We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chris and Sue's valentines weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Three Lions

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Three Lions
Ranked #1 of 1 Stuckton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Chris and Sue's valentines weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

From Friday evening when we arrived to Sunday when we left we really enjoyed our stay at the Three Lions Restaurant with rooms in Stuckton near Fordingbridge.
Our garden room was very comfortable and clean, excellent on suite shower / bathroom and bedroom with super comfy double bed and loads of hanging space / storage. TV, and tea making facilty plus biscuits!
Meals in the restaurant deserve a special mention here.
Cooked breakfast was worth the small extra charge for one of our days, Continental breakfast was inclusive with choice of cereals, fruit even porridge if you wanted plus many other extras.
We were out and about during the day but returned to...
Great choice of evening meals which were delicious from starter to pudding followed by coffee. Evening drinks available included local beer, a choice of house wines by the glass or bottle or a wide range of (more expensive) bottled wines from the wine menu.

Finally this review is really just to say a very big thankyou to Jayne and Mike and all the hardworking staff who made our valentines weekend very special indeed.

Room Tip: There is a choice of larger rooms set in the garden area which are my personal favourite as they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    23
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
25
55
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had the most fantastic stay here.

Were trying to choose a hotel close to Sandy Balls for a one night stay before our three day weekend and was I pleased we chose The Three Lions.

The room we had was beautiful - enormous comfy bed, lovely furniture, little sitting area, french doors out to the garden with a hot tub!!

The food in the restaurant was out of this world - we raised an eyebrow at the prices as they were a bit steep, but wow - what an experience. The owner is a Michelin starred chef - nice.

The breakfast was fantastic and included in the room price.

A fabulous hotel - thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizald5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were seeking a hotel for an overnight stop on the way to a conference in Bournemouth and not wanting want of the City Centre Hotels. The Three Lions proved to be an absolute gem. The host was extremely helpful and the hotel was easy to find despite the slightly off track location. We had a first floor bedroom with a balcony overlooking the courtyard. The room was well appointed with coffee making facilities and bottles of water. The ensuite was amply sized with a great shower and thoughtful extras for the traveller. The restaurant offered a good range of dishes using local produce to suit most tastes. Breakfast was excellent with plenty choice and a great fruit salad. We will definitely be going back but for a few days next time to enjoy this wonderful country location and hospitality.

Room Tip: Easy access lower rooms in both the main building and courtyard. Our room was on the first floor up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Euan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sopley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Had been told about this family run establishment with strong reviews... we were not disappointed.
The menu is very seasonal and of local produce. My Father, who was a chef in the past, gave me the eye of approval within seconds. The bill was leaning towards the higher end but credit where its due the service, food and overall experience was terrific. Will look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdenBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We arrived in Stuckton (The New Forest) on Thursday evening looking for accommodation for one night. The setting is tranquil and on the edge of the New Forest. Mike, the owner and chef, showed us to our room (the only one left that evening). Our room was set in lovely lush tranquil gardens. It was very large with a huge double bed and a big sofa. The bathroom was also spacious. The style of the room was the 'English Country look'. We were not looking to pay as much as we did for a room that evening. However, we soon realised that the standards of the entire establishment and the friendliness of all the staff commanded the price we paid. The food in the bistro-style restaurant was superb - we would highly recommend the sea bream for a main course.

The only slight downside was that the bed was made up with a winter quilt, which made sleeping a bit uncomfortable as it was rather hot.

However, we can highly recommend this 'Restaurant with Rooms'.

Room Tip: Our room was called the 'Willows'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Honeypot66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

I had a fabulous overnight stay last week here. Arriving at lunchtime, Jayne welcomed me and booked me in. I had some fresh mushroom soup and homemade bread for lunch and was tempted by a beautiful pudding as well, no good for the waistline, but great for the soul. The room was very comfortable, super double bed, and very spacious bathroom with a drench shower. Breakfast was the full English, beautifully cooked and presented, just lovely, will definitely stay again, its a gem.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richardw12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We have stayed several times, the latest was the weekend of 8/9 Sept 2012. Food was fabulous and the welcome from Jane and Mike was as warm as ever. Mike is a great chef and produces some outstanding dishes (try his smoked haddock gallette and the "lamb with crispy bits"). The rooms are comfortable with good-sized beds, the usual tea and coffee facilities and a sitting area with arm chairs. The location is on the edge of the New Forest, ideal for a weekend exploring the area. Similar places are sometimes "stuffy" and formal. The 3 Lions manages to provide a relaxed and informal atmosphere whilst delivering a very high standard of food and service. We will return.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a good standard. Three have French doors opening onto the garden where there is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sixtiescouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stuckton
0.0 mi away
Eastclose Hotel
Eastclose Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hinton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.0 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.0 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Lions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Lions

Property: The Three Lions
Address: Stuckton, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Fordingbridge SP6 2HF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Fordingbridge > Stuckton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stuckton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Three Lions 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Three Lions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Three Lions Hotel Stuckton
The 3 Lions

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing