We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous place to stay”
Review of Forest Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Forest Lodge Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I have stayed here with my husband on 3 previous occasions and had fantastic times. The service is exemplary and the restaurant manager remembers us each time - we only stay 2 nights a year! This time, i visited with my friend for a girly weekend away. The room was spacious enough and cool although the shower woudn't work and thre was lot of dst on teh tops and stains on teh carpets. However, we mentioned about the shower in the morning and it was all sorted. The meals in the glasshouse were great and breakfast was great too. My friend and i both had sleep issues on the first night but this was probably due to us trying to relax rather than anything else! Pool and sauna are lovely. Staff great.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anna_MDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Thank you for your kind review following your recent stay at the Forest Lodge with your friend. I am sorry there were problems with the shower, but pleased that it was sorted out for you. I do hope you will return again soon, whether it be with your husband or for another girly break!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (863)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

731 - 737 of 863 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

Have stayed here previously, probably will stay again if price is OK.
Try to get reduced rates iff possible
When we arrived we wrere told resaurant was fully booked as a convention was at the hotel.
( had a very nice indian meal within walking distance from the hotel)
Bar staff were friendly, breakfast was adequate with staff also friendly.

Rooms are clean and well maintained.
having stayed here several times i am suprised at the prices commanded ( for me the location is convenient for what i want)

Never used any of additional facilities available so can not comment.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Thank you for your review following your stay at the Forest Lodge Hotel.

For future reference, if you were booked on a Dinner, Bed & Breakfast rate, the hotel would ensure a table is reserved for you for dinner, but as you mentioned the location of the hotel makes it easy to nip into Lyndhurst for a meal.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

excellent stay after christmas and new year - welcoming staff; good rooms and excellent food - really good value. Good pub next door.

Room Tip: no problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Thank you for your review following your visit to the Forest Lodge Hotel. I am pleased you found your stay to be good value and hope you will return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

As usual, a great stay. Although this is the first time my partner and I have stayed here without the children.

We were able to relax and enjoyed a couple of decent meals in The Glasshouse, where it was previuosly difficult with the children. We noticed that the restaurant manager was missing, although we were told that is just because he was on holiday. Phew! Nonetheless, service and food quality were very good indeed.

We were relieved to see a familiar face in Dan on reception - he makes it all look so easy. He even remembered the time we like to dine, just brilliant.

On a couple of occasions we wanted to go on some walking routes we had seen that weren't in the information folder at reception, and the girl was too busy to look them up - but Dan appeared and went to the trouble of printing them for us on the hotel's public computer. Great service.

Goes without saying, we will return, although probably with the kids in the summer hold.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new wing, at the other side of the bar area are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable "child-free" break at the Forest Lodge Hotel! Thank you for taking the time to write this review & I will be sure to forward your kind comments on to Dan! We look forward to welcoming the whole family back in the summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

So the hotel is nice, clean and centrally located in Lyndhurst. However for a £150 per night, the rooms are small and the sound insulation between rooms is non-existent. I write this having been awake till past 2am listening to the foul language and drunken laughter from the neighbouring room.

Unfortunately I am unable to recommend this hotel after this experience.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Garpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

I am sorry to hear your rest was disturbed by other guests in the room next door. We have different size rooms in the hotel which are priced accordingly and this allows our guests to upgrade to a larger room if required. Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

This is not a bad hotel for a New Forest break with children. The hotel has a couple of good points for those travelling with children - it has a swimming pool which is a reasonable size and clean. The room was not huge but had a bunk bed for the children which worked well. It is close to a really nice pub serving decent pub grub and some good beer which is one minute down the road - probably a nice alternative to the hotel restaurant. It is minutes from the centre of Lyndhurst with its tea rooms and for small boys (and bigger ones) a Ferrari dealership. We hired bikes from the excellent AA Cycles near the Tourist Office - Billy is a great source of intel on the forest and the best routes.

Room Tip: Ask if you can get one near the pool as the ones in the further wing mean you will have to wander th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Thank you for your review following your visit to the Forest Lodge Hotel. We are pleased to hear you had a good stay and hope you will return in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on a Red Letter deal. The deal was for a 2 night stay which also included a complimentary three-course meal on the second night from the a la carte menu (value of £25 per person).
The hotel was a great location for walks and also to the local pubs and shops in Lyndhurst. The hotel was also clean. (Would recommend the Waterloo Arms pub for food and friendly service just turn left as you come out of the main entrance of the hotel)
On the downside, the rooms were very small (room 24), if you had the window open in the bedroom you could hear the constant traffic flow into centre of Lyndhurst, the breakfast was very average with slow service and if you turned up at 09:30 they did not seem to re-stock up the buffet area with fruit or pastries even though breakfast is adverstised till 10am.
The complementary 3 course meal is a joke, don't get me wrong the food was lovely but the menu was quite expensive vegetables were separate and therefore an additional cost. We ended up spending an additional £28 (which in fairness included the cheapest bottle of white wine) but only had 2 courses!
All in all an average stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Forest Lodge Hotel. We offer different sized rooms at the hotel which are all priced accordingly and allows our guests to upgrade their room if desired. In response to your comments regarding the breakfast we will advise the hotel manager accordingly so this can be addressed. Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.3 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
903 reviews
3.6 mi away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
415 reviews
6.6 mi away
Moorhill House Hotel
Moorhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burley
727 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ormonde House Hotel
Ormonde House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Lyndhurst
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Lodge Hotel

Address: Romsey Road, Pikes Hill, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO43 7AS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Forest Lodge)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range: $104 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly a Georgian Dower House of the Notherwood Estate, the Forest Lodge Hotel blends historical charm and contemporary style with warm hospitality. Located just minutes from Lyndhurst and the beautiful New Forest, our boutique hotel is the perfect destination for weekend getaways, family breaks, wedding celebrations, corporate meetings and events. Family-friendly doesn't just mean the kids, we welcome dogs too. With comfy, well appointed rooms featuring great amenities, we're ideal for swift overnight stays and long, indulgent breaks. Stroll into Lyndhurst and hit the boutiques, explore the beautiful New Forest surroundings, relax in our bars and dine well in the award-winning Glasshouse Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Forest Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Forest Lodge Hotel Lyndhurst
Best Western Lyndhurst
Lyndhurst Best Western
Best Western Forest Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing