We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheaper than a Travelodge” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ely

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ely
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yateley
Worcester
Level Contributor
179 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Cheaper than a Travelodge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Needed a place to stay for one night as passing through area. All the big names were ridiculously expensive and through Google found this place. Reception was pleasant and efficient at registering us. We chose to eat in the restaurant rather than hit the road again and we were glad we did. The food was sensibly priced, well presented and tasty. Had a good nights sleep in a comfortable bed followed by a fairly good shower in a spotless bathroom. Our price for the night [£69] included breakfast so we were more than happy with the service and do recommend this hotel/pub. Only gripe was that there was only one bath towel in a double room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nmpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    191
    74
    28
    18
See reviews for
138
169
13
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

My husband and I had a very enjoyable stay at the Ely hotel.The room was really nice and clean.The staff and the manager were very friendly and helpful.You could really relax and feel special.We would definitely recommend the hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeselinaMinkova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yateley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Couldn't have asked for a better experience while dining at The Ely. Where do I begin, all I can do is sing their praises.

The outside of the building looked fabulous, as soon as I walked through the door I was overwhelmed by the friendly 'hellos' from staff and the place has such a welcoming vibe.

The menu... I was spoilt for choice in my opinion, with the normal everyday menu and the specials board I was given. I finally decided that I wasn't going to have a starter but chose the chicken fajitas for my main meal, I must say that they were really tasty and full of flavour but the wraps didn't seem tat warm when they arrived to my table which didn't ruin my meal but maybe something to look into.

The service... Staff seemed happy o help and had the customers best interests at heart. They were efficient wen seating and serving me, throughout the duration of my visit. Considering they were fairly busy in the restaurant, it didn't show in the service. I was offered a top up when my drink was running low and was occasionally asked if I wanted anything else.

I would recommend The Ely to anyone and everyone. Fantastic food, great value for money (the food portions are fit for a king) and exceptional service from all staff who served me, including 'Keri' as it said in the feed back card I was given. will be sure to visit again in the near future, purely because of the service and food I received.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

tHis is our second visit to The ELy, good food,great atmosphere , came with my partner for a weekend break ,we had a nice clean and comfortable room ,tea and coffee making facilities in room ,hair dryer ,tv,.....thanks guys will be back

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Treated my boyfriend to a change of scene and a night away...

The hotel rooms are clean, the furniture is a bit tired looking but the bed sheets were clean as were the towels.

There a nice flat screen tv in the room, in room heater, hair dryer, tea/coffee making facilities and nice bathroom with shower gel and heated towel rack and the water was hot!

Overall the hotel was great for the price and would recommend to friends and family.

The breakfast was also nice with continental and cooked selection, the food as of a great quality too!

I had a meal in the restaurant at night and the quality was great and the staff were very good too! for the price paid, the food was actually under priced! very impressed!

Overall, i would stay here again or go for a meal here!

Room Tip: we had room 27, no "view" as such, but a large room, away from any real noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sammysyrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

My friends and I stayed here for New Years Eve, went to the party and we had the best night ... the meal was fantastic - lots of choice, (even for a veggie), the party was started with a complimentary glass of Champers or mulled and the atmosphere was already buzzing.
We had a family room (4 girls sharing), great value for money,the rooms were clean and after a late night and a tiny lay in !!..we managed breakfast which again was "whatever you want we will make"....great place, (its our local as well), great friendly staff, dog friendly to which is a No.1 for a lot of us doggie people and they can stay over to...
Thanks to Luke for going off the menu and getting me some Veggie Curry - it was amazing, thanks to Chris, Andy and Ade, you are all such a great laugh, and even after the long night and the 3 to 4 hours sleep you had - you were still smiling at breakfast - nothing was too much for you.
Great team at the Ely...well done and look forward to next year !!
From Vanessa (& Summer-The Golden Cocker), Marilyn and Jacqui...
Happy New Year and look forward also to the new Events coming soon.....

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa-09-2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

we stayed here for 2 nights just after New Year, the rooms are clean and have tea and coffee making facilites, bath/shower, tv and ironing equipment. Easy check in as well. The pub has a lovely atmosphere, the menu is excellent and the breakfast menu was good as well, all in all we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carol h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yateley
0.7 mi away
The Casa Hotel
The Casa Hotel
#2 of 2 in Yateley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Kingsley at Eversley
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Sandhurst Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Warbrook House
Warbrook House
#2 of 2 in Eversley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
4.2 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 8 in Farnborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lismoyne Hotel
Lismoyne Hotel
#1 of 4 in Fleet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ely? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ely

Property: The Ely
Address: (A 30 London Road | Blackwater, Camberley, Yateley GU17 9LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Yateley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yateley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ely 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Ely reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ely Hotel Yateley
Ely Hotel Yateley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing