We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best pub in the Forest!”
Review of The Crown Stirrup

The Crown Stirrup
Ranked #25 of 51 Restaurants in Lyndhurst
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The Crown Stirrup is a country pub in the heart of The New Forest serving classic pub food, grills & just good grub! We offer a range of drinks in our fully stocked bar & a large menu so there is plenty to choose from. We have indoor seating with an open fire plus a large forest garden which leads you onto many walking tracks through the New Forest. We are family friendly with a scrumptious kids menu and we also are dog friendly throughout (even a few bites to eat for our four legged friends).
Lyndhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best pub in the Forest!”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Highly recommend this pub. It is very friendly and the service is excellent. My mother has a very difficult diet, veggie, no dairy etc. and we always find this a challenge when we go out to eat. The chef is more than happy to cater for my mother. The menu is packed with food what ever your requirement, it is very well priced and good quality. I have also been in there with family friends, their children and my dogs for a drink and it is very child and dog friendly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    69
    25
    26
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Found this pub a couple of years ago when doing a walk in the forest. It was a very welcome find, entered by the back door (via the forest) and at the time had no idea it was on the main road.

Now call it our secret pub (on the main road!).

Have been back many times, when dog walking and cycling. The staff are very welcoming and friendly. Lovely garden & fantastic food. Dogs very welcome.

Can't wait to return next time we are in the area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KarinKidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Super stop off”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stopped off here whilst cycling in the new forest.
A very welcoming stop off, service was really friendly here, lovely garden to sit in.
We didnt eat here, however the food did look great and was very popular with others.
Well worth a visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank donnat61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hearty meal, good service.”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stopped here mid bike ride round the New Forest with our 5 and 4yr olds. From the outside looked like your traditional local but once inside found a warm, nicely renovated pub which still retained the cosyness that other renovated gastro-type pubs have lost. A small selection of local real ales also on tap.
Great space out back (fidgety kids could play safely on climb frame & all weather skittles lane was a hit), also had a variety of board games etc (shut the box enjoyed by all when the drizzle started).
Very pleased with the service. On our drinks being served, the barman came back over and offered to replace the fizzy drinks as he'd just realised 'the gas had gone on the dispenser' - i hadn't noticed and our kids certainly wouldn't have, so a nice honest touch.
The meals came with a warm smile from the server, the kids meals were huge; sausage, roast spuds and yorkshires with gravy a big hit (3 lunchtime favourites - a great bar snack) plus a fish & chips. We had to help the kids to finish it....shame. The hunters chicken was very tasty, the chicken moist and sweet potato fries very plentiful. The burger and chips also didn't dissappoint. All served on wooden boards, though a little unnecessary, added a rustic informalness to a pleasant meal.
Overall we had a good meal, a comfortable rest and felt as looked after as we needed to be.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonhey11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Dirty and tired”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Very cheap quality ingredients used, dirty cutlery, dirty glasses, toilets stank. No effort put in to this pub. Dependant on its location for trade. Keep on going into Brockenhurst for better options

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank drivervet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownstirrup, Owner at The Crown Stirrup, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thanks for your time in sending a review. i can only assume that you have mistaken us for the Crown Hotel also in lyndhurst. This has happened twice this year. Just to confirm the reasoning behind this is that we use the same butchers as the pig and limewood hotel (PJ Moore of Brockenhurst) our veg and salad is grown locally in the New Forest at Sopley who also supply The Jetty in christchurch, our ambient goods are from coastline who are one of the main suppliers to the surrounding area and also supply the pig, kings hotel and limewood.
Our beers are from a nominated nationwide supplier and we carry a large range of rare and hard to get spirits from Gerrys of Compton street in soho London.
Our cutlery is cleaned by a machine and polished as are the glasses. The toilets cleaned daily and both contain air fresheners. Please remove this review and repost to the correct pub.
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crown Stirrup also viewed

Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to The Crown Stirrup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing