We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average lunch”
Review of Fox & Hounds

Fox & Hounds
Ranked #7 of 51 Restaurants in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Your hunt for the perfect pub ends in Lyndhurst, where the Fox & Hounds serves fantastic cask ales and delicious fresh food from an historic former coaching inn. Sink into a sofa by the fire or bask outside in our glorious sun-trap of a terrace; it’s our very own great outdoors.
hove
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very average lunch”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

The game pie was casserole with pastry cooked separately and plonked on top. Mash and swede too salty.open sandwich dull. Uninspiring.

Helpful?
Thank amandasus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    309
    86
    43
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Very good meal with good service”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Had been slightly put off by some mixed reviews but can only comment on our experience - good food and very good service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JOHN04LEEDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Disapointed”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We booked for Sunday lunch but were disapointed with the limited menu , some items they had run out of. The portions were small and costly for the amount of food on our plates. One of the puddings was hot outside and cold in the middle.
We will not be returning there in the future.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bad lunch experience.”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Our family visited this pub today for lunch. We have been many times before and always had good meals. Unfortunately it appears that a couple of weeks ago the pub changed ownership. Our first clue that things had gone down hill was the much more limited menu. There was not even a kids menu however when we asked were given 4/5 options. I had gammon, egg and chips. I almost laughed when it arrived as I thought it was a kids meal, my 2 year old daughter had more chips on her plate than I did. To make matters worse it was fairly tasteless. Didn't think you could get this dish wrong, but apparently you can. My wife had fish and chips which she described as tasteless, greasy and apparently when asked was Cod though she had her doubts. She didn't bother to eat it all as it made her feel sick and when the waitress asked if everything was ok, she advised her it was not. My wife wash offered another meal which she declined. The manager/chef etc did not bother to come to check or see us.

The high chairs were of the plastic padded type you would usually would have at home. They were both filthy, straps very stained and generally fairly disgusting. Hardly surprising when also stored in the disabled toilet! Is this against H&S rules? In the actual disabled toilet which doubles as the baby changing room, the toilet seat was broken and partly hanging off. The room was generally filthy with the changing mat itself having encrusted dried faeces. The nappy bin was lodged under the disabled hand rail therefore making it very hard to access.

In addition the staff were mot knowledgeable about their menu and didn't really seem to care. We won't be going back which is a shame as this is a fairly local pub for us that we have previously always thought was good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good for beer”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

can't speak for the food but a good honest place to go for a drink. can get v busy, partiucalr in season and particularly with families.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank fussysleeperUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fox & Hounds also viewed

Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to Fox & Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing