We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing only let down was dinner at The Scullery!”
Review of Lime Wood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lime Wood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing only let down was dinner at The Scullery!”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

This hotel is fantastic, the decor is beautiful and the rooms are of a very high standard. We had a double ended bath and an amazing shower! We only stayed for one night but would have loved to stay longer. The spa is better than most I've visited and I had the most relaxing facial. The location is beautiful and great if you fancy a nice walk in the New Forest. The only reason I haven't given this full marks is because of the restaurant. We ate at the Scullery and whilst the breakfast was good the dinner was a disappointment! Not what you expect from a five star and the dessert was inedible but not cheap. Beware everything here is expensive!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 37WR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justinlimewood, Hotel Director at Lime Wood Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Thank you for your review of Lime Wood

I was pleased to read that most aspects of your stay you enjoyed at our forest hideaway including our extensive facilities and beautiful surroundings.

However I was shocked at the under par experience you had in The Scullery. Food is a huge part of what we do here, cooking with the seasons and offering up what The New Forest has to offer. For this inadequacy you received I must apologise. I will pass your comments directly to Luke Holder, our Head Chef, in order to ascertain what wrong and how we can improve on our product to ensure this doesn’t happen again.

I do hope you return to Lime Wood in the near future.

Kind regards,
Justin Pinchbeck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    847
    224
    121
    54
    29
See reviews for
233
691
14
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We've stayed at Limewood two or three times now and have always had a great experience.

We've stayed in the main house and the coach house which was absolutely lovely! The staff always seem to go out of there way to help you, they were even kind enough to bring my birthday presents up to the room with breakfast upon the request of my husband :-)

Food and drinks are a little pricey but no worse than any other nice hotel.

The Spa is gorgeous, maybe not as cosy as others we have been to but still very well run and the changing rooms are fantastic! I think the fact that you have to go outside to get to the spa takes away the whole 'warm' feeling you get with other spa's that are located inside the hotel... especially when it's raining or snowing as was the case when we stayed! Can't be helped though and we knew this before staying.

We will def be visiting again :-)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grottbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justinlimewood, Hotel Director at Lime Wood Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Many thanks for your review of Lime Wood.

It is always very pleasing to hear of guests returning time and again!
I am glad you liked the Chocolate Limes and birthday presents delivered to your room, it is sometimes the little touches that go the longest way.

Moreover, I am thrilled that your stay here for that special occasional was wonderful, and we cannot wait to welcome yourselves back here soon!

Kind regards,
Justin Pinchbeck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

My wife treated me to two nights at Lime Wood and it didn't quite click with me. There are some great aspects to it: the romantic New Forest location, the grounds and outdoor seating areas, the spa and the view from the spa out into a beechwood forest are excellent. Despite being obviously new, the design of the extension to the old part of the house and the out-buildings are attractive. Our room was very comfortable and the water pressure in the shower was great. Most of the staff are good and some are excellent but, for the money, I didn't think the ratio of junior to experienced staff was as it should be. Relais and Chateaux usually add ingredients to a hotel that give a stay a special something, a special finesse but unfortunately Lime Wood just fell a little short.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mattonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justinlimewood, Hotel Director at Lime Wood Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at Lime Wood.

I am glad you found all the facilities we have to offer to your liking.

I am disappointed to hear that your stay didn’t quite meet your expectations however. In a continuous effort to provide a unique top level service all our team are trained regularly both internally and externally, and I am sorry that on this occasion that did not transpire. I believe that our staff really do bring Lime Wood to life.

I would hope that you will return once again so we all can restore your faith in us.

Kind regards,
Justin Pinchbeck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We stayed at the Lime Wood for four nights and it was a truly wonderful experience. We had previously visited the hotel last year for dinner and was so impressed we returned the next day for afternoon tea both were scrumptious so we were determined to stay here on our next visit to the New Forest. This time we returned with our 1 year old daughter. We were all made to feel extremely welcome and the staff couldn't have been anymore polite or helpful throughout our entire stay.
Our room was in the Coach House and was beautifully decorated and immaculate. The only downside was that although we had been upgraded our room was up a small flight of stairs which with an inquisitive toddler could prove problematic without a stair gate provided but luckily the improvisation of using the travel cot across the stairs and watchful eyes solved the problem.
The spa was beautiful, clean and relaxing although maybe a morning time slot to take children swimming could be beneficial as 3:30-5 co-insided with being out during the day or being too tired and hungry to swim.
We would love to recommend this hotel to anyone who loves excellent service in beautiful surroundings and we cant wait to return in the not to distant future :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisy16Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

This is a gem of a hotel with a very upscale, contemporary English country feel. The rooms are lovely with soft, comfortable beds and great bathrooms. The common areas are plentiful and very luxurious. The food we had was very nice. The grounds are tranquil & beautiful. The one downside we discovered is that mobile phone coverage is spotty at best. The service is good, but doesn't quite live up to the facilities of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank American_in_l0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

I didnt feel I was in a hotel at Lime Wood. Instead I felt like I was the personal guest of Bertie Wooster's Aunt Dahlia, or an aquaintance of Hercule Poirot, and at any minute I whould be summoned to the library to find out who did the murder, or to be asked to steal a cow creamer. This is down to two things: firstly, the owners are not trying to sweat every inch of their asset, leaving plenty of delightful rooms and spaces to simply sit and enjoy the world in, including an orangerie, library, drawing room, a bar, a games room and several more. Secondly, the attitude is deeply welcoming, for example being encouraged to use the spa before check-in and after check-out, instead of being hurried off the premises the moment the bill is paid. A member of staff walks you into dinner. There are games and an annoyingly brilliantly loaded iPod in the (slightly over-stuffed with furniture) rooms, along with a fruit basket filled with tiny bananas and huge, delicious dates. In room 1, the massive double bath overlooks the front drive and the New Forest. (We did, however, have a bit of a stuggle with our lights, which resukted inthe bathroom lights randomly coming on in the middle of the night, but we suspect this was our problem and doesn't normally happen!)

The spa was truly lovely and we enjoyed the outdoor hot tub, even in February. Unfortunately the rooftop garden was being gardened, so we didnt get to experience it.

For what Lime Wood offers, in terms of the comfort, attention to detail and making you feel like a personal guest instead of a revenue stream, it is very good value for money.

Unfortunately, given how truly fabulous everything else is, the food side simply isn't up to par. Our dinner was as if it had been devised and cooked by a very good but not winning Masterchef contestant, ambitious but not completely successful (and service was somewhat on the slow side). The cheese was excellent but the pastry frankly disastrous. Sadly this was also true at breakfast, where a stunning take on the traditional hotel buffet breakfast with homemade granola, fresh berries and their own smoked meats was marred by almost inedibly heavy danish pastries and absolutely inedibly soggy eccles cakes. If the food can be as good as the spa and hotel, this place would actually be heaven.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JWLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

In our experience there is a serious shortage of good 5 star hotels in the UK outside of London. At first sight this looked promising as they've clearly not skimped on the design and fittings. The gym and pool facilities are particularly impressive. The main shortfall is in the quality of staff. Most of them try hard but there just isn't the depth of experience and quality that you really need in a venue that's aiming this high. We had planned to eat in the main restaurant but as there were only two other guests in it we preferred the casual bistro, where the food and ambience were both good.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
9.8 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,807 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.8 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
349 reviews
5.4 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,156 reviews
2.5 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lime Wood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lime Wood Hotel

Property: Lime Wood Hotel
Address: Beaulieu Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO43 7FZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lime Wood Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lime Wood, a boutique country house hotel in England, is set in the heart of the New Forest National Park, 1.5 miles from the small town of Lyndhurst and just an hour and a half drive from London. We like to think of ourselves as a luxury country house hotel with a difference. We've used Lime Wood's classical structure as the basis of our design but we've lovingly renovated it with a fresh approach, reviving its architecture and grounds. We've kept the spirit of its past, taken inspiration from its extraordinarily beautiful surroundings and added the odd contemporary twist to bring it to life. The food is by Luke Holder and Angela Hartnett. With its proximity to London, our New Forest boutique hotel really is the ultimate countryside getaway; perfect for weekend breaks, a dash from the city, or an escape from home; whatever your motivations, we can't wait to show you around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lime Wood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lime Wood Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing