We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Sunday Lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crown Stirrup

The Crown Stirrup
Ranked #26 of 51 Restaurants in Lyndhurst
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Lovely traditional pub, great Sunday lunch, we had Roast Lamb and Fish and Chips, both done very well with all the trimmings you could want for. We also followed their recommended walk from the website, we got a bit lost but that's not unusual for us. Gorgeous countryside and great beer too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevinjhann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    64
    24
    26
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Like many others we chose this pub based on the good reviews we read here, but feel compelled to discourage others following our experience here.

We had to wait almost an hour for our food from the point of ordering and were never told to expect such a long wait. When our food finally arrived we'd hoped it would be piping hot having waited so long. However, we had to send two meals back as parts of the meals were barely luke-warm. There were only about 5 other tables eating while we were there so couldn't comprehend such a long, painful wait for our food. Of the food, it was of a mediocre quality. Overall, very disappointing - but perhaps our expectations were too high given what we read here.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Toby10107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely outside garden and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We visited on a Friday night with our dog. Luckily with the help of some patio heaters we were able to eat outside which meant that our dog could have the freedom of the garden. The garden is large and well facilitated with lots of seating, tables, a large fire pit, skittle alley and climbing frame for the kids.

The landlord is very friendly as were the locals.

The food was good but I wouldn't class this as the "Gastropub" that it is portrayed as. Good pub food describes it better.

Would recommend and would use again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DizzyNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best pub in the Forest!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Highly recommend this pub. It is very friendly and the service is excellent. My mother has a very difficult diet, veggie, no dairy etc. and we always find this a challenge when we go out to eat. The chef is more than happy to cater for my mother. The menu is packed with food what ever your requirement, it is very well priced and good quality. I have also been in there with family friends, their children and my dogs for a drink and it is very child and dog friendly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“A great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Found this pub a couple of years ago when doing a walk in the forest. It was a very welcome find, entered by the back door (via the forest) and at the time had no idea it was on the main road.

Now call it our secret pub (on the main road!).

Have been back many times, when dog walking and cycling. The staff are very welcoming and friendly. Lovely garden & fantastic food. Dogs very welcome.

Can't wait to return next time we are in the area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KarinKidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crown Stirrup also viewed

Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Ashurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to The Crown Stirrup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing