We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a special occasion...”
Review of Lime Wood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lime Wood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Thanks to my family, I had a 40th birthday voucher to spend at Limewood so we booked dinner. It was a lovely warm sunny evening and the hotel is beautiful and set in peaceful surroundings. I found the bar a little cold in terms of atmosphere....although all of the staff were friendly. The restaurant, however, was buzzy, cosy and a real treat. We had a fantastic young waiter called James....and I asked him to select every course for me!! He was spot on every time....the smoke house board starter was delicious, the pig cheeks succulent and the dessert ( cherry nut parfait) was the highlight for me. The food was reasonably priced but the drinks were pricey....still it was a great dinner and next time I am back to try the spa!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank events73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,332)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

881 - 887 of 1,332 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

We booked the tasting menu on Travelzoo. Lime Wood is situated just outside Lyndhurst in the New Forest with an imposing drive up to the hotel. We were met with a very warm welcome and this set the standard for a wonderful afternoon. Staff were always on hand to explain each of the courses. They were knowledgeable and very friendly. The food was of a very high standard, well presented and a good balance of flavours. We asked if it would be possible to look at the smokery, having tasted the amazing charcuterie, and after a short wait the head chef Luke Holder took us for an escorted tour. What a wonderful way to spend a lovely summer afternoon. Thank you to Luke for taking the time to explain how he prepares and smokes the wonderful food we sampled. Thank you too to all his staff for making us feel truly at home. We will be back

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank garlic1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Attended a lovely birthday tea here and its was fabulous.Gorgeous surroundings and the food just wonderful.The staff are attentive and helpful.Expensive..yes..but well worth it.Grounds were stunning and the overall effect of being utterly spoilt.Ideal for a special event or just to spoil yourselves,as a special treat! A truly romantic setting,peaceful and being the New Forest..a really wonderful place to be any time of the year.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank telephonegirl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

My wife and I spent a wonderful weekend here for our combined 40th birthdays. It is expensive but most definitely worth it as a treat. We had a lovely bedroom with a free standing bath and the staff were very welcoming and friendly. The spa is stunning and the setting in the middle of the New Forest was perfect for a long walk. We ate in the bar areas, which we can recommend as you can eat from a number of menus. Breakfast was very good although the cooked options were expensive.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank JW B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We spent bank holiday weekend with my daughter and her boyfriend at this amazing property staying in Forrest 1 cottage.The service was outstanding...very personalised and unobtrusive,the hotel is beautifully decorated and restaurant excellent.The spa could not have been better ,,,excellent treatments and so nice not to get the product seek after a relaxing treatment.
The staff are some of the best i have come across and i work extensively in luxury hospitality around the world
A hidden gem in a beautiful part of UK...also The little sister pub The Pig is great for a pub meal...fantastic atmosphere and great food.
We will be back

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

A stunning lunch and a wonderful afternoon! Four of us had lunch and the food, wine and service were first class. Angela Hartnett came out and chatted to us and not one detail could have been improved upon. We are regulars at Limewood but it keeps getting better and better. Nothing was too trouble for the team so big thanks to Dani, Sergio, James and of course Angela.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Wow what can I say by far the best spa experience I have ever had Definitely a competitor to careys manor senspa.
The food is all raw and made specially for you, a free glass of champagne to accompany your meal if it's a special occasion and the facial I had was a highly professional treatment, my therapist was brilliant, and considering I am also a beauty therapist I'm quite hard to please...
All in all a worth while visit. Can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annabelsims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
9.8 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,903 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.8 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
395 reviews
5.4 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,211 reviews
2.5 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#4 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lime Wood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lime Wood Hotel

Address: Beaulieu Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO43 7FZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range: $405 - $1,140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lime Wood Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lime Wood, a boutique country house hotel in England, is set in the heart of the New Forest National Park, 1.5 miles from the small town of Lyndhurst and just an hour and a half drive from London. We like to think of ourselves as a luxury country house hotel with a difference. We've used Lime Wood's classical structure as the basis of our design but we've lovingly renovated it with a fresh approach, reviving its architecture and grounds. We've kept the spirit of its past, taken inspiration from its extraordinarily beautiful surroundings and added the odd contemporary twist to bring it to life. The food is by Luke Holder and Angela Hartnett. With its proximity to London, our New Forest boutique hotel really is the ultimate countryside getaway; perfect for weekend breaks, a dash from the city, or an escape from home; whatever your motivations, we can't wait to show you around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lime Wood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lime Wood Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing