We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Tasty Breakfast and good value”
Review of Harvester

Harvester
Ranked #17 of 18 Restaurants in Whiteley
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Lovely Tasty Breakfast and good value”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We went to the Harvester for breakfast sunday morning. The restaurant was lovely and clean, really nice clean toilets. The food was really hot, nice quick service and a very good price. We had one large breakfast which came with toast for approx £5.50, 2 breakfast baps the buns were toasted and the sausages and bacon grilled with a lovely flavour and one standard breakfast. The staff were extremely friendly and efficient.

I would recommend this Harvester to anyone as it is nice and bright and fresh.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaymad49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    93
    63
    64
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very poor service”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

arrived at 19:00 and there were 8 to 9 empty tables but still had to wait for 35-40 minuets with the staff wandering around not knowing what to do there were 3 other couples waiting in the bar in front of us all looking at the empty tables all thinking what is going on and the manager looked like he didnt now how to run a bath let alone a restaurant . The meal was ok apart from the steak that you could of re soled my shoes with so overall not very impressed

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank seashaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A well run ship.”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My wife and I made a spur of the moment decision to pop up to Whiteley and have a look around and grab a bite to eat given the whole centre had only been open a couple of weeks. We had a look at all of the restaurants and settled on the Harvester. It was a busy Saturday afternoon and I was fully aware it was a new restaurant with a new team of staff having to make it work.

And make it work they did. On arrival we were told there would be a 20 minute wait for a table so we settled down with a drink, but no more than two minutes later a courteous and polite waiter surprised us by saying he had a table ready and quickly ushered us to our table. An efficient young blonde waitress named Sophie looked after us really well and the food was classic Harvester, well cooked and presented. I watched the staff at work. They were constantly under pressure and didn't seem to have a minute to draw breath, but I was impressed with the way it was all kept under control, customers kept happy and a stream of impressive looking plates of food appearing from the kitchens and being whisked away to various tables.
This came across as a very well and efficiently run ship. The only slight criticism is that the design of the restaurant sees lots of tables packed into a tight space and I was almost elbow to elbow with the girl sat to my right and could hear most of her conversation with her boyfriend without even trying. But that's not the staff's fault. For what it is, this is a well run, value for money Harvester which has more than founds its feet. Worth a go.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We visited on Sat 8th June and it was very busy. Their was a 30 minute wait which is quite usual with harvesters. The food was delicious, and even though it was exceptionally busy the service was fast and efficient. Top marks to our waiter Sam who was very friendly and helpful. The salad cart was well stocked and constantly replenished. The harvester menu has a good selection for all ages and is excellent value for money. It was well worth a 30 minute wait and we would definitely visit again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cookiescabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad service, bad food”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Waited ages to be served, when the food eventually arrived it was over cooked and inedible had to be sat around so was sent back,


I have complained to harvester just awaiting a reply

Our advice is there's far nicer places to eat in whitely

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Benandkatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harvester also viewed

 
Whiteley, Fareham
 

Been to Harvester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing