We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So OVER PRICED!!”
Review of Forest Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Forest Lodge Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my Partner & Daughter for one night. The reason for booking this hotel was because it had a swimming pool otherwise we would've booked a MUCH cheaper room at another hotel, however the trip was a treat for my Daughter and I knew she would love having the added extra of a pool. On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly gentleman on reception. Our room was nice but for the price we paid they should have at least catered for 3 people as the room was booked & paid for 3 people - i.e. bottles of water, robes, slippers & toiletries, there were only 2 of each, but we accepted this and carried on with our break. After checking in we found that the room we had paid for (£174) did not include breakfast - that would be an extra £20!! we accepted this and headed out for the evening. The nearby village was lovely, a good choice of restaurants and pubs with restaurants attached - all good menus and very friendly people, we ate at a Thai restaurant called Siam - good food, good prices and lovely staff. We returned to the hotel and had a few drinks before going back to our room, the gentleman serving at the bar was very friendly. We got up extra early the following day so that we could go for a swim before breakfast and were told that we could NOT use the pool due to the PH balance. By this point were not very happy with the hotel. This was a simple procedure that could have been carried out between the hours of 10pm and 7am (when the pool was closed to public) however they decided to carry out the procedure when guests were due to use the pool!! The response was - you can use our sister pool 4 miles up the road, this was not an option seeing that we were only dressed in robes!! We then decided to go for the "£20" breakfast thinking that would at least end our break on a good note, it would be a treat at the price!! I was served a cooked breakfast and the sausage was raw. By this point I had had enough, we paid up and left. I cannot believe that the owner of this hotel gets away with charging such an extortionate price and offers so little. I can honestly say I've stayed at much cheaper hotels and received a much higher standard of facilities. This hotel needs to lower its prices for what it REALLY has to offer. However all the staff were very welcoming and friendly.

Room Tip: Do not expect to use the pool, or have a breakfast that is cooked properly!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saffiah2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at the Forest Lodge Hotel. I am sorry you were not able to utilise the pool facilities, but we have very strict Health & Safety guidelines we have to follow and the pool was closed for our guests safety. Your feedback regarding the breakfast will be forwarded to the Head Chef, as this is not our usual level of service. Thanks again for taking the time to leave this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (840)
There are newer reviews for Forest Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

608 - 614 of 840 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We come to this hotel every year for a walking holiday because of its excellent location for walking in the New Forest and it is dog friendly.(Dog towels in the room and in reception)
We always book on a " package deal" which makes our stay good value.
I would hate to pay the normal rates as they are overpriced for what you get.
It is a good quality three star hotel and it provides what we would expect for the prices we seem to pay.
One of our favourite walks is down the High Street. a quick look at the Ferrari & Maserati showrooms then over the road and into the National Park where you can walk for miles without the crowds.
The food has always been fine and we have never had a bad meal at this hotel.
The wines can be a bit pricey but overall we have found our stays to be good value.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband, daughter and self stayed for 3 nights dinner, bed and breakfast at the forest lodge. Our room was comfortable with my daughter on a settee bed (which was Ok but not as comfortable as a proper bed) The breakfast was good, with the cooked part being cooked to order - Salmon and scrambled eggs being very good. We had an allowance for the evening meal. There was not loads of choice but food was again good. The only disappointing thing was the swimming pool, which in it self was ok, but the changing rooms were very small with no lockers so everybody took clothes to the pool. Unfortunately there were only 4 seats available.This amount was totally inadequate, not very relaxing for anyone watching or wanting a break from the pool.
This is still a nice place to stay as it is very convenient for sight seeing, and reasonably comfortable.

Room Tip: look for deals with this hotel/group as we had 3 nights for the price of 2
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fernbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Forest Lodge Hotel was our choice for a group walking weekend and turned out to be a brilliant find. The hotel is well appointed and very clean with excellent staff and restaurant. The management and staff could not have been more accommodating and made our group most welcome. The menu was commended by all of us not only for Dinner in the evening but Breakfast and Sunday Lunch.The hotels situation close to the centre of Lyndhurst made it convenient for local walking and the shops in the town. The addition of a swimming pool and sauna was much appreciated.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This is a charming hotel, the staff were very helpful & efficient. The food in the restaurant was first class. We ate in the bar on the second night, more casual but food just as good! The breakfast really set us up for the day, lots of choice. Our room was brilliant, very warm & cosy, bed very comfortable & importantly very quiet!! We will definately be going back.

Room Tip: We had a crown room it was beautiful.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacky s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had afternoon tea for £14.99 which I have to add was not a lot. Lovely layout of what we say a little bit of a walk out of Lyndhurst. We didn't see the menu for the evening and did not stay here overnight.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank XMissGreenX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review following your afternoon tea with us. I do hope you will visit one of our hotels in the New Forest again, perhaps for an overnight stay next time?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.3 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
870 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Moorhill House Hotel
Moorhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burley
702 reviews
6.2 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
384 reviews
6.8 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Lodge Hotel

Address: Romsey Road, Pikes Hill, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO43 7AS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Forest Lodge)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range: $133 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly a Georgian Dower House of the Notherwood Estate, the Forest Lodge Hotel blends historical charm and contemporary style with warm hospitality. Located just minutes from Lyndhurst and the beautiful New Forest, our boutique hotel is the perfect destination for weekend getaways, family breaks, wedding celebrations, corporate meetings and events. Family-friendly doesn't just mean the kids, we welcome dogs too. With comfy, well appointed rooms featuring great amenities, we're ideal for swift overnight stays and long, indulgent breaks. Stroll into Lyndhurst and hit the boutiques, explore the beautiful New Forest surroundings, relax in our bars and dine well in the award-winning Glasshouse Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Forest Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Forest Lodge Hotel Lyndhurst
Best Western Lyndhurst
Lyndhurst Best Western
Best Western Forest Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing