!!

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank laura b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lyndhurst hotels

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Stayed here one night last week on our way from Devon to Sussex. Prices for bed and breakfast in Lyndhurst seem to be quite high compared to other places, we paid £75 but have had much better elsewhere for the same price. The bar staff were very nice but the room, although very clean, had a manly/musty smell from the duvet and pillows which need to be washed or replaced. The decor wasn't great (no headboard, spare bits of blind stuck round the corner). Booked this through booking.com which said there was wifi throughout the hotel - There is NO wifi except from the hotel next door. The breakfast was lovely though.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kim1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.2 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
833 reviews
0.2 mi away
Penny Farthing Hotel
Penny Farthing Hotel
#5 of 8 in Lyndhurst
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Stoney Cross Lyndhurst
0.2 mi away
The White Rabbit
The White Rabbit
#6 of 8 in Lyndhurst
501 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mailmans Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mailmans Arms

Property: The Mailmans Arms
Address: 71 High Street, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO43 7BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lyndhurst
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Mailmans Arms Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing