We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A tale of two halves” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Three Lions

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Three Lions
Ranked #1 of 1 Stuckton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A tale of two halves”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We booked in here as it was listed as dog friendly,with lovely rooms and a former Michelin starred chef. The food was some of the best we've tasted and the Jane and the staff were very welcoming and attentive, however the whole visit was slightly marred by the room.

We have been to 'dog friendly' accommodation before and they have had little dog treats, doggy towels etc available, but there was none of that here. Basically it was 'dog friendly' because you could have a dog in your room (and in the conservatory), but nothing else. Therefore the £10 per night dog supplement was a bit of a cheek.

The room was clean but quite basic. Towels were hard & rough, the biscuits on the tea tray were close to their best before date and a bit soft & stale and the local information brochures were all from 2006!! Not helpful.

If Mike & Jane paid as much attention to the rooms as they did to their restaurant they would be onto a winner, but sadly the room was overpriced and a let down. We spoke to another couple as we were leaving and their thoughts echoed ours.

Room Tip: Eat here but maybe stay in one of the hotels in nearby Fordingbridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
micky321, Owner at The Three Lions, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
We are perplexed,99% of customers say at £10 we are the one of the most reasonably priced dog friendly hotels in the forest.It barely covers the extra valeting we do to be hygienic.Many charge £20 plus,per dog,per night!,We do provide all we can when asked,free of charge,like bowls,towels etc,
I even cooked diced fresh steak M/Rare for a Great Dane once!
All rooms were redecorated in 2012,vi sprung beds,silk curtains,axeminster carpets,Luxury Border biscuits(dated Dec 2013),all top quality furnishing.We are a country restaurant with rooms not a boutique hotel,and we are pleased you loved the food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    23
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
25
55
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We booked in for 2 nights and whilst the welcome we received was warm and friendly, the quality of the accommodation was not what we expected and rather disappointing. The room wasn't particularly clean (a few dog hairs on the bed) and a pet hate of mine is coloured towels, which in this case, had seen better days. The room rate included continental breakfast which was fine, a nice fruit plate and nice quality bread etc. Having to decide the night before what time we wanted breakfast and what we wanted for breakfast was a little unusual and there was no menu to choose from, just continental or cooked!

However, when we called late in the evening to ask if some wine and glasses could be left in the conservatory for us to have on our return from a birthday celebration elsewhere, they were more than happy to oblige.

Clearly the 3 Lions prides itself on its restaurant and we didn't eat there so I can't comment on the quality of food. I feel they are missing a trick by neglecting the rooms and the restaurant itself. It all needs updating and modernising to keep pace with the competition. The pricing of rooms is pretty top end for the quality of accommodation offered.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
micky321, Owner at The Three Lions, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Your kind comments of our out of hours extra service were appreciated,not so the inaccurate ones about our rooms.I suggest you read the many reviews prior to your maiden voyage into journalism & I also suggest the alleged "two dogs hairs"could have been from your friends dog who was also staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, Staffs
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed for one night - our room was upstairs. It had everything we needed. A nice comfy bed, tea and coffee making facilities with biscuits, en suite with a good shower and bath. A few little extras like the magazines and toiletries were nice touches. Everything was spotlessly clean. We had our two dogs with us and they were welcomed. It would have been nice to have a garden room, but we booked quite late so they were probably full. There is a large heated conservatory where you can sit and take dogs if you wish - they are not allowed into the main restaurant and bar area. There is a charge of £10 per night per dog.

We had an evening meal in the restaurant. It is quite quirky and a bit of a time warp, but the service was very welcoming and attentive without being obtrusive. The food was good too - we particularly enjoyed our starters - soup and the wild mushroom salad, which were both delicious. The mains were good but a little rich for our liking. We shared a desert which was griddled pineapple and liquorice ice-cream - this was delicious too. It was expensive, but the quality was above average so you get for what you pay for.

The inclusive breakfast comprised cereals, fresh fruit salad (which was beautifully presented), toast, croissants, pain au chocolate, jams, fresh orange juice and a choice of tea or coffee. We chose to pay a bit extra for scrambled egg and bacon.

Jane made us feel very welcome. We would definitely like a return trip.

Room Tip: I would prefer a garden room next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We visited on Sat 16th March for a celebratory dinner for 4 people. I had the Galette of Smoked Haddock to start which was very flavoursome. If I returned, it would be very hard to choose another starter when this one was so good. I followed this with duck - cooked exactly as requested accompanied by an excellent selection of vegetables. My final course was the hot chocolate pudding which was also delicious. Whilst only 2 of us had coffee, they extended the petit fours to all four of us which was a nice touch, and means that I can also vouch for the chocolate truffle. The service was good and non intrusive. Can't wait for another celebratory occasion (it is expensive so unfortunately cannot be an every day meal out).

Room Tip: we didn't stay - just had dinner
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

From Friday evening when we arrived to Sunday when we left we really enjoyed our stay at the Three Lions Restaurant with rooms in Stuckton near Fordingbridge.
Our garden room was very comfortable and clean, excellent on suite shower / bathroom and bedroom with super comfy double bed and loads of hanging space / storage. TV, and tea making facilty plus biscuits!
Meals in the restaurant deserve a special mention here.
Cooked breakfast was worth the small extra charge for one of our days, Continental breakfast was inclusive with choice of cereals, fruit even porridge if you wanted plus many other extras.
We were out and about during the day but returned to...
Great choice of evening meals which were delicious from starter to pudding followed by coffee. Evening drinks available included local beer, a choice of house wines by the glass or bottle or a wide range of (more expensive) bottled wines from the wine menu.

Finally this review is really just to say a very big thankyou to Jayne and Mike and all the hardworking staff who made our valentines weekend very special indeed.

Room Tip: There is a choice of larger rooms set in the garden area which are my personal favourite as they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had the most fantastic stay here.

Were trying to choose a hotel close to Sandy Balls for a one night stay before our three day weekend and was I pleased we chose The Three Lions.

The room we had was beautiful - enormous comfy bed, lovely furniture, little sitting area, french doors out to the garden with a hot tub!!

The food in the restaurant was out of this world - we raised an eyebrow at the prices as they were a bit steep, but wow - what an experience. The owner is a Michelin starred chef - nice.

The breakfast was fantastic and included in the room price.

A fabulous hotel - thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizald5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were seeking a hotel for an overnight stop on the way to a conference in Bournemouth and not wanting want of the City Centre Hotels. The Three Lions proved to be an absolute gem. The host was extremely helpful and the hotel was easy to find despite the slightly off track location. We had a first floor bedroom with a balcony overlooking the courtyard. The room was well appointed with coffee making facilities and bottles of water. The ensuite was amply sized with a great shower and thoughtful extras for the traveller. The restaurant offered a good range of dishes using local produce to suit most tastes. Breakfast was excellent with plenty choice and a great fruit salad. We will definitely be going back but for a few days next time to enjoy this wonderful country location and hospitality.

Room Tip: Easy access lower rooms in both the main building and courtyard. Our room was on the first floor up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Euan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stuckton
0.0 mi away
Eastclose Hotel
Eastclose Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hinton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.0 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.0 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Lions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Lions

Property: The Three Lions
Address: Stuckton, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Fordingbridge SP6 2HF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Fordingbridge > Stuckton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stuckton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Three Lions 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Three Lions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Three Lions Hotel Stuckton
The 3 Lions

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing