We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service - highly recommended”
Review of Forest Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Forest Lodge Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent Service - highly recommended”
Reviewed October 10, 2010

My husband and I have just returned from a weekend break at the Forest Lodge and thoroughly enjoyed it. From the moment we arrived the staff were friendly and very professional. Our room (no 24) was tastefully modern and looked newly decorated. Breakfast was lovely, again the staff were top notch and the food was very nice. There was a wedding on the Saturday which meant quite a lot of noise until late, but this is to be expected with a large wedding and didn't spoil our break at all.
There are a number of restaurants within walking distance, we ate at an excellent Chinese restaurant in Lyndhurst which was a 10 min walk away from the hotel.
We would definately stay at this hotel again, should we come back to the New Forest.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmyvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    300
    130
    57
    14
See reviews for
229
385
15
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We have just spent the weekend staying in this lovely hotel with friends and our dog. It was very pleasant and we really enjoyed our stay except for one niggle.

There was a wedding on the Saturday and first we had to have dinner late, then we had a bar in the basement that we had to ring a bell to get a drink and it sometimes took them a while to get to us. Then we had to walk through the wedding party to get to our rooms which was not ideal and then we had to put up with the noise from the disco being so close to it.

The food was lovely but if staying more than a couple of nights we all said it would be better to venture out as the menu was very fancy and not really wnat we wanted after walking all day.

The rooms where clean and very nice, tea coffee etc laid on and very welcome when wakeing up.

The hotel is on the doorstep for Lyndhurst so park the car and get green by walking everywhere.

In the tourist info shop there are leaflets for walks etc but it may be better to download from a web site as they do charge for the info and they didn't have a lot to choose from so we where glad that we's done this.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacky1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2010

A very friendly hotel, with lovely pool. ideal for a short break though I imagine very crowded if there's an event on. Laterooms deal of £110 for superior room b&b was good value if not cheap. The room was very well furnished, though a regular room would be on the small side I expect

Overall a good choice. The front desk staff were fantastic and very helpful; we ate in the restaurant where the quality of food was good if a bit unimaginative; the service in the restaurant didn't match the quality of the food though, all a bit disorganised.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imeanreally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Overall, we couldn't fault the Best Western Forest Lodge where we stayed for 2 nights as part of a wedding package.

However, we were very disapointed upon arrival to find that our room was tiny, very out of date and shabby. The room was certainly not big enough for a couple to get ready to go to a wedding and the bathroom did not have a bath. We did not feel that the quality of the room reflected the price. Having visted a couple of the other members of the wedding party we soon discovered that our room was a bit of a blip and that, in fact, the rest of the room had been beautifully renovated to a very high standard. After an appauling first night in a very uncomfortable bed, we spoke to a member of staff who was able to upgrade us to a new room for our second night.

The second room was one of the higher standard rooms. Beautifully decorated in a modern and clean style with duck down duvet and plush bedding. The shower was fantastic and we had plenty of space. This room really felt like a luxury.

The food at the hotel was outstanding and superbly presented. The wine list was reasonable and all members of staff were friendly and went out of their way to ensure we were well catered for. We couldn't fault the overall experience which would have been excellent had we not suffered the experience of room number 30 on our first night!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chatterboxvix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STOCKPORT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Had a wedding package deal Fri/Sat B&B and Fri evening meal £267. Checked in rubbish bin full,Sat a.m no soap or toilet paper.Air con on for breakfast not on for wedding reception 80 deg.Pre reception drinks orange/pimms none left after 15mins told somebody most have had two ???Glass red wine £4.85,3 teas 1 tonic and soda £11. No lunch available on arrival.1 extra egg and mushrooms £2,75. £30 allowance ea for evening in package would only buy starter and main.My wife had a recent hip replacement and was made to walk round hotel to rear garden instead of through patio doors.All about profit and easiest way for staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ACKY45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Expect excellent gourmet food at this establishment. Very attentive staff. Very nice rooms and a quiet setting yet located within walking distance to the center of town. Definately the place to stay when in the New Forest.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewlyRetiredTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOLKESTONE
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

We have just returned from a 5 night break at the Forest Lodge Hotel. We was due to travel to Italy for a 2 week holiday which was cancelled on the way to the airport by British Airways. This left me with the job of finding a holiday for 4 people with no notice.
Having stayed in Best Western Hotels before i tried there web site and ended up booking a 5 night stay at the Forest Lodge. The ease of finding the Hotel and general booking process was very easy and helped to rescue a desperate situation. The hotel is on the edge of Lyndhurst and within a 5 minute walk to the main street. Our first impressions of the outside of the Hotel and the ease and friendliness of the staff soon made us forget our disappointment.
We had 2 rooms one on the Ground Floor which had been recently refurbished and one on the First Floor. Both Rooms were of a good size and were very comfortable with lovely beds.
There is a general sitting area and Bar which were both nice. There is a indoor swimming pool which looked a good size.
There are some works being carried out at the moment although these did not interfere with our stay there and once completed will make the Hotel even better
The big surprise was the Food we booked on a half board basis. The breakfast was good with a nice cooked breakfast with a number of choices. The evening meals were however Excellent and the food was not far short of some Michelin star restaurants that we have eaten in. I would particularly recommend the Scallops and Venison
The Hotel is a short distance to all the attractions of the new Forest, and i can say when we return to the New Forest we will have no hesitation in staying here again

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAPTAINBUDHELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
2.8 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
829 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
777 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Moorhill House Hotel
Moorhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burley
680 reviews
6.2 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
329 reviews
6.8 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Lodge Hotel

Property: Forest Lodge Hotel
Address: Romsey Road, Pikes Hill, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO43 7AS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Forest Lodge)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly a Georgian Dower House of the Notherwood Estate, the Forest Lodge Hotel blends historical charm and contemporary style with warm hospitality. Located just minutes from Lyndhurst and the beautiful New Forest, our boutique hotel is the perfect destination for weekend getaways, family breaks, wedding celebrations, corporate meetings and events. Family-friendly doesn't just mean the kids, we welcome dogs too. With comfy, well appointed rooms featuring great amenities, we're ideal for swift overnight stays and long, indulgent breaks. Stroll into Lyndhurst and hit the boutiques, explore the beautiful New Forest surroundings, relax in our bars and dine well in the award-winning Glasshouse Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Forest Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Forest Lodge Hotel Lyndhurst
Best Western Lyndhurst
Lyndhurst Best Western
Best Western Forest Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing