We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant evening meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fox & Hounds

Fox & Hounds
Ranked #6 of 51 Restaurants in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A picturesque pub in the lovely town of Lyndhurst, The Fox & Hounds is a historic coaching inn, recently refurbished to a stunning standard. Stop in for cask ales, craft beers and delicious fresh food from some of Hampshire's finest producers.
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant evening meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We enjoyed a very pleasant evening meal in pleasant surroundings. Typical pub / restaurant meal but good value for money.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    269
    73
    38
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Really tasty food. The service is excellent and food portions really fill you up, jolly good! Lots of food to choose from and very polite staff! When I'm back visiting New Forest, I shall defo be popping in for some grub. Fantastic.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“larger portion than expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

I poped into the fox & hounds today with my four children (12 and under), we sat out in the courtyard garden, there was choice of shade and sunny areas and lots of flowers in bloom.

I ordered 4 x chips and 2 x cheesy chips, the service was friendly and polite.
The chips came quickly and were bigger than expected, all in all a fulfilling pit stop.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ladymckay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East
Level Contributor
116 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Had a really good meal in what is a good sized traditional pub and restaurant. They serve a decent pint and the prices are reasonable. We booked a table the day before and I would advise you to do the same at the weekends as it is very popular, always a good sign. The night we ate there was a bit of a wait for food but they put a sign up to tell you so managing your expectations. An excellent idea. They also had live music and the singer was really good and just the right volume for the place. We had a really good night and met some nice people on the table next to us as well. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank GrandadSouthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quick stop off”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We just stopped off for a drink and snack here. It was decent, the drinks were OK and the cheesy chips were good as well. Would go back again, but not after trying something else!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LEEandTRACY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fox & Hounds also viewed

Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to Fox & Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing