We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”
Review of Acres Down House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyndhurst
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Acres Down House
Ranked #12 of 22 Lyndhurst B&B and Inns
Brighton
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We had a fantastic stay here over the Jubilee Holiday.
Great house, very comftable twin room with the most amazing shower!
You could choose what you wanted for breakfast from a list left in your room (tick box)
David and Lindsey were the perfect hosts, laid back and even offered us a lift home from the pub if we wanted to go in the evening!
The house is situated right in the forest, which was great. A short car journey took us into all the nearby villages.
Would defo recommend and cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JANEYBRIGHTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    4
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
11
33
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

There is no better way to describe it, but as a great B&B in a great location. It is just next to Acres Down walk, there is a farm shop and an absolutely fantastic tea room, where they serve cream tea and tea and cake which we would highly recommend. We were slightly concerned that the B&B is not that near to a local pub as we normally prefer to walk to pubs rather than drive, in case we decide to have something alcoholic with our evening meal :) At the end we decided to take our chances and walk there. It is a pleasant walk down a country lane which took us about 20-25 minutes, I would probably recommend taking a torch with you if you are planning to walk back in the dark and watch out for cars as they tend to go very fast.

The B&B itself is such a lovely building, both inside and outside, very well looked after and very clean. We had a stunning view on the forest from our room's windows and we could also see hens and ponies from one of them. Everything just had this idyllic feel to it. We had our breakfast in a beautifully decorated room. The breakfast was extremely tasty and served on a gorgeous china. We felt like guests in some stately home. The owners were very friendly and made us feel
welcomed.

Unfortunately we spent only one night in the B&B, but we are already planning a longer visit this autumn.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Halise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We searched high and low to find the perfect place for out first wedding anniversary, and Acres Down House turned out to be perfect in every way! As other reviewers mention, well appointed room, comfortable private lounge, delicious home-cooked breakfast in the dining room and views all round of the New Forest... A very special anniversary break thanks to David and Lindsay's great hospitality and thoughtful presence. Looking forward to our next visit already!!

Room Tip: All rooms enjoy views of the Forest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank askdeaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at Acres Down. The room was a good size, spotless and had everything we needed and the bathroom was particularly impressive. The cooked breakfast was amongst the best I've had at a B&B and David and Lindsey were just lovely hosts. They were incredibly helpful and friendly and gave us all the information we needed to get the most out of our trip to the New Forest. The B&B is in a great location with trails into the New Forest right outside the front door, a farm shop next door also providing delicious tea and cakes, and two good quality pubs within 30 minutes walk for evening meals. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We only spent one night here but we will be back for a longer stay at some point! Both David and Lindsey are great hosts who make you feel very welcome and gave us some advise on the local area. The house is spotless and our room and bathroom where the cleanest I have ever seen at a B&B. The views from our room were stunning and the room itself was a good size and nicely decorated. The breakfast was amazing, everything cooked to perfection.
It's a stunning place to stay but rather remote so expect to drive for a meal or to go to the pub. We can highly recommend the pub down the road, I think it's called The New Forest Inn?
The B&B is located perfectly to make the most of the many bike trails that are around and it's a short drive to most of the local sights and towns.
We will be back here soon I'm sure!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lou1982ox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

stayed at Acres Down House for one night on 18th December. First impressions was of a lovely big modern house in large grounds. Situated in the New Forest, this was exactly what we wanted. Both David and Lindsay were very welcoming and we felt at home instantly. Bedrooms large and clean, views great. The down stairs lounge fantastic we really felt at home and could relax. Breakfast was brilliant. Cannot recommend enough and will be back in the Summer.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gail m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed here for a weekend with my girlfriend. It is set in the new forest and the location is great. The building is very spacious and clean. Rooms where nice with ensuite and that was very clean. Breakfast was great and the owners were very nice. Will defiantly be back in the summer

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phatdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
2.0 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
1.9 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
819 reviews
5.7 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
1,270 reviews
5.3 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,041 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acres Down House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acres Down House

Property: Acres Down House
Address: Minstead, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO43 7GE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lyndhurst
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lyndhurst
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Acres Down House Hotel Lyndhurst
Acres Down House Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing