We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unmissable”
Review of Lime Wood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lime Wood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Unmissable”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Save up, and treat yourself to a night here, possibly the most beautiful hotel I've visited in England. The service is first class. The restaurant fantastic, Hartnett at her very best. The price for the quality of food incredible. The wine list is like a telephone directory, but something in every price range. A truly fantastic dining experience, if you view the website, they do afternoon tea at a reasonable price, and have spa facilities. Truly breathtaking.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beckyboosmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    846
    224
    121
    54
    28
See reviews for
232
691
14
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Limewood for a short midweek break. Absolutely loved it! Great countryside location and amazing Spa. The nice thing is that you can have all the luxury you want but without the stiffiness that sometimes comes with it. Food also great. Especially Charlie in the restaurant is a charming character who knows his trade. Will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FromLwithLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We went to Lime Wood for the weekend with a few friends and had a wonderful time. It was awesomely expensive but brilliant for a complete splurge. The staff were lovely and the atmosphere in the hotel was very relaxed (much more so than many other country house hotels). Our room was no. 3 - wow! Loved the bath in the room and the view, the shower, the incredibly comfortable bed..... We had treatments in the spa (great - though the sports massage was pretty brutal!) and enjoyed the pool, steam room and sauna (definitely the best view from a sauna that I have ever seen!). The gym looks very well equipped - and I love the idea of doing yoga in the herb garden on the roof (just not enough time to pack it all in!!). The food was wonderful, as you would expect (yummy millefeuille) - the cocktails are pretty expensive though. Breakfast in the scullery was truly divine! We cycled in the forest borrowing bikes from the hotel. They only have a limited number of bikes though so get up early if you want to use the hotel bikes. There is a bike hire shop in Brockenhurst if you miss out. We went on a 5 mile run as well on a trail suggested by the hotel - beautiful! The corridor above the courtyard did smell of food pretty much all the time but it did not seem to smell in the rooms. I don't understand the comment about Room 8 - our friends stayed in it and had no complaints. If you can, stay in one of the Pavilion Rooms - some friends had one of these rooms and it was truly beautiful - looking out onto the forest. The only negative comment was the lack of mirror with decent lighting for make up! Altogether a wonderful stay - we are already talking about booking in next year....better start saving!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldfishLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Having enjoyed a wonderful stay at the friendly Hotel du Vin in Winchester for our anniversary, my husband and I decided to go home via the New Forest for a walk, and having heard good things about Lime Wood from relatives who stay regularly, we decided to pop in for a glass of wine and coffee and see for ourselves. We were shown to the bar area which, whilst pleasant, was extremely cold. I can't comment on the quality of food or accommodation but what I can comment on is the service given to "walk in's just here for a drink" as we were called loudly and within earshot. They would do well to remember that today's walk in's could be next week's/month's potential guests. Overall we did not leave here yearning to book in any time soon.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank 47Nico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Just had our third stay at Lime Wood. Could sense a shift in approach since our last visit a year ago although several casual enquiries about recent changes were met with blank but polite stares from staff. The hotel is still beautiful and the room was lovely (Coach House). But the little personal touches seem to have faded - not much reference to our previous visits (impressed by that last time) and the chocolate limes on checkout have gone! We were divided in opinion on the new restaurant - definitely more accessible and friendly than the previous dining room but the demise of The Scullery as an alternative dining option is a shame. And the advent of the new bar in the Courtyard - while fabulously stylish and cool - seems to be at the expense of the old bar which was completely empty on this visit. Drinks seemed exhorbitantly expensive and I personally prefer gentle noise of conversation over piped ambient music. We will go again but left thinking there may be other places to try.

Room Tip: Coach House offers quiet privacy being separate from the main hotel but we also looked at 'Cosy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I have stayed at lime wood twice over the past 18 months and it really is delightful.

Good spa facilities (although indoor pool needed upgrade), plus two great restaurants ( new one added since we were there last).

The staff are really attentive, the bedrooms to whichever spec you choose and the decor in the public rooms is really special/ distinctive. I also love the art choices.

Lime wood is a proper treat and we will continue to return to enjoy it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BessMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jersey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in 2 Forest suite rooms in the main hotel (rooms 8 and 9). Room rate was £495 per room per night so clearly not cheap. The rooms were duplex ie bedroom upstairs. Decent size bathroom although facing internally ie no natural light. Marble-ish feel ie a little old fashioned for us. Stair carpets were stained in one of the rooms and truthfully the sitting area of the rooms did not feel like a £500 per night stay with a fairly minimal feel and lighting not fantastic (this was admittedly a dull March weekend). Hotel corridor smelt strongly of cooking (something like smoked haddock - not too unpleasant but very noticeable.

So, what a contrast to move downstairs. Lovely staff in all areas. We enjoyed the Hartnett and Holder restaurant and its bar on the Friday night - London style menu, great service and some real stand out food items eg deep fried courgette, pig cheek, gnocchi and zabaglione for dessert. I also found the wine mark ups fair. We had a Ch. Canon 2005 at £170 for the bottle (not a bad mark up). We also loved the internal courtyard bar/sitting area for cocktails and afternoon tea (at different times). The spa and gym are equally good.

The surrounding area is also lovely and we borrowed wellies (hot pink for me) and did one of the local walks before a superb Sunday lunch.

We have stayed at Chewton Glen locally and a fair number of other similar hotels eg Gravetye, Bovey, Bowood, Whatley, Bath Priory etc. In this area I prefer LImewood - primarily for the downstairs rooms, food outlets and friendly service.

Room Tip: Dont book rooms 8 or 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank byrneJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
9.8 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,803 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.8 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
350 reviews
5.4 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,155 reviews
2.5 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lime Wood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lime Wood Hotel

Property: Lime Wood Hotel
Address: Beaulieu Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO43 7FZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lime Wood Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lime Wood, a boutique country house hotel in England, is set in the heart of the New Forest National Park, 1.5 miles from the small town of Lyndhurst and just an hour and a half drive from London. We like to think of ourselves as a luxury country house hotel with a difference. We've used Lime Wood's classical structure as the basis of our design but we've lovingly renovated it with a fresh approach, reviving its architecture and grounds. We've kept the spirit of its past, taken inspiration from its extraordinarily beautiful surroundings and added the odd contemporary twist to bring it to life. The food is by Luke Holder and Angela Hartnett. With its proximity to London, our New Forest boutique hotel really is the ultimate countryside getaway; perfect for weekend breaks, a dash from the city, or an escape from home; whatever your motivations, we can't wait to show you around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Lime Wood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lime Wood Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing