We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A tale of two barstaff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Peat Spade Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Peat Spade Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stockbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A tale of two barstaff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

This was our watering hole 3/4 of the way round a very nice walk. Longstock is a lovely village and the pub looked delightful, which it was. Two staff were running the show one tall and slim with a smile, one short and slim with a scowl such that were there ever to be the rare moment that a smile might occur we could see a crack would appear simultaneously. Such a shame. Anyway after being miserably told we could set up a tab but I would have to give my card over if we sat in the garden off we went to said garden - which was a real suntrap, lovely with a peculiar sort of fire-pit thing in the middle which I bet is great in the evening.

Menus had some nice sounding dishes so we all plumped for starters with some (horrifically expensive) chippies. Miss Frown came out with the dishes and provided a nice counterpoint to the sunny day although there could have been a vestige of a smile, not sure.

However, the food was absolutely brilliant. Not expensive and the taste was excellent, all plates cleared and the chippies were on the money too.

Total cost was about £55 for 4 of us including drinks which was not too bad, but I didn't tip because of Miss Miserable. Sorry but these days I expect the staff to be out of this world, which I have to say is our experience generally.

I think the dining room would be a great place to eat and certainly the main meals seemed attractive and again not crazy prices, but not cheap.

Might go back for dinner one evening, hopefully when sunnier countenances are on show - by the way the other lady was very chirpy, she needs to infect the other one a bit, well a lot actually.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank C4LWX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    39
    19
    18
    14
See reviews for
30
91
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We choose the Peat Spade to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary with a dinner with a group of friends. We booked the private dining room on the first floor and used the terrace for a champagne reception and the service was first class.
We had agreed in advance on a selection of four starters, main courses and desserts and there was something to suit all tastes. A good range of wines too.
Charlotte did a great job in looking after us from start to finish and was efficient and unobtrusive throughout the evening.
The whole event was a complete success and everyone was highly complementary of the atmosphere and the quality of the food. It was just what we wanted. F Milton

Room Tip: We would recommend booking the Mayfly Mess for a private dinner. It made all the difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrazerMilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst fishing. The manageress was nothing but fantastic. Polite, helpful and incredibly efficient. Amazing food, service and extremely comfortable rooms. I can highly recommend this pub.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathy061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We live locally and are blessed with a number of good pubs in the area and the Peat Spade is consistently right up there at the top. My wife and I have eaten here on several occasions this year and both meal and service was consistently really good. Good menu and wine list, Food delicious, cosy atmosphere,and staff attentive without being intrusive. Have also had couple of family dos here and upstairs function room ideal for these, with excellent buffet. Don't take my word for it go try yourself you wont be disappointed.
Jeremy K

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed over the weekend of a friend's wedding. Aesthetically, the pub and rooms were lovely, and supper on the first night was excellent. Full breakfast was cooked to order, fresh and filling, though a little more in the way of cereal or even porridge would have been appreciated. Even more so, even a single piece of fruit either in the room or with breakfast would have been thoughtful. Sandwiches ordered the following day were fairly basic and I was perhaps not unreasonably surprised to be charged £10 for two small egg mayonnaise portions stretching just shy of two slices of bread!
Generally, the stay was fine, but the staff were on several occasions less than helpful; the first night, enquiries about another of our party whose flight into the country had been delayed were met with unyielding adhesion to a set locking up time beyond which one of us would have to stay up to deliver her room key. Only one of the five or six bedrooms occupied by our party were serviced on the second day, meaning that we returned late after the wedding reception to wet towels and unwashed cups, and the explanation that we were at fault for not leaving our keys (despite our aiming to save the staff waiting up for us, and our not receiving any instruction about leaving them) was at best tenuous.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SW2013-84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Two of us drove out to this beuatiful village for lunch. We had a superb lunch. Everything was excellent... Food, drink, service, ambience. It is a mystery to us how so many negative reviews have crept into this listing.
Do not listen to them. Just go, and judging from our experience, you willl not be disappointed.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Justin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Throughly enjoyable Sunday lunch - superb food and catered well for children. The only part that dulled the whole experience was the waitress upon taking our pudding order. Upon one of our party asking for 1 scoop of ice-cream to accompany her sticky toffee pudding, the waitress replied, 'You can't have that on a Sunday'. It was quite unbelievable. As most people would probably agree, sticky toffee pudding is fine on its own, although the majority of people would prefer it with a little bit of ice-cream, or clotted cream. To be told, 'You can't have that on a Sunday' was extremely rude I thought.

My husband, not having heard the previous conversation, then also asked for ice-cream and received the reply, 'Mmm, I suppose you could have it, but it will cost you an extra £2.50'. At least he got a scoop, our friend still didn't, and of course we were charged the extra £2.50 for one small scoop of ice-cream.

It's a small point, but I do think that when customers are paying £100+ for lunch for 4, then it would be pleasant to at least get a small scoop of ice-cream to accompany the sticky toffee pudding.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BunnyPalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockbridge
3.8 mi away
The Grosvenor
The Grosvenor
#2 of 2 in Stockbridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
6.0 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
4.8 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Esseborne Manor
Esseborne Manor
#1 of 1 in Hurstbourne Tarrant
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
4.2 mi away
Days Inn Sutton Scotney North
Days Inn Sutton Scotney North
#12 of 13 in Winchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Star & Garter
The Star & Garter
#2 of 8 in Andover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peat Spade Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peat Spade Inn

Property: Peat Spade Inn
Address: Peat Spade Village St | Longstock, Stockbridge SO20 6DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Stockbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stockbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peat Spade Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peat Spade Inn sits in a picture postcard setting in the beautiful village of Longstock in the heart of Hampshire. Located in the Test Valley, less than a mile from Stockbridge - the fly fishing capital of the world - the rivers and downs surrounding the inn are home to some of the best fishing and shooting opportunities in the world making The Peat Spade Inn an inviting refuge for country sport enthusiasts. After a long day enjoying the outdoors, head back to the inn to rest your feet, sit back and relax with a freshly poured pint of Upham real ale. With the Test Way passing close by, The Peat Spade is a popular retreat for walkers to stop by en route to refuel with some fabulous pub food. It's a great stopover too for those visiting the nearby historic cities of Winchester and Salisbury. This charming country pub is just an hour's drive away from London and the New Forest and provides the perfect place for a spot of lunch, a delicious dinner,a drink or two in the idyllic Hampshire countryside or somewhere to stay the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Peat Spade Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peat Spade Hotel Stockbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing