We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel”
Review of The Ely

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ely
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yateley
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here for one night recently,found the hotel,friendly and clean,no complaints other than breakfast was not as good as expected It had been built up to such a high standard by other reviews,so we were a little dissappointed,but on saying that we would certainly book in there again ,(prehaps the staff were just having a bad morning).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jethro047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (580)
There are newer reviews for The Ely
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 581 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

We used this hotel as a one night stopover as we wanted to visit Windsor. We had a room at the back of the hotel which was very quiet and we heard no road noise at all. Spacious room with giant bed , large flat screen TV, plenty of tea, coffee and biscuits. Free WIFI in the hotel.

The breakfast was amazing and plentiful. Staff all very friendly. We would visit again.

One thing to bear in mind though is that apart from the Lakes and the Common, there is not really much in this area so best to use it as a base.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mercerh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is a chain pub, but I have to say it offers food and service well above chain-pub’s normal standards. The place is light and airy and the waiters were all friendly and helpful. They all pitch in, so you’re not left waiting to speak to “your waitress”. Plenty of choice on the menu and some nice Specials; small moan – the menu text is very small and hard to read in the subdued evening light. I chose haddock mornay, which was delicious, as was the food my friends chose. They bring your pint-sized soft drinks without asking which made a nice change and they’re not too expensive either. I finished with the cheese board, which again, was nice, if missing the pickle!

Well worth a visit if you are passing junction 4a on the M3.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank machinmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stay here occasionally when working late and i can pick up a decent last minute deal.
I like it, its clean, staff friendly, and local area quiet for a good nights sleep.
Another bonus is free wifi and plenty of free parking
Decent pub grub onsite and a few real ales to choose from.
All in all i reccomend it, definitestep up from the travel lodges/premier inns of this world

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob112233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Ely, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thankyou for your nice comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon. Regards Luke Jones, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Just stayed one night before Easter as we had friends in the area. Check in was not very pleasant as the receptionist was very cold and unfriendly. The pub is excellent with a wide choice of reasonably priced quality food and wine. The food in particular was excellent, we had a long wait as there was 9 people in our dinner party, but when the food arrived it was very good.The restaurant manager did everything to help. In the morning breakfast was equally as good, with an excellent choice. The value of this hotel was tremendous and will continue to stay here when we viosit this area.
Recommended .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AeroToulouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Ely, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thankyou for your lovely comments, I have spoken to receptionist involved and can assure you this will not happen again. I am glad you enjoyed your food. Looking forward to seeing you again. Reagrds Luke Jones, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here for the Easter break for 2 nights..

We loved the location of the hotel, it's not to far off of the motorway but it still felt like we were tucked away.

As we arrived to check in at 2pm we were told our room wasn't going to be ready till half past which we were fine with. We weren't blown away by the receptionists attitude upon entering but soon worked out the morning receptionist on shift over the 2 days was completely different to the afternoon/late shift lady. She was lovely, always smiling, very chatty and we felt very at ease with her. The morning receptionist however was cold and very stern, she was short and sometimes came across rude. I asked her on our second day to book a table for us for dinner, she hushed me away and said she would deal with it but it was never done, we went over to the pub at 6 and I was starving, having to wait till half 7 then being told I could of gone in at any time annoyed me even more!

The pub - has a lovely relaxed vibe and it always seemed busy so that was a good sign for us, all staff in the pub were fantastic, very attentive, were chatty and welcoming. There was a particular woman of which we didn't catch her name who was brilliant, she was very happy, always smiling and went out of her way to make sure we enjoyed our dinner/breakfast.

The food - was absolutely amazing, we could not have been happier.
We enjoyed mixed grill, burgers, a sharing starter, fudge brownies and more and we could not fault any of it.
The breakfast is also very good, lots of choice and the cooked breakfast was very tasty.
I would even go as far as to say as it was by far some of the best food I have ever tasted in a pub.

The room - was comfortable, clean and tidy.
For the price we paid it was acceptable and done us for what we wanted.
The bathroom could of done with a good old scrub & limescale, upgrade perhaps.

We visited Blackbushe market whilst we were there, which is on a Sunday and we loved that too, plenty to look at and it's literall 2-3 minutes up the road.

Overall we loved The Ely, the staff are an absolute credit to the pub. I would love to go back and I think we will return when we can.
Would recommend to anyone.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank liamcregan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Ely, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thankyou very much for your comments and we hope to see you again soon. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Reagrds Luke Jones, General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I recently visited the Ely for some food with some of my friends. The waiter was very considerate of my friend who had his leg in plaster. He held the door open for him and helped to guide him to his seat! They then made the effort to make sure the table was suitable for him! Someone from the management also came out to make sure we were okay with the table we were sat at.
We were immediately offered drinks and handed a menu, which had a great variety of meals and snacks on there!
The food was lovely, served quickly and most importantly- nice and hot!
Most of us ended up staying the night in the hotel just place behind the hotel as we'd had a few to drink with the meal.
The manager on duty managed to get us all suitable rooms. The rooms were well equipped and well heated.
Overall, our experience was great!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CharlieD281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Ely, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thankyou very much for your comments and we hope to see you again soon. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Reagrds Luke Jones, General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yateley
0.6 mi away
The Casa Hotel
The Casa Hotel
#2 of 2 in Yateley
622 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Kingsley at Eversley
3.4 mi away
Warbrook House
Warbrook House
#2 of 2 in Eversley
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
1,982 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lismoyne Hotel
Lismoyne Hotel
#2 of 4 in Fleet
701 reviews
4.3 mi away
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ely? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ely

Address: (A 30 London Road | Blackwater, Camberley, Yateley GU17 9LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Yateley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yateley
Price Range: $87 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ely 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Ely reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ely Hotel Yateley
Ely Hotel Yateley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing