We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel But Could Be Cleaner”
Review of Forest Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Forest Lodge Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the beginning of December. We found the reception, bar and restaurant staff very attentive and friendly. The room was pretty small but we spent very little time in it so no problem. The maid issue was in the form of very dusty picture rails (the uplighters show it off clearly) and lampshade as well as mold marks on the towels. These, easily remedied, points did not overly affect our stay but we would have expected a better level of basic cleanliness. A slightly more unusual cleaning issue was the discovery of remnants of a chicken dinner behind a curtain at breakfast - possibly left there from the previous nights wedding reception. That said, this a nice looking hotel with a pleasant feel - it just needs a little more attention on the cleaning front.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2555aster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (859)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

690 - 696 of 859 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2012

Not one to normally make comment or complain, but we have just returned from a 2 night midweek break at this hotel. Agree with a lot of the other negative comments regarding room size; not the size you would expect for £134 per night. Add to this the cheap lumpy pillows and the fact the bed is probably 2 small ones pushed together (gap down the middle!), no "maid" service, so dirty cups stayed there for the duration, and of the 4 wall lights, only 1 actually worked, made for a very "unprofessional" looking room. Breakfast was mediocre, the juices had either been watered down, or were cheap concentrate versions, toast was made using but thin bread and the Full English consisted of 2 rashers of bacon, 1 sausage, a fried egg and half a tomato. Anything else (hash browns, beans, mushrooms) were charged as an extra!

There were a lot of comments in the book on reception saying how friendly the staff were and the hotel had a "wow" factor - we saw hardly any staff, having to ask the receptionist if we could have a drink form the unmanned bar, and there was certainly nothing "wow" about the hotel in general. Location was great, only a short walk into Lyndhurst where there were much better places to eat and drink. Certainly would not recommend this hotel - very poor overall.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

I am sorry to read that you were disappointed by various aspects of the Forest Lodge Hotel during your recent stay. In response to some of your comments, our rooms are serviced daily so I am unsure why there was no maid service; the beds at Forest Lodge are 3ft therefore the bed would have been a 6ft ziplink bed and I will ask our Maintenance Manager to look into issues with the wall light.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate guests comments as it helps us to monitor our service and I will ensure your comments are forwarded to the General Manager for further investigation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We spent two nights at this Best Western Hotel. this week.
The rooms are pleasant and have some nice touches (extra heater in wardrobe )
The Hotel was very quiet , but the service was not as good as it should have been .
The restaurant on the first night served the wrong main course ??? and on the second
night the three choices had been reduced to two ??? (there were only 10 diners in total ?)
so why had they run out of one of the main courses??? also it took 45 minutes to serve
it .We also had to pay £7.20 for two coffees,,on the second night , a bit expensive ??

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevonPirates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We booked a 2 night stay FB on a deal thro Radio Times and as such had good value for our money. Both breakfast and dinner were excellent with attentive service. We booked a "Verderer" room with K/size bed, the room was very comfortable. It is a few minutes walk into town, if you were on b&b eating out would not be a problem.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you for your kind review following your recent break at the Forest Lodge Hotel and I hope you will return for another visit in the very near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We got a good discount for last minute family room. The hotel has recently been refurbished in a contemporary style in most parts. The pool was great for the kids as we had the place to ourselves. We only had breakfast which was tasty. There's a really good choice of restaurants in town which is a short stroll from the hotel. We had a great meal at Prezzo.
Disappointments were the size of the family room. We had a Crown room which was meant to be their highest grade room but the size was a standard room size and in the place where a wardrobe usually is there were bunkbeds. Perfectly serviceable but would have been claustrophobic if we had been staying more than one night.
Corridors have rather dated carpet and horrible flourescent lighting which was not in keeping with the style of contemporary refurbishment in the rooms.
Reception staff were very helpful and obliging.
Lyndhurst is in the centre of the New Forest but also only 20mins from the coast. We had a glorious sunny warm November day at the beach!

Room Tip: Walls are thin so ask for a quiet room. Ours was at the end of the corridor and wasn't too bad b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendypenrose2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent family break at the Forest Lodge Hotel. I am pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay and that you had nice weather too! I hope you will return for another visit in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We booked a three day break over half term at this hotel on a half board basis and were pleased to receive one of these nights free. This made the holiday extremely reasonable and, once the allowance for dinner was deducted, the bed and beakfast part worked out at around £20 each per night - a price you are unlikely to find at even the very cheapest guest house.

And this certainly wasn't a guest house, it was a very well appointed hotel. Part of a group of four hotels, it is described as their "contemporary town hotel". We actually stayed at one of the other, more rural, hotels three years ago and, whilst it was very good, the decor there could best be described as "faded grandeur". This is certainly not the case at the Forest Lodge where all the furniture and decor was very smart and in excellent condition.

Our bedroom was very well furnished and extremely clean. The only criticism on cleaning would be a huge cobweb in the ceiling lampshade which was very noticeable when lying on the bed but easily missed otherwise. This was deftly removed with a feather duster, and good humour, by the chambermaid when pointed out to her. Tea and coffee (and nice biscuits) were supplied, as was an iron, ironing board and hair dryer. The furniture was black which could have made things a little dark but the lighting was adequate - except for the bedside lights. Like so many hotels these were less than useless for reading and we'd strongly recommend any insomniacs to bring a torch with them!

The food in the restaurant was of very good quality and well served. The dinner allowance covered three courses on the table d'hote menu (but not coffee) and the offerings here were very good. There were only three choices for each course however and some of the same things reappeared in a slightly different form on the third night which might be a problem if staying for a bit longer than us. If you do decide to stray onto the a la carte menu for one of the courses, a pretty generous allowance is made against the prices there. For example, a dessert priced at £7.50(!) was reduced by £5.00 when it appeared on the bill. The wine list is pretty extensive and drinks prices are fairly typical.

The common areas of the hotel were very nice and the lounges and bars well furnished. However, being "contemporary" the seating tends not to be the sort you'd want to stretch out in all day reading a book and perhaps the other hotels in the group would be more suited to that sort of visitor.

The swimming pool was an excellent size and the water was very warm. Our visit after dusk did reveal more inadequate lighting and reading the paper while you watch the kids swim may be rather tricky when darkness falls. We imagine this is no problem at all during daylight hours.

The location of the hotel on the edge of Lyndhurst is excellent with the town centre an easy stroll away. Walking in is highly recommended as the traffic around the Lyndhurst one-way system is always a nightmare and it was not improved at all by the roadworks going on during our stay. The hotel is set back from the main road and is pretty quiet even outside. There are some nice views of ponies from the bar terrace but the claims that it overlooks the New Forest Golf Course (even with binoculars) are fanciful, to say the least.

All in all this was a very nice experience, even before you consider the price we were charged. When you factor this in it is probably difficult to find a better bargain anywhere in the New Forest. A quest for peace and solitude may be the only reason to look elsewhere and, as the same charges apply at the other hotels in the group, they may be the first alternatives to consider. We would certainly be happy to stay at the Forest Lodge again if visiting this beautiful part of the country and, as we were given another "free night" voucher as we left, it is possible this may happen fairly soon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swannery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this very kind review. I do hope after your experience at the Forest Lodge Hotel you will consider visiting one of our hotels in the group again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

My sister and I came here for 2 night's with our 12, 13 and 16 year old daughters. Having read some of the negative reviews we were pleasantly surprised with the helpful and friendly staff, who were extremely helpful and courteous. The rooms were ideal for our needs (my sister and I shared a family room with the 12 and 13 year old girls and the 2 16 year old girls shared a town room). The rooms were basic, but had everything we required. The girls loved the indoor swimming pool and sauna and the towels provided at the pool were a nice touch.
The buffet part if breakfast was quite basic, but the cooked breakfast was very good - I recommend the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon - delicious!
Room tip - upgrade to a slightly more deluxe family room to get dressing gowns, slippers, biscuits and a large range of fruit tea and hot chocolate!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HandJDale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.3 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
901 reviews
3.6 mi away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Moorhill House Hotel
Moorhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burley
725 reviews
6.2 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
409 reviews
6.8 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Lodge Hotel

Address: Romsey Road, Pikes Hill, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO43 7AS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Forest Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range: $103 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly a Georgian Dower House of the Notherwood Estate, the Forest Lodge Hotel blends historical charm and contemporary style with warm hospitality. Located just minutes from Lyndhurst and the beautiful New Forest, our boutique hotel is the perfect destination for weekend getaways, family breaks, wedding celebrations, corporate meetings and events. Family-friendly doesn't just mean the kids, we welcome dogs too. With comfy, well appointed rooms featuring great amenities, we're ideal for swift overnight stays and long, indulgent breaks. Stroll into Lyndhurst and hit the boutiques, explore the beautiful New Forest surroundings, relax in our bars and dine well in the award-winning Glasshouse Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Forest Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Forest Lodge Hotel Lyndhurst
Best Western Lyndhurst
Lyndhurst Best Western
Best Western Forest Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing