We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch”

Skylark Golf and Country Club
Ranked #2 of 18 Restaurants in Whiteley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Top notch”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Food great, service great, wine cold, company good - Just a perfect Friday evening. The goatscheese raviolli is fantastic - Can't wait 'till next Sunday, going to try a roast.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank newski67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    44
    18
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Superb Sunday Roast”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Sunday 9th March. Looked forward to trying this restaurant after hearing and reading great reviews. We were not disappointed and can on reccomend it as it was superb in many ways. The food, presentation, service and restaurant itself was great. Can't wait to go back one evening and try their other menu.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic food, luckily our family create a lot of noise/atmosphere otherwise it would have been a bit quiet, music could do with being a bit louder.

However, it's the best food in Hampshire, the best views in Hampshire. A very exciting place and one to watch in my opinion.
I hope they keep up the amazing standards of food and service.

Helpful?
2 Thank Jsk0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good food but not much atmosphere”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We chose this restaurant based on Tripadvisor reviews. The food was excellent and the service was good. We enjoyed the evening and we will go back.

However, although there is no real criticism of the restaurant the welcome area and bar lacked atmosphere and sophistication which did not compare well with the prices charged. I suppose we should expect this as it is a Golf Club but with prices like this I think they need to make the Reception area more welcoming (there was no welcome) and the Bar less club like and more sophisticated.

The wine list was very poor. No quality classic wines such as good white Burgundy's, quality clarets or alternative French wines from the Loire, Rhone etc. The one we chose was good but I had never heard of it so no way that we were able to compare whether it was good value for money. Indeed for nonentity wines all were expensive. Our usual eating house is the Old House in Wickham which has a fine wine list, a more modest but interesting list and then the usual run of the mill modestly priced wines.

At this stage I will not recommend it to my friends who value sophisticated restaurants but it is easy to see how this restaurant could achieve that status. Go the extra mile folks!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank brian_pound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham
Level Contributor
208 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Excellent food and service. Although portions were on the small side, as is typical with nouvelle cuisine, they were well presented and the service was good. The only negative side is that whilst the restaurant was quiet when we started our meal, the ambient noise level was high at the end. Most of the noise can from a group of single-sex friends who were obviously having a good time, but noisy. However, I have still rated this as excellent.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kvukwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skylark Golf and Country Club also viewed

 
Whiteley, Fareham
Titchfield, Fareham
 

Been to Skylark Golf and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing