We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They have arrived!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Forest Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Forest Lodge Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“They have arrived!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Last year we adjudged the hotel as "Nearly there" after five years of variable performance. In this sixth year it is a delight to say that the hotel provided a level of accommodation that exceeded its 3* rating. The experience from check in to check out was first class, from staff who were friendly, efficient and helpful to meals in both Forest and Glasshouse which were all superb. The food was of the highest quality with each course presented at its best and where appropriate cooked to perfection. The minor issue of an incomplete sweet was dealt with in the most professional manner by Elisabeth, who even in a very busy dining room, ensured that an update was provided on progress. The standard room more than met our needs, adequate space, comfortable bed, well fitted en-suite and decent décor. A wholly satisfactory three days and a credit to Best Western.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin_Joan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    287
    127
    53
    14
See reviews for
217
372
14
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Lovely, clean and well presented room and the bed was very comfortable! The room was small but it wasn't an issue, there was plenty of floor space for my toddler to play. We only stayed on night though. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelissaAnders0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Today I spent a special time with friends and celebrating a special birthday...21st...... We had a wonderful welcome and shown to a relaxing and contemporary room laid out ready for our tea. The staff were very attentive, and nothing was too much trouble.
If you want a special treat I would certainly recommend the Forest Lodge.
Thank you for a lovely afternoon.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

Staff didn't seem to care that you were staying. Room was cooled by a desk fan in an open window which must have wasted electricity and puts in doubt their environmental claims. Would not stay again and would not recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
2 Thank 391colinm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
I am sorry you felt neglected by the staff during your recent stay. This is not our usual level of service and I will ensure the general manager is made aware of your comments. Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
747 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 573 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

Situated on the outskirts of Lyndhurst, the hotel is roughly an eight minute walk from the town centre, and ideally situated for visiting the New Forest.
Our room (25), which was situated on the first floor, was fairly small but with high ceilings. However, the room was certainly not the cleanest we had ever stayed in. There were numerous dust/cobwebs hanging from the ceilings, and both the window frames and between the radiators were caked in dust. The net curtains were torn, and did not look very clean. Even in the Glasshouse restaurant the net curtains were stained with food splashes, and the floor was not particularly clean. Some of the floorboards were fairly creaky, but not really a problem.
In addition to this our window overlooked the outside decked area of the bar, which was fairly noisy one evening following a wedding reception.
There was a complimentary refreshment tray containing tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits, but no bottled water.
The breakfast was fairly mediocre with some items undercooked. There was fairly limited choice, and the cooked breakfast seemed fairly small in comparison to similar establishments.
I dislike writing negative reviews about hotels, but hope that in doing so the negative issues are put right for future quests.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molesey19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read that there were problems with cleanliness in your room, I will ensure your comments are forwarded to the general manager for further action. With regards to the net curtains in your room, these have now been replaced. I am sorry that you did not find enough choice on the breakfast menu, in addition to the English breakfast or Smoked Salmon on toast, there is an ample buffet for you to enjoy. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

My boyfriend and I recently stayed here for one night. Overall our experience was really good, the staff were really lovely and really helpful, especially the receptionist. It's in a good location, just a short walk to Lyndhurst, with good views and plenty of parking. The downstairs of the hotel was well decorated, nice but not what I would describe as luxurious. The bedroom itself is where I felt it was let down a little, it was nice enough but very basic looking and in need of a bit of a revamp in my opinion, the furniture felt a bit like a worn travel lodge and I expected a bit more luxury for the price. It was clean though, and had everything you would expect inside, except perhaps the ability to control the temperature. There is a pool which I guess makes the price a bit more understandable but we didn't get a chance to use it with our stay being so short. The breakfast in the morning was very good with a good choice on the menu (although some croissants or similar would have been good), we had the English breakfast made with local produce and it was lovely.
I would stay here again if I could get a better price for the room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
2.8 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
6.6 mi away
Moorhill House Hotel
Moorhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Lodge Hotel

Property: Forest Lodge Hotel
Address: Romsey Road, Pikes Hill, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO43 7AS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Forest Lodge)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly a Georgian Dower House of the Notherwood Estate, the Forest Lodge Hotel blends historical charm and contemporary style with warm hospitality. Located just minutes from Lyndhurst and the beautiful New Forest, our boutique hotel is the perfect destination for weekend getaways, family breaks, wedding celebrations, corporate meetings and events. Family-friendly doesn't just mean the kids, we welcome dogs too. With comfy, well appointed rooms featuring great amenities, we're ideal for swift overnight stays and long, indulgent breaks. Stroll into Lyndhurst and hit the boutiques, explore the beautiful New Forest surroundings, relax in our bars and dine well in the award-winning Glasshouse Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Forest Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Forest Lodge Hotel Lyndhurst
Best Western Lyndhurst
Lyndhurst Best Western
Best Western Forest Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing