We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Visit - Highly Recommended!”
Review of Forest Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Forest Lodge Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here in January, which is obviously a quieter time for the staff, but we could not fault anything. All the staff including reception, bar, catering we're all very friendly and couldn't do enough for you. The double rooms are a good size and the family room was excellent with plenty of room for a travel cot. The breakfast was always lovely and always hot and we were never rushed. Breakfast is also served until 10am so no rushing out of your room. The swimming pool and sauna were also great for relaxing in the afternoon. The hotel is in a good location with short drives to Burley and the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Call the reception staff and ask for a family room if needed before you get there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellyT79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (883)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

709 - 715 of 883 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

First impressions were excellent and the receptionist was very friendly and cheerful once she had finished her phone conversation. She did apologise for the wait though. Our room was very pleasant and the bathrrom was really nice. Our disappointment came from the 2AA rossette restaurant.
Very limited Table d Hote, if you didnt like duck or bream you had little else to choose from. As quoted in a previous review, £25.00 would only allow you 2 courses on the A la Catre menu and even then you would probably have to pay extra for the Vegetables.
We elected to eat from the bar menu in the Glasshouse restaurant in the end. Service was slow, with only 3 other people there when we sat down, it took nearly 20 minutes to get our starters. The food when it came was well presented, but not much of it. Whilst we appreciate that a small menu in this day and age is necessary, more thought should be given to what is being offered.
The Table d Hote had a choice of 3 starters, mains and desserts. Starters consisited of either Root vegetable soup or Quails egg Turine or Root vegetable al la Greque. 2 lots of root vegetable on one course? No imagination on that one.
Breakfast was OK though there was a rotten apple on the fruit plate, which rather limited my tatse buds.
The swimming pool was very nice, though the water was a bit chilly and there are only 2 loungers a 2 seat/table set, there is room for more, which would be nice. The Sauna was not working/or closed though which was a bit of a disappointment.
We had said before we ate that we would visit this hotel again but after that meal it will be quite a while.

Room Tip: There are plenty of restaurant in Lyndhurst, so if you cannot find anything on the menu that you lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aitchraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Forest Lodge Hotel. I will ensure your comments regarding the food are discussed further with our executive head chef and restaurant manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

went here for christmas party, bedroom was small, function well, including my wife & i, there was only another 20 people in across two other groups. kept awake alnight by constant droning noise which was reported to reception in morning and were offered a 10% discount = £6.00 well unbelievable. won't recommend this hotel and won't be going back

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you were disturbed during the night and will ensure the Maintenance Team investigate this further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This must be our fourth stay at the hotel, and it remains consistently excellent. The staff were efficient at check-in/out and seemed genuinely happy to help us enjoy our stay.

The room was simply perfect. A huge, soft, inviting four-poster bed meant a wonderful night's sleep, and the in-room refreshments were up to the usual high quality. A neat feature we discovered is that the TVs in the rooms are volume-limited so that guests can't suffer 'that noisy TV in the next room': a thoughtful touch which really shows their attention to detail in creating a peaceful, tranquil environment for guests.

We didn't use the swimming pool or sauna this time but it all seemed to be up and running, and in use by other guests.

Dinner... We've eaten at the Glasshouse restaurant on a number of occasions now and I am always impressed at the quality of the service, the presentation of the dishes and of the quality of the meal. The dinner allowance, at £25, is disappointingly not quite enough for three courses from the a la carte menu but the fully-inclusive table d'hôte menu had more than enough choice.

Breakfast was served in the Glasshouse restaurant on this stay, and the full English breakfast was just what we needed for a day's walking around Lyndhurst.

The hotel was a short walk from Lyndhurst itself; the walk took about 5 minutes for a young couple like us but I could envisage a less active couple allowing 15-20 minutes.

Lyndhurst itself is not at its best during the winter, with a number of closed shops and tearooms. However, there's still plenty to do. Visiting in the summer when everything is open means the hustle and bustle of tourists in one of the New Forest's busiest towns, and the attendant traffic woes. That's not the hotel's fault of course!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have a beautiful view in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

This was a surprise trip and was 1st class fantastic.
The staff were faultless and could not be anymore helpful.
The glass house Restraunt staff and food excellent( we had the set menu included in our stay very reasonable)
Being a dog friendly hotel meant that we could take the dogs and leave them in the room whilst we ate in the hotel ( although there are plenty dog friendly pubs etc)
The rooms were lovely ,clean quite small we stayed in room 1 which is in the far corner so no noises disturbed the dogs.
There's plenty parking , lovely walks and a lovely town 500 metres away.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazmiththecowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the beginning of December. We found the reception, bar and restaurant staff very attentive and friendly. The room was pretty small but we spent very little time in it so no problem. The maid issue was in the form of very dusty picture rails (the uplighters show it off clearly) and lampshade as well as mold marks on the towels. These, easily remedied, points did not overly affect our stay but we would have expected a better level of basic cleanliness. A slightly more unusual cleaning issue was the discovery of remnants of a chicken dinner behind a curtain at breakfast - possibly left there from the previous nights wedding reception. That said, this a nice looking hotel with a pleasant feel - it just needs a little more attention on the cleaning front.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2555aster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Not one to normally make comment or complain, but we have just returned from a 2 night midweek break at this hotel. Agree with a lot of the other negative comments regarding room size; not the size you would expect for £134 per night. Add to this the cheap lumpy pillows and the fact the bed is probably 2 small ones pushed together (gap down the middle!), no "maid" service, so dirty cups stayed there for the duration, and of the 4 wall lights, only 1 actually worked, made for a very "unprofessional" looking room. Breakfast was mediocre, the juices had either been watered down, or were cheap concentrate versions, toast was made using but thin bread and the Full English consisted of 2 rashers of bacon, 1 sausage, a fried egg and half a tomato. Anything else (hash browns, beans, mushrooms) were charged as an extra!

There were a lot of comments in the book on reception saying how friendly the staff were and the hotel had a "wow" factor - we saw hardly any staff, having to ask the receptionist if we could have a drink form the unmanned bar, and there was certainly nothing "wow" about the hotel in general. Location was great, only a short walk into Lyndhurst where there were much better places to eat and drink. Certainly would not recommend this hotel - very poor overall.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

I am sorry to read that you were disappointed by various aspects of the Forest Lodge Hotel during your recent stay. In response to some of your comments, our rooms are serviced daily so I am unsure why there was no maid service; the beds at Forest Lodge are 3ft therefore the bed would have been a 6ft ziplink bed and I will ask our Maintenance Manager to look into issues with the wall light.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate guests comments as it helps us to monitor our service and I will ensure your comments are forwarded to the General Manager for further investigation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.3 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.6 mi away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
851 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
444 reviews
6.6 mi away
Moorhill House Hotel
Moorhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burley
744 reviews
2.1 mi away
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Woodlands
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Lodge Hotel

Address: Romsey Road, Pikes Hill, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO43 7AS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Forest Lodge)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range: $143 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly a Georgian Dower House of the Notherwood Estate, the Forest Lodge Hotel blends historical charm and contemporary style with warm hospitality. Located just minutes from Lyndhurst and the beautiful New Forest, our boutique hotel is the perfect destination for weekend getaways, family breaks, wedding celebrations, corporate meetings and events. Family-friendly doesn't just mean the kids, we welcome dogs too. With comfy, well appointed rooms featuring great amenities, we're ideal for swift overnight stays and long, indulgent breaks. Stroll into Lyndhurst and hit the boutiques, explore the beautiful New Forest surroundings, relax in our bars and dine well in the award-winning Glasshouse Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Forest Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Forest Lodge Hotel Lyndhurst
Best Western Lyndhurst
Lyndhurst Best Western
Best Western Forest Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing