We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious Room, Good Ales for the Weary Business Traveller”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ely

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ely
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yateley
Southam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Spacious Room, Good Ales for the Weary Business Traveller”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

Stayed only 1 night. The hotel is at the back of a kind of pub/inn. My room was on the ground floor, very spacious and not over furnished. The no-nonsense decor and fittings were not brand new but were functional, clean and basic.

The hotel is on a main road with not much else within walking distance so I ate in the pub. The food was pretty reasonable, good value with very well kept real ales.

Staff were all very friendly and made it easy for this lone business traveller to relax and make the most of an evening alone.

Breakfast was very good as well but did not start until 7am.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bingleypeabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Ely, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel.
We do value all comments good and bad and take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests. We look forward to welcoming to back to one of our Inns very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    194
    76
    28
    18
See reviews for
142
171
13
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

Part of Greene King owned Old English Inns we stayed at the Ely for one night and found it to be a pleasant experience. The location - on the A30 near the M3 at junction 4 or 4a and close to at least two railway stations with direct services into London - makes the Ely ideal if you're looking for somewhere not too far from the capital and without the additional cost incurred at hotels located inside the M25. It would also be ideal if visiting the biennial Farnborough Air Show. The main building containing the bar and restaurant is old and has a certain quaintness about it while the bedrooms are housed in a newer building at the rear - ideal since any road noise is reduced. In addition to Farnborough Blackbushe airport is also close by and you might hear the odd executive plane - but neither that nor the busy road prevented us from getting a good nights sleep. The room was fairly basic and needed a bit of TLC here and there but was nonetheless clean and tidy and everything worked fine. We had dinner in the bar area - although you can also choose to eat in the adjacent restaurant - and enjoyed our meal which we felt was good value for money. In addition to the usual fairly extensive choice of menu items in common with most other Greene King owned hotels and pubs there was also a more limited selection of two meals for £9.95. Breakfast was taken in the restaurant and featured a fairly extensive help-yourself cold buffet along with cooked-to-order hot items. Again the food quality was good and set us up for the day. The staff at The Ely were in general friendly and personable - although both in the bar during the evening and again at breakfast they should have perhaps stood around and chatted amongst themselves a bit less and been a little more alert to customers waiting to be served. Overall though an enjoyable stay and we would certainly return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Ely, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel.
We do value all comments good and bad and take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests. We look forward to welcoming to back to one of our Inns very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

Very clean and tidy - excellent price and value for money. Ideal for a weekend base to visit family and friends in the area.

Room Tip: All the rooms were the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbyjo26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Ely, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at our hotel.
We do value all comments good and bad and take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ely Hotel or one of other Old English Inns very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton
Level Contributor
98 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

Attended an 80th Birthday party at the adjoining pub / restaurant. Party in attached marque was very good and the catering snack foods and sandwiches good also ...although the bar shut at 11pm :(

Excellent breakfast the morning after - went to the nearby Blackwater Sunday market.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeSutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Ely, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, we always appreciate all your feedback at Old English Inns and constantly work hard to deliver service and value. We look forward to welcoming to back to one of our Inns soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

We were recommended to this restaurant by others and via trip advisor.
Poorly presented carvery, tasteless, bland, and if you dare to ask for more the one slice of horse....sorry beef?????? the carver chef bloke got the right hump!!!
poor table service and inept staff.

If you like traditional English food eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed here on Sunday for cheeky get away and we couldn't have been more pleased with our stay. The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. The room was very clean and comfortable. In the evening we went into the restaurant which unfortunately suffered a power cut. However this did not dampen the staffs spirits and they went out of their way to still deliver us a great meal. Breakfast in the morning contained a lot of choice and the breakfast waitress was very nice. Overall we thought our stay was excellent value.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gale P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Ely, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our Old English Inn. We do value all feedback and work hard to maintain good service to all our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

We stayed here for four nights, and there was no way out without forfeiting our prepayment. We chose this hotel based almost exclusively on TripAdvisor's largely positive reviews. There is a TripAdvisor plaque outside the hotel saying it has great reviews. We do not understand what has happened, but this was in all ways the worst hotel we have ever seen, in England or anywhere.

You are welcomed to the hotel by the most worn-out and filthy door mat you have ever seen. All the doors squeak loudly.

I mentioned to the staff that one could buy a can of WD-40 spray oil and fix the entire hotel in an hour. They laughed at me.

The bannister to the second floor feels like it will break off in your hands , if its squeaking doesn't drive you crazy first.

The restaurant is dismal. Over the waitress's workstations hang multiple spray cleaner bottles, as if the clientele is germ-infested: meanwhile all the windowsills are peeling paint and full of dead insects. Did they eat the dismal food?

The radiators are covered with spills, baked on now. Breakfast offerings were universally tasteless, completely tasteless, as if made to be so by some unknown process or decree.

In our bathroom, the shower diverter/mixer valve did not divert the water to the shower, nor mix the hot-and-cold water. So, in a shower, one's left foot boils, one's right foot freezes, and you get four drops to wash your hair. We told the staff of this problem in the morning. When we returned in the late afternoon she said she had passed on our comment, or words to that effect. She seemingly had no authority to actually fix this problem by calling a plumber. On checkout, our bill showed a balance owing even though everything was prepaid. The staff person had to be encouraged to call a supervisor to solve the problem. No apology was offered. Avoid this dismal establishment.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peterhugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Ely, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Thank you for bringing the issues you have raised to our attention. All feedback from our customers is welcomed so that we can pass these on to our teams to thank them if positive and also to put right the issues that you have brought to our attention. Our repair and maintenance teams have been instructed to pick up on the door mat, the waitress stations and to recheck the standards of décor and the radiators. The squeaky doors will be checked and oiled where required. Housekeeping will also be rechecking the number of bibles in the bedrooms. The Front of house teams have also been retrained to be less zealous on cleaning and clearing tables near dining guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yateley
0.6 mi away
The Casa Hotel
The Casa Hotel
#2 of 2 in Yateley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Sandhurst Hotel
2.8 mi away
The Kingsley at Eversley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 8 in Farnborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lismoyne Hotel
Lismoyne Hotel
#1 of 4 in Fleet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
3.4 mi away
Warbrook House
Warbrook House
#2 of 2 in Eversley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ely? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ely

Property: The Ely
Address: (A 30 London Road | Blackwater, Camberley, Yateley GU17 9LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Yateley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yateley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ely 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ely reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ely Hotel Yateley
Ely Hotel Yateley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing