We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Robert & Sandra, Scotland”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyndhurst
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Meadows Bed and Breakfast Lyndhurst
Ranked #1 of 22 Lyndhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Initially concerned about location but turned out to be ten minutes walk from Main Street. Excellent b&b, spotlessly clean rooms and en-suite. Great breakfast. Bill and Shelley have excellent knowledge of New Forest. Plenty of parking available. Also great link to cruise ship docks at Southampton, just a 25 min run at 10am on a Saturday. Both Bill and Shelley are superb and very welcoming hosts. Also close to national car museum.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agnew46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 476 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

A bit oddly located in the "traffic triangle" that is Lyndhurst Town Centre. Otherwise all fine. Good rooms and location. The Breakfast was good, but lacking something. Bill and Shelley were fun and friendly hosts, but tended to be hovering around too often. A bit like Helicopter hosts on occasion.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gko13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billwayland, Owner at The Meadows Bed and Breakfast Lyndhurst, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Lyndhurst is in the heart of the New Forest National Park and The Meadows B and B is in the heart of Lyndhurst, in a quiet cul-de-sac and away from the traffic noise of the one-way system and is within a few minutes strolling distance of the village centre with its many excellent restaurants and both woodland and moorland forest. As our reviewer says, “a good location”.

We thank our reviewer for the kind comments about our rooms, we believe that he/she was in a party of 4 and saw one of our Double En-suite large walk-in Shower Rooms and our Superior Room that has a full bathroom, a seating area and has recently been upgraded with a Super King bed and as our reviewer says, they are “good rooms”.

We already offer an extensive menu and have received many reviews complementing our breakfast and we do say, both on guest arrival and on our website, if there are any special dietary requirements then please ask. Since from this review we are not told, what was “lacking” we are unable to respond but we thank him/her for “the Breakfast is good”.

We take pride in doing everything we can to ensure that our guests needs and expectations are met in every way possible, ensuring that our rooms are equipped with those little extras that make their stay more comfortable, having at hand advice on how to make their New Forest experience that much more enjoyable and at breakfast we aim to be attentive and responsive, so we make no apologies if at times we appear to be “helicopter hosts”, it’s just us making sure that all our guests needs and expectations are met.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The Meadows is definitely the best B & B I've ever been to. The owners, Shelley and Bill, gave us the warmest of welcomes. They were very friendly and helpful, showing us the best walks around the area, even going as far as lending us a pair of walking boots!
The breakfast was divine - you won't find a better full English anywhere else! Delicious!
All in all, an amazing two day experience in the New Forest, in no small part due to the wonderful meadows!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The Meadows B&B made our stay in the New Forest even more enjoyable, as it felt like a home away from home. Shelley and Bill went above and beyond to welcome us, give us tips and suggestions so that we could make the most of our two night stay in Lyndhurst. Our room was immaculately clean, the breakfast was divine and all of the personal touches makes this B&B a pleasure to experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary-Lou H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

BETTER THAN ALL THE REST !!!! don't bother looking elsewhere - this is THE place to stay in the New Forest. Words do not really do this lovely B & B justice. Shelley and Bill are wonderful - genuinely friendly and helpful. Rooms are immaculate and extremely comfy with lots of quality extras. Breakfast - best we have ever had - fresh (imaginative) fruit platter, perfectly cooked English or very tasty smoked salmon, didn't have room for either cereals or toast (maybe next time). Shelley and Bill make very good "tourist information guides" as are full of local knowledge and can provide maps, leaflets, suggestions for restaurants, etc. I know that it is a cliché : but you feel that you "arrive as guests and leave as friends" - but in this instance it is true !!! If you book into this B & B you will certainly be extremely happy and in the words of one famous chef : you will be "SORTED"

Room Tip: All of the three rooms are extremely quiet and comfortable and a real delight to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOHN04LEEDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

You could not ask for more at this superb B&B! Bill and Shelley are excellent hosts and are the friendliest couple. Our room was beautiful, spacious and so well appointed, the fresh fruit was a lovely added touch. We had never been to the New Forest and Bill and Shelley provided us with loads of suggestions, maps and great places to eat. Breakfast was delicious and made to order. An absolutely fabulous place to stay, we highly recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in the New Forest!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed here for one night for an impromptu visit to the New Forest and from the get go, Shelley and Bill could not have been more helpful and friendly. As we had limited time, Bill told us about a walk we could do, which was just perfect and they both recommended the Oak as a place for dinner. We are so glad we took their recommendation - we had the best country gastropub meal that evening and they also lent us their yellow discount card off to get money off. Do make a booking as it was very busy when we went on a Wed evening.

What I also loved the most is that our room in the B&B was just so comfortable and welcoming. I loved the decor and how the room was kitted out. Everything has been thought of and the ensuite is just amazing too. There's tea/coffee making facilities and lovely biscuits... all the best touches. Bed was so comfy and we slept like babies!

Breakfast is brill and be warned, they are BIG portions! :) Home-cooked, delicious food made with love with a good selection. I like how we are able to choose what we want the evening before so everything is cooked fresh in the morning.

But of course, the best thing about the B&B are the hosts Bill and Shelley - they are a wonderful couple, very easygoing and friendly and are doing a fabulous job running this place. You can ask them absolutely anything and nothing is too much for them to help with.

Thank you so much for making our stay at the New Forest so amazing!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meichan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.3 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ormonde House Hotel
Ormonde House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Lyndhurst
484 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Rabbit
The White Rabbit
#6 of 8 in Lyndhurst
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Daisybank Cottage Boutique Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Whitemoor House B&B
Whitemoor House B&B
#3 of 22 in Lyndhurst
302 reviews
5.7 mi away
Dale Farm House
Dale Farm House
#1 of 1 in Dibden
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meadows Bed and Breakfast Lyndhurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meadows Bed and Breakfast Lyndhurst

Address: 62 The Meadows, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO43 7EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lyndhurst
Price Range: $53 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meadows B&B Lyndhurst is located in the beautiful New Forest. Set in the village of Lyndhurst and located at the end of a cul-de-sac, it offers comfort and peace and quiet at affordable rates. It's an ideal B&B for a long or short break where you will be less than 10 minutes stroll to the stunning New Forest and Lyndhurst village, with its numerous restaurants and places to eat and unwind. Our B&B has two superior en-suite rooms. A spacious super king bedded room with lounge area and en-suite shower over bath and a king bedded suite with private adjoining lounge and en-suite walk-in shower. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Meadows Bed And Breakfast Lyndhurst New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing