We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, country hotel”
Review of Forest Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Forest Lodge Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stopped here after tearing round the New Forest all day, and deciding not to go home. So called BW and made the reservation, turned up 15 minutes later. I suspect we had such a good stay as it was a Sunday night, and very quiet, Not so sure I'd want to be here when there was a wedding on.

Got a lovely room with a four poster bed and recently modernised bathroom. Lots of clean fluffy towels, plus bathrobes. These we made good use of, wearing them down to the pool area, which we had to ourselves.

The swimming pool could do with some more loungers - there are only 2, plus 2 chairs. Great if you have the place to yourselves, but a little off putting if there are already people there. And it's accessed via an internal staircase, so not good for the disabled.

After a cold day in the car, then a nice warm swim, we cleaned up and headed to the bar to find a G&T. The staff were all very young, and the bar wasn't staffed all the time, which is a nuisance, though may be down to it being Sunday night. We thought we'd eat out in Lyndhurst, and the receptionist recommended the Red Lion - which turned out to be a turkey. See separate review.

There are 2 areas for the bar, plus a nice terrace overlooking the car park. The first is a lounge area, with a fire and squashy sofas, the other is tables and chairs, and not so comfortable - no room for broadsheet newspapers.

No double glazing in our room, which overlooked the proch - which meant we were awoken by the reversing lorries delivering the clean laundry. Also curtains were falling off the hooks, so didnt close properly.

Breakfast was a buffet for fruit and cereals - which are in the type of dispensers that reduce them to shrapnel - then order from a menu for cooked. Be warned - there's a surcharge for some of it! I had smoked salmon and scrambled eggs - no surcharge - though a very small serving. Husband had full english, which looked better. Plenty of toast, not enough butter.

Lovely though, probably somewhere I'd only ever stay off peak,

Room Tip: I'd say probably not facing the front.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anionfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (840)
There are newer reviews for Forest Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

651 - 657 of 840 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

Just returned from three nights at this great hotel. The hotel is kept spotlessly. Everything wee needed provided in the room. Quality of the food in the restaurant was excellent and as we had prebooked dinner for the first night and paid for it in advance we got a free bottle of wine. A good incentive to book before arrival.The price we paid was good value for money and the hotel is situated in the centre of the New Forest making it a great base to explore the area.
We used the pool which was very good, the only negative was that we had to leave the pool shortly after entering on Sunday as they had taken a water sample and the water quality was not up to spec. Pool was open again on Monday afternoon when we used it again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in April as had stayed previously and found it a great base for exploring the new forest with the children, and local attractions, the hotel was very child friendly, welcoming and it was having the indoor pool that is a big plus for us.

I would recommend this best western hotel to others.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golly52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review! I hope you will return for another visit in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I'm just back from a week at the Forest Lodge Hotel. There were 16 in our party, 8 of whom were visually impaired and the other 8 their guides. We also had 2 guide dogs. The hotel staff were as helpful as they could possibly have been. The rooms were a comfortable size, not huge but well equipped and always clean. We had a limited dinner menu included in our rate but the quality was excellent. The plates should have been hotter but if that's the only criticism then there clearly wasn't much wrong! We also had to share the hotel with a wedding on Friday but it was no problem at all and the music stopped at midnight. Thank you, Forest Lodge, for giving us a really nice week's holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianarayfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I booked the hotel for a quiet couple of days for our wedding anniversary but was dissappointed to find that the room was tiny, a bit like a 50's bedsit, not an expensive country hotel. The bathroom was clean though. Diner was poor with not a great menu. As it was raining we couldn't be bothered to explore Lyndhurst so decided to take the easy option and eat at the hotel. Both had rump steak which was nearly inedible as it was SO tough. Nobody came to check on us through the meal and when i commented at the end the reply was just shrugged shoulders! The next night we went to "The White Rabbit" and had excellent steak for £10 less than the hotel charged. According to the blurb you can take a pleasant walk round the gardens. We couldn't find any????, just a small patch of grass and one Primrose!!! There was a wedding on the Saturday so we had to endure a night of awful wedding music until 12am. The sound insulation was not good enough as every song could be heard clearly in stereo thump thump thump. When i complained on checking out i was told that "we are a wedding venue and you should have read the small print"....Great customer service!!!! Will not use Best Western again if that is the attitude.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheldon20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for your comments following your recent visit to the Forest Lodge Hotel. I am sorry you were disappointed with various aspects of your stay. Please be assured that this is not our usual level of service and I will ensure your comments are fully investigated by the Manager. Regarding the disturbance from the wedding, we do try to allocate non-wedding guests away from the event where possible, so I am sorry that you were disturbed by the music on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just arrived back from a three night stay with my husband and 17 year old daughter and 12 year old son and relatives with 2 small children under 4. It's our second time at staying here and it was just as good as the last. The staff are fantastic and were very helpful with heating baby dinners and bottles. Breakfast is excellent with lots of choice. The pool was great and the children loved it. Rooms were large enough and very clean. Beds were comfy. It's in a great location too and within walking distance to some lovely pubs and restaurants. Would thoroughly recommend and will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennifer n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I had booked this hotel for a 2-night stay with my 3 children to take them to nearby attractions. I had booked a package which included dinner and breakfast. The food was excellent and good value and the staff very accommodating, especially with children. The rooms are small and cosy but do the job - no intention of staying inside the room when you're out and about. There are no lifts in the property which is the only downside - so carrying 3 young children along with all the personal items required is a bit of a hassle. Otherwise, no complaints and plan on staying there again soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheHonestTruth4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.3 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
871 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Moorhill House Hotel
Moorhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burley
702 reviews
6.2 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
383 reviews
6.8 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Lodge Hotel

Address: Romsey Road, Pikes Hill, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO43 7AS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Forest Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range: $133 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly a Georgian Dower House of the Notherwood Estate, the Forest Lodge Hotel blends historical charm and contemporary style with warm hospitality. Located just minutes from Lyndhurst and the beautiful New Forest, our boutique hotel is the perfect destination for weekend getaways, family breaks, wedding celebrations, corporate meetings and events. Family-friendly doesn't just mean the kids, we welcome dogs too. With comfy, well appointed rooms featuring great amenities, we're ideal for swift overnight stays and long, indulgent breaks. Stroll into Lyndhurst and hit the boutiques, explore the beautiful New Forest surroundings, relax in our bars and dine well in the award-winning Glasshouse Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Forest Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Forest Lodge Hotel Lyndhurst
Best Western Lyndhurst
Lyndhurst Best Western
Best Western Forest Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing