We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as usual” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forest Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Forest Lodge Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“As good as usual”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is our fourth stay at this hotel and on every occasion, it has been excellent. The Verderer and Crown rooms are very comfortable with good facilities and the staff are friendly and attentive. The food is really good with a freshly cooked breakfast and the extended evening menu now offers more choice and reasonable prices. Already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simmo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    281
    124
    53
    13
See reviews for
212
365
14
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tenerife,
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

We booked this hotel for our whole family, 15 of us, to celebrate my mum's 60th birthday and i have to say I had a fantastic weekend, the hotel was lovely, clean and modern yet still had a warm comfortable feel about it! The best part about the hotel though was definitely the staff, they make this hotel, they couldn't do enough for us and were always smiling! Overall i would definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms are small, lovely, modern, fresh and clean but small, especially if you have children with you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my Partner & Daughter for one night. The reason for booking this hotel was because it had a swimming pool otherwise we would've booked a MUCH cheaper room at another hotel, however the trip was a treat for my Daughter and I knew she would love having the added extra of a pool. On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly gentleman on reception. Our room was nice but for the price we paid they should have at least catered for 3 people as the room was booked & paid for 3 people - i.e. bottles of water, robes, slippers & toiletries, there were only 2 of each, but we accepted this and carried on with our break. After checking in we found that the room we had paid for (£174) did not include breakfast - that would be an extra £20!! we accepted this and headed out for the evening. The nearby village was lovely, a good choice of restaurants and pubs with restaurants attached - all good menus and very friendly people, we ate at a Thai restaurant called Siam - good food, good prices and lovely staff. We returned to the hotel and had a few drinks before going back to our room, the gentleman serving at the bar was very friendly. We got up extra early the following day so that we could go for a swim before breakfast and were told that we could NOT use the pool due to the PH balance. By this point were not very happy with the hotel. This was a simple procedure that could have been carried out between the hours of 10pm and 7am (when the pool was closed to public) however they decided to carry out the procedure when guests were due to use the pool!! The response was - you can use our sister pool 4 miles up the road, this was not an option seeing that we were only dressed in robes!! We then decided to go for the "£20" breakfast thinking that would at least end our break on a good note, it would be a treat at the price!! I was served a cooked breakfast and the sausage was raw. By this point I had had enough, we paid up and left. I cannot believe that the owner of this hotel gets away with charging such an extortionate price and offers so little. I can honestly say I've stayed at much cheaper hotels and received a much higher standard of facilities. This hotel needs to lower its prices for what it REALLY has to offer. However all the staff were very welcoming and friendly.

Room Tip: Do not expect to use the pool, or have a breakfast that is cooked properly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saffiah2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at the Forest Lodge Hotel. I am sorry you were not able to utilise the pool facilities, but we have very strict Health & Safety guidelines we have to follow and the pool was closed for our guests safety. Your feedback regarding the breakfast will be forwarded to the Head Chef, as this is not our usual level of service. Thanks again for taking the time to leave this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We come to this hotel every year for a walking holiday because of its excellent location for walking in the New Forest and it is dog friendly.(Dog towels in the room and in reception)
We always book on a " package deal" which makes our stay good value.
I would hate to pay the normal rates as they are overpriced for what you get.
It is a good quality three star hotel and it provides what we would expect for the prices we seem to pay.
One of our favourite walks is down the High Street. a quick look at the Ferrari & Maserati showrooms then over the road and into the National Park where you can walk for miles without the crowds.
The food has always been fine and we have never had a bad meal at this hotel.
The wines can be a bit pricey but overall we have found our stays to be good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
3.6 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
6.6 mi away
Moorhill House Hotel
Moorhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
4.0 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Lodge Hotel

Property: Forest Lodge Hotel
Address: Romsey Road, Pikes Hill, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO43 7AS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Forest Lodge)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly a Georgian Dower House of the Notherwood Estate, the Forest Lodge Hotel blends historical charm and contemporary style with warm hospitality. Located just minutes from Lyndhurst and the beautiful New Forest, our boutique hotel is the perfect destination for weekend getaways, family breaks, wedding celebrations, corporate meetings and events. Family-friendly doesn't just mean the kids, we welcome dogs too. With comfy, well appointed rooms featuring great amenities, we're ideal for swift overnight stays and long, indulgent breaks. Stroll into Lyndhurst and hit the boutiques, explore the beautiful New Forest surroundings, relax in our bars and dine well in the award-winning Glasshouse Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Forest Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Forest Lodge Hotel Lyndhurst
Best Western Lyndhurst
Lyndhurst Best Western
Best Western Forest Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing