We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Foodie paradise”
Review of The Three Lions

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Three Lions
Ranked #1 of 1 Stuckton B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and had the pleasure of dining as well! The restaurant is fabulous, the hosts know their stuff and the food is incredible! Great wine list too. Quiet spot in a sleepy part of the New Forest, great gardens to lose an afternoon reading a book in!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aeparker81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 123 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We just had diner at Three Lions and it was perfect. Greeted at the door by a formidable hostess, we had our first drink sat at a comfortable little sofa munching over olives and nuts until we decided on our menu choices. As soon as the food was ready we were shown to our lab with fresh homemade bread awaiting. Not to bore you with poetic details, everything was brilliant: the goat cheese and sardines starters, the forest mushrooms and fresh flowers in the salad, venison and chicken mains with all their trimmings (celeriac mash, dauphinoise potatoes). No space to taste the desserts, I am afraid.
We loved and will be coming back for more soon. Thank you, three lions!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mnt199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Having stumbled on the Three Lions by accident when first coming to live in the area - listed with cat friendly rooms: very rare - we were delighted to find that the cuisine was the best we have had outside capital cities. On several subsequent occasions we have dined there and found the standard unvaryingly excellent. On the premise that you get what you pay for, one doesn't complain that it is an expensive evening out. In fact, having to raid the piggy bank from time to time makes the experience all the more valuable. This is a very speical occasion sort of place and I couldn't recommend it more!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have been visiting The Three Lions for many years and it is always a fabulous treat. Mike and Jayne are fabulous hosts, this is very much run as a family affair. Our room was absolutely stunning with a very comfy bed, lovely decor and finishing touches. Our room had a lovely balcony opening onto the garden. The weekend was very sunny and hot so what a treat to sleep in such peaceful surroundings hearing nothing but the birds. The food was fantastic, our fillet of beef was truly memorable, with a fantastic sauce and beautifully cooked vegetables. We enjoyed lovely wines and fantastic hospitality. This gorgeous place is a true gem of the forest. Thank you to Mike and Jayne and the family for making our stay as memorable as ever, a true treat.

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous, stunning garden views from all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alison1000Wiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at The Three Lions for one night over the bank holiday weekend and were thoroughly pleased with our choice. We were greeted on arrival with a complimentary glass of wine and were warmly welcomed by Mike. Our room was huge with a fantastic bath and shower - perfect for soothing the aches of an active day in the countryside!

The conservatory was the perfect place to spend the last hours of daylight as it remained toasty warm when outside had begun to get cooler and the gardens were a lovely place to lay my head in the sunshine while I waited for my other half to finish his packing!

Mike and Jayne couldn't have been more friendly, ensuring we had all the alcoholic drinks we required before they clocked off for the night and letting us have a late check out so I could have a shower after a morning horse ride.

The only disappointment was that we did not get to sample Mike's fine cooking however that just gives us a good reason to return!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We booked in here as it was listed as dog friendly,with lovely rooms and a former Michelin starred chef. The food was some of the best we've tasted and the Jane and the staff were very welcoming and attentive, however the whole visit was slightly marred by the room.

We have been to 'dog friendly' accommodation before and they have had little dog treats, doggy towels etc available, but there was none of that here. Basically it was 'dog friendly' because you could have a dog in your room (and in the conservatory), but nothing else. Therefore the £10 per night dog supplement was a bit of a cheek.

The room was clean but quite basic. Towels were hard & rough, the biscuits on the tea tray were close to their best before date and a bit soft & stale and the local information brochures were all from 2006!! Not helpful.

If Mike & Jane paid as much attention to the rooms as they did to their restaurant they would be onto a winner, but sadly the room was overpriced and a let down. We spoke to another couple as we were leaving and their thoughts echoed ours.

Room Tip: Eat here but maybe stay in one of the hotels in nearby Fordingbridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
micky321, Owner at The Three Lions, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

We are perplexed,99% of customers say at £10 we are the one of the most reasonably priced dog friendly hotels in the forest.It barely covers the extra valeting we do to be hygienic.Many charge £20 plus,per dog,per night!,We do provide all we can when asked,free of charge,like bowls,towels etc,
I even cooked diced fresh steak M/Rare for a Great Dane once!
All rooms were redecorated in 2012,vi sprung beds,silk curtains,axeminster carpets,Luxury Border biscuits(dated Dec 2013),all top quality furnishing.We are a country restaurant with rooms not a boutique hotel,and we are pleased you loved the food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We booked in for 2 nights and whilst the welcome we received was warm and friendly, the quality of the accommodation was not what we expected and rather disappointing. The room wasn't particularly clean (a few dog hairs on the bed) and a pet hate of mine is coloured towels, which in this case, had seen better days. The room rate included continental breakfast which was fine, a nice fruit plate and nice quality bread etc. Having to decide the night before what time we wanted breakfast and what we wanted for breakfast was a little unusual and there was no menu to choose from, just continental or cooked!

However, when we called late in the evening to ask if some wine and glasses could be left in the conservatory for us to have on our return from a birthday celebration elsewhere, they were more than happy to oblige.

Clearly the 3 Lions prides itself on its restaurant and we didn't eat there so I can't comment on the quality of food. I feel they are missing a trick by neglecting the rooms and the restaurant itself. It all needs updating and modernising to keep pace with the competition. The pricing of rooms is pretty top end for the quality of accommodation offered.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
micky321, Owner at The Three Lions, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Your kind comments of our out of hours extra service were appreciated,not so the inaccurate ones about our rooms.I suggest you read the many reviews prior to your maiden voyage into journalism & I also suggest the alleged "two dogs hairs"could have been from your friends dog who was also staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stuckton
0.0 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
407 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ormonde House Hotel
Ormonde House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Lyndhurst
473 reviews
0.0 mi away
Augustus John
Augustus John
#2 of 12 in Fordingbridge
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sandy Balls Holiday Village
Sandy Balls Holiday Village
#2 of 14 in Fordingbridge
477 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Compasses Inn
The Compasses Inn
#1 of 1 in Damerham
132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Little Hayes Guest House
Little Hayes Guest House
#4 of 22 in Lyndhurst
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Lions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Lions

Address: Stuckton, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Fordingbridge SP6 2HF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Fordingbridge > Stuckton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stuckton
Price Range: $128 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Three Lions 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Three Lions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Three Lions Hotel Stuckton
The 3 Lions

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing