We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Daughter's Wedding Reception”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ely

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ely
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yateley
Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My Daughter's Wedding Reception”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I cannot complain about anything - the staff were Excellent - extremely helpful & efficient, Rooms clean & comfortable and well worth the price charged, Food very good. Everyone bent over backwards to make my daughter's wedding reception & evening party a resounding success. Need I say more apart from if I had another daughter (thank goodness I haven't) I would suggest she used The Ely for her wedding reception.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Ely, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
We are really pleased that your daughter's wedding was a success. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    194
    76
    28
    18
See reviews for
141
171
13
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We booked this hotel at very short notice - very clear and user-friendly web site backed up by helpful staff. Good sized room and bathroom, friendly bar, enjoyable dinner and generous breakfast - we'll be staying there again soon.

Room Tip: The restaurant proves to be popular with non-residents so it is well worth reserving a table when bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuzechSpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Ely, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our Old English Inn. We do value all feedback and work hard to maintain good service to all our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We booked this hotel through laterooms and were a bit suspicious of the price/value ratio - 34 GBP for a double room ensuite with Wifi and a cooked breakfast. When we arrived we were more than happy, the rooms are spacious and stylish with flatscreen TV, everything was really clean and the staff was very friendly and welcoming. At first we thought we are in the wrong location. :o)

The price we got through laterooms where we found their special offers (obviously, when there are airshows around the price will be higher but worth it!)

Breakfast was very filling and delicious, the sausages were not of the cheap kind, there was quite a lot on offer at the buffet. You could even chose between traditional English breakfast, smoked salmon or kippers and omelettes.

All in all we liked our stay very much and the next night when staying somewhere else, we regretted not having extended our stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyKa74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Had a lovely Sunday lunch at the Ely. Plenty of meat and veg and for big eaters like my partner you just help yourself to how much you want. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Thinking of having our Xmas day dinner there with my family I have heard its very good. Looking forward to a good New Year's Eve at the Ely enjoyed seeing in 2012 the staff done well, hope this New Year's Eve is just as good or better thank you

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cutbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Ely, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent meal at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The Ely Hotel Yateley is an inexpensive hotel but offers a good standard of rooms. The rooms are clean and tidy with tea and coffee facilities available in your room. We stayed in one of the upstairs rooms at the back of the hotel which was a quiet room. The Restaurant offers very good value for money meals and you get a cooked English breakfast as part of your room rate, which was very nice. The hotel as a large car park for hotel guests. We have stayed here twice and we will stay again if we are in the area.

Room Tip: Upstairs Rear Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Spent one night in The Ely whilst visiting friends near by. Given the very inexpensive price my expectations were low, I am very pleased to say I was proven wrong! Not only was this hotel, clean and comfortable with a spacious and quiet room, the customer service was great, the breakfast good and even reliable free wifi!!!

Room Tip: I had a first floor room at the back, the hotel is on a main road so a bedroom at the back is probab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Ely, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your feed back on your recent stay at our Old English Inn. We value all your comments, and take them on board to offer the best service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2012

A big thank you to all the staff @ The Ely, we were welcomed from the moment we arrived & nothing was too much trouble.
Everyone was so friendly & professional.
We would not hesitate to recomend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in the area.
Well done everyone keep up the good work.

Room Tip: We stayed in room number 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Ely, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, we always appreciate all your feedback at Old English Inns and constantly work hard to deliver service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Inns soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yateley
0.6 mi away
The Casa Hotel
The Casa Hotel
#2 of 2 in Yateley
591 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Kingsley at Eversley
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Sandhurst Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 8 in Farnborough
1,797 reviews
3.4 mi away
Warbrook House
Warbrook House
#2 of 2 in Eversley
658 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lismoyne Hotel
Lismoyne Hotel
#1 of 4 in Fleet
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ely? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ely

Property: The Ely
Address: (A 30 London Road | Blackwater, Camberley, Yateley GU17 9LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Yateley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yateley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ely 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ely reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ely Hotel Yateley
Ely Hotel Yateley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing