We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Oak Inn

The Oak Inn
Ranked #3 of 51 Restaurants in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $41
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Oak Inn is a quintessential award-winning country pub, famous for its fresh, locally-sourced food. In the heart of the beautiful New Forest, it has a wide range of wines and a selection of ever-changing real ales. As well as a glorious al fresco garden, cosy open fires are found indoors.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Came here with my partner as I had been recommended this pub many times,
It did not disappoint!! The service is second to none and nothing was too much trouble. I ate off the daily specials and the choice and variety was brilliant. Food excellent and I’ll defiantly be back soon.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank simon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    552
    242
    71
    26
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamble, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“perfect winter pub experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Seeking shelter from a storm, two of us arrived around 3pm for a late lunch. The staff looked after us well without being intrusive, the fire was stoked and we ate an excellent burger and an outstanding scallop, mango, endive and prawn salad. Will definitely be returning. I've been many times in the past but haven't visited over the last few years - It's retained and possibly even improved its' quality.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank redster_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
97 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A Must for any trip to the new forest!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

During a recent trip to The New Forest staying at Chewton Glen, we wanted to eat out one night and our hotel recommended the Oak Inn. We booked a table - which is advisable as it's not a huge place.
My wife had the biggest burger and chips and I had a Venison pie. Apparently it's a different home cooked pie every day. We shared a sticky toffee pudding.
Deeee-lish-ouuuuuuuusss

Go there, reasonably priced for great quality home cooked food. The service is also attentive and friendly. Just wish I had a place like this in walking distance to my front door back home!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RJhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lived up to the recommendation...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Great little gastro pub in the heart of the new forest. Go for the Chicken, Leak and Ham pie if it's on the specials. Delicious!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best pub and food of our holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

What a wonderful New Forest pub in a lovely setting with a fantastic ambience. Was bustling when we went and I'm not surprised. We hand't booked so we had to wait a little while for a table but the staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough for us. We all had a fantastic meal that totally surpassed our expectations for pub food. Will definitely be back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jkb2128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oak Inn also viewed

Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to The Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing