We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most enjoyable stay ever in UK”
Review of Peat Spade Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Peat Spade Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stockbridge
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Seriously well run village gastro pub/ rooming house. Simple room with comfortable bed - nice shower room ( everything worked correctly ) and fresh milk for tea/coffee provided as well as bottled water. The evening meal was delicious - whitebait super fresh in just a touch of divine batter, skirt steak just right. Ben, the manager and his staff got everything just right - always around, helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alfredoaslami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 217 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2014

This is the third time we have visited the Peat Spade, both last year and this year for my husbands birthday. With a trip in between to introduce some friends who joined us this time. The rooms are lovely, not huge but are furnished to a high quality with things like free bottled water, nice to feel like ones hosts aren't just watching the margin all the time. The restaurant which is in the bar, is the highlight. Lovely food, fresh, interesting and tasty. A good variety of choices on a not overly long menu. Wine selection again interesting. Outside they have a fire put for snuggling round and some tables in a lovely courtyard. Breakfast is amazing, fresh again, including the bread which is homemade. What makes it however is the service, really nice people who enjoy their work ( or behave like they do) and can't do enough for you. Our friends stayed up till abt 2 am and the manager was happy to stay with them and be back for breakfast! Finally for me one of the most important, they are super dog friendly. Our dog has a lovely time too!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MaryT99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We couldn't fault this special little pub, the accommodation was cozy, modern, clean and luxurious for a pub. The pub itself was very welcoming and the service and selection of drinks was superb, we especially enjoyed our meal, its so refreshing to be sever excellent quality food in a pub.
We will defiantly return if possible.
Tracey and Keith- Hampton

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw looked lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Booked this place with friends as it was recommended for a special treat. We booked the table and asked for menus to be emailed us, to be told the menu was on the website. We logged on and printed off the menu one week before to make sure they offered something we all liked, so we chose our starters and mains the week before. On arrival the menu was totally different, and not that good - no fillet steak on offer any more so that was my treat totally axed! We managed to order something "that would have to do" but we're disappointed. The food was ok but nothing special.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank iainm281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Deciding we would check out what the pub was like that we always saw advertised on the Andover Stockbridge road - what a find!

The weather was lovely so we sat outside and there is a fabulous sunken seating area with fireplace I should imagine for those wanting a smoke it would be a perfect outside retreat in the evening.

The tables inside looked lovely, classy but authentic and they specialise in holding a large choice of gins. I had a crab starter it wasnt cheap at over £9 but crab never is and there was two decent quenelles of white crab meat it was served a la carte style and had a lovely flavour of chilli and lime. My partner had watercress soup with an egg which was surprisingly delicious.

For main we both shared the pork - wow belly pork that was so succulent with a little pulled pork crisp and chorizo pieces. You won't get nicer food in a top restaurant. The girls that served were delightful, friendly and helpful. Most enjoyable find and will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vtcgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night for a wedding nearby. Relatively small, but very nice room with a beautiful bathroom. Fridge in room (including juice, water and milk), unfortunately no remote control for TV (we only noticed late at night so didn't mention until check out). Room was very hot - but it had been trapping the sun all day. Breakfast was good. Expensive place, even for a Saturday night in June, but a lovely area and overall a very nice B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattDavies2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We visited for lunch today and we loved it....hubby and I both opted for the two course lunch menu a bargain at £14. Everything was absolutely delicious and the young bar and waiting staff were attentive and charming. The pub is very tasteful in period colours and a mix of traditional tables and chairs which creates a lovely atmosphere. Only wish it was on our doorstep!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockbridge
3.8 mi away
The Grosvenor
The Grosvenor
#2 of 2 in Stockbridge
477 reviews
6.1 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,147 reviews
4.8 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
2,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel
9.2 mi away
Esseborne Manor
Esseborne Manor
#1 of 1 in Hurstbourne Tarrant
696 reviews
8.5 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peat Spade Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peat Spade Inn

Address: Peat Spade Village St | Longstock, Stockbridge SO20 6DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Stockbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stockbridge
Price Range: $104 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Peat Spade Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peat Spade Inn sits in a picture postcard setting in the beautiful village of Longstock in the heart of Hampshire. Located in the Test Valley, less than a mile from Stockbridge - the fly fishing capital of the world - the rivers and downs surrounding the inn are home to some of the best fishing and shooting opportunities in the world making The Peat Spade Inn an inviting refuge for country sport enthusiasts. After a long day enjoying the outdoors, head back to the inn to rest your feet, sit back and relax with a freshly poured pint of Upham real ale. With the Test Way passing close by, The Peat Spade is a popular retreat for walkers to stop by en route to refuel with some fabulous pub food. It's a great stopover too for those visiting the nearby historic cities of Winchester and Salisbury. This charming country pub is just an hour's drive away from London and the New Forest and provides the perfect place for a spot of lunch, a delicious dinner,a drink or two in the idyllic Hampshire countryside or somewhere to stay the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Peat Spade Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peat Spade Hotel Stockbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing