We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ms”
Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage
Through lounge/dining room Sitting area with open fireplace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
31 reviews
Cottage
Through lounge/dining room
Sitting area with open fireplace
Bedroom 1 upstairs
Bedroom 2 upstairs
Twin bedroom upstairs
Bathroom 2 (Large Shower, bidet, sink and Toilet)
Bathroom 2 ( bath, sink & Toilet)
View from Lounge Window
Enclosed back garden
Cottage is the first two cottages on left knocked into one.
Winter Time
Cottage Front Door
Ponies and deer can be seen on Swan Green
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TamsinKie
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ms”
Reviewed August 11, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We have just stayed here for a 2 week holiday and have loved the cottage. It's a short walk
to lyndhurst and easy access to the rest of the New Forest. Lots of character and atmosphere!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JustJan20...
Addlestone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed June 4, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We have just had a week at this beautiful cottage tucked away in the New Forest...it is situated by the village cricket green and easily within walking distance or two good pubs. Lovely secure garden for our elderly spaniel and two every noisy grandsons.....It was just as described and very clean. Only a couple of comments...one being that the stairs are not suitable for young children..ours were two and four and there were no handrails of any sort to help them. Also being so steep its really not safe carrying them so rope or rail would be a help...also for myself I have just had a knee replacement so am on crutches so I was also unable to go upstairs at all so spent my week sleeping on the sofa bed which would have been OK for a couple of nights but. not great for the week...and would be good if someone could check the oven temp as we think that it really is not as it should be..I cooked a chicken which said it needed a hour and a half and with the oven as high as it would go it took almost three hour's.
Apart from these little issues it is a lovely cottage and a fabulous area for a holiday. So much to see and places to visit.....Would recommend it to friends.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2017
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your holiday at our cottage. Unfortunately one set of stairs are steep, as in most 17th century cottages, but there is a safety gate. It would be impossible to fit a handrail. In fact, it's perhaps a matter of kids getting used to things as my 2 granddaughters of 3 and 5 love to scramble up and down both sets of stairs.
With regard to the oven, I shall certainly look into the temperature it as I was there over Easter and cooked a roast lamb for 12 people without any problem.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
extestwoo...
Barrie, Canada
1 review
“fantastic”
Reviewed February 1, 2017 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed at this wonderful pretty thatched cottage in August with our family from Canada consisting of a 5 year old, 14 year old, 17 year old and 4 adults. It was a dream come true to stay here as our family had actually lived in this cottage several generations ago. This cottage was everything and more than the description described and communication with the owner was excellent from start to finish. All amenities are provided and we were surprised at the large layout and of course the two bathrooms were a big plus. The beds were comfortable and overall the property was clean with a manicured large back garden. We would love to come back again for another stay.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan W
2 reviews
“Cosy, warm, clean.”
Reviewed January 2, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We had a great time here and arrived 'home' to all the essentials , bread, Milk, butter and even a wee dram. The house was lovely and warm and there was plenty of hot water! We went exploring in the forrest across the road and had great fun even when we lost a wellie in to the muck :-)
Everything was lovely and clean and the bed linen smelt beautiful!
There were 8 of us and we really enjoyed our stay.
It was a challenge to cook Christmas dinner, but we definitely came out on top!

Thanks and we would definitely stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlotta3...
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed December 20, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Great stay with my family, the cottage was amazing! The kids had loads of fun and enjoyed it a lot. There were many activities in the neighborhood for them and for us. The New forest was truly beautiful. Great stay, will definitely come back. Many compliments

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Familytra...
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A lovely cottage in a great location.”
Reviewed August 16, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This is a beautiful cottage in a great location smack in the middle of the New Forest, perfectly located for access to everything. We took our four children (15, 13, 7 & 5) and two golden retrievers and had more than enough space. There is also an enclosed rear garden which is well kept and great for children and dogs alike. The cottage interior is well furnished and in good condition.
It is on a busy road and this did bother us a little early in the mornings, but not too much. Good responses from the owner to questions and an accomodating approach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It is a beautiful property
Liked least: Noise from the road
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing