We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly delightful experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyndhurst
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Meadows Bed and Breakfast Lyndhurst
Ranked #1 of 22 Lyndhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The Meadows is definitely the best B & B I've ever been to. The owners, Shelley and Bill, gave us the warmest of welcomes. They were very friendly and helpful, showing us the best walks around the area, even going as far as lending us a pair of walking boots!
The breakfast was divine - you won't find a better full English anywhere else! Delicious!
All in all, an amazing two day experience in the New Forest, in no small part due to the wonderful meadows!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (474)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 474 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

The Meadows B&B made our stay in the New Forest even more enjoyable, as it felt like a home away from home. Shelley and Bill went above and beyond to welcome us, give us tips and suggestions so that we could make the most of our two night stay in Lyndhurst. Our room was immaculately clean, the breakfast was divine and all of the personal touches makes this B&B a pleasure to experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary-Lou H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

BETTER THAN ALL THE REST !!!! don't bother looking elsewhere - this is THE place to stay in the New Forest. Words do not really do this lovely B & B justice. Shelley and Bill are wonderful - genuinely friendly and helpful. Rooms are immaculate and extremely comfy with lots of quality extras. Breakfast - best we have ever had - fresh (imaginative) fruit platter, perfectly cooked English or very tasty smoked salmon, didn't have room for either cereals or toast (maybe next time). Shelley and Bill make very good "tourist information guides" as are full of local knowledge and can provide maps, leaflets, suggestions for restaurants, etc. I know that it is a cliché : but you feel that you "arrive as guests and leave as friends" - but in this instance it is true !!! If you book into this B & B you will certainly be extremely happy and in the words of one famous chef : you will be "SORTED"

Room Tip: All of the three rooms are extremely quiet and comfortable and a real delight to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOHN04LEEDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

You could not ask for more at this superb B&B! Bill and Shelley are excellent hosts and are the friendliest couple. Our room was beautiful, spacious and so well appointed, the fresh fruit was a lovely added touch. We had never been to the New Forest and Bill and Shelley provided us with loads of suggestions, maps and great places to eat. Breakfast was delicious and made to order. An absolutely fabulous place to stay, we highly recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in the New Forest!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed here for one night for an impromptu visit to the New Forest and from the get go, Shelley and Bill could not have been more helpful and friendly. As we had limited time, Bill told us about a walk we could do, which was just perfect and they both recommended the Oak as a place for dinner. We are so glad we took their recommendation - we had the best country gastropub meal that evening and they also lent us their yellow discount card off to get money off. Do make a booking as it was very busy when we went on a Wed evening.

What I also loved the most is that our room in the B&B was just so comfortable and welcoming. I loved the decor and how the room was kitted out. Everything has been thought of and the ensuite is just amazing too. There's tea/coffee making facilities and lovely biscuits... all the best touches. Bed was so comfy and we slept like babies!

Breakfast is brill and be warned, they are BIG portions! :) Home-cooked, delicious food made with love with a good selection. I like how we are able to choose what we want the evening before so everything is cooked fresh in the morning.

But of course, the best thing about the B&B are the hosts Bill and Shelley - they are a wonderful couple, very easygoing and friendly and are doing a fabulous job running this place. You can ask them absolutely anything and nothing is too much for them to help with.

Thank you so much for making our stay at the New Forest so amazing!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meichan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The rooms were lovely (with lots of unexpected extras) and the breakfasts were excellent. Bill and Shelley clearly enjoy having people to stay. They couldn't have been more helpful. They provide guests with a local discount card (which we used in the pub on our first night) and a ticket which allows free parking in the local car parks. On our first night Bill even drove us to the pub we'd booked for our evening meal and when we left after our 2-night stay they waved us off as though we were family or friends.

Room Tip: All rooms equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HartleyMags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

read the reviews, which were all very good
But until you stay here you cant believe how friendly and helpful Bill and Shelley make you feel
They really are a lovely couple, nothing is too much trouble, we had a lovely welcome. The room was lovely, with nice towels and dressing gowns/ slippers. you only have to ask a question about visiting a certain place Bill would either give you a booklet or go and print off info from the internet. He was very helpful with information about walks/ cycle rides etc.
The Breakfast selection was really nice the cooked breakfast was cooked fresh to your liking.
We would highly recommend The Meadows. we have told everyone they must go there.
We hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.3 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.4 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,098 reviews
0.6 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ormonde House Hotel
Ormonde House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Lyndhurst
473 reviews
4.3 mi away
Daisybank Cottage Boutique Bed and Breakfast
7.8 mi away
Little Forest Lodge
Little Forest Lodge
#1 of 21 in Ringwood
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meadows Bed and Breakfast Lyndhurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meadows Bed and Breakfast Lyndhurst

Address: 62 The Meadows, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO43 7EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lyndhurst
Price Range: $50 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meadows B&B Lyndhurst is located in the beautiful New Forest. Set in the village of Lyndhurst and located at the end of a cul-de-sac, it offers comfort and peace and quiet at affordable rates. It's an ideal B&B for a long or short break where you will be less than 10 minutes stroll to the stunning New Forest and Lyndhurst village, with its numerous restaurants and places to eat and unwind. Our B&B has two superior en-suite rooms. A spacious super king bedded room with lounge area and en-suite shower over bath and a king bedded suite with private adjoining lounge and en-suite walk-in shower. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Meadows Bed And Breakfast Lyndhurst New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing