We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food , Nice menu .”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stockbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Greyhound Inn at Stockbridge
Ranked #3 of 9 Stockbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Very good food , good quantitie, a good choice of wine from france and other countries . Price very reasonnable for the quality . The service good . Worth a visit to enjoy good quality food well served and well presented . Will go back anytime .

Stayed: August 2013
Thank skywalker063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
There are newer reviews for The Greyhound Inn at Stockbridge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 117 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had waited to go back to The Greyhound since it changed hands as we had heard very mixed reviews from friends. The restaurant was quite busy and so we were offered a table in the bar area. Our evening began quite well until a large group of the owners friends entered the restaurant and took there seats at the bar, they had obviously been drinking for some time and were loud, foul mouthed and just plain rowdy. The staff were also distracted by this group of people and the service seemed to grind to a halt. This was a mid-week evening and not really what we had expected. The food was ok but sadly the atmosphere was spoilt by the owners friends. This is a relatively small establishment bar and restaurant should not really be mixed. Won't be dashing back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank George301199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed two nights at the greyhound. The staff to a person could not have been more welcoming, friendly and helpful.
The room we occupied had been recently refurbished excellently. The en-suite bathroom contained the most modern fittings.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Digger577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We used to go to this pub before if closed for refurbishment and liked it because of the nice food and friendly service. We went back after re-opening at the end of June looking forward to a nice evening. The experience was appalling.

We were put in the bar area. The food took over an hour to arrive . We had no waitress service after we had our initial drinks and had to go searching to ask about the food. We found our waitress chatting to colleagues in the restaurant area. When the food eventually arrived it was tepid and uninspiring. We had asked for mustard and it was not delivered. Again the waitress was nowhere to be seen. We went searching for mustard and were giving a nearly empty pot.... I went to talk to the manager about the poor service and delay. She was unfriendly. She acknowledged the delay was unacceptable but that this due to the fact they had been very busy. I indicated that I would think twice about coming back. She told me that that would not be a problem, they had plenty of customers , turned her back and moved off ! I must say I find the management response appallingly rude and unhelpful. She could at least had said she was sorry.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alicia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We visited with friends and were celebrating. We thought the service well meaning but inept. The waitress could not pour the champagne at all, we had to take over as it ran down the glasses! Our starters were mixed, the crab starter was on huge slabs of bread and the trout starter was minuscule. We had a long wait between starter and main courses(which were good). Our table was in a real draught, the candle could not be lit, and though we mentioned it three times and closed one window ourselves to no avail, we remained uncomfortably cool. There was no decaf coffee. We won't be rushing to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Grannyglam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I have just spent an evening and night here, before a days fishing nearby. Dinner and breakfast were excellent. The room was large, very clean and very comfortable. They prepared a super hamper for our picnic lunch. Staff are very friendly and helpful. All in all an excellent place to eat and/or stay

Room Tip: I had room 7 which was to the rear and good-sized.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodstock1721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We spent a very enjoyable family weekend here, lovely food and comfortable beds. The staff and the owner made us most welcome. It has a relaxed atmosphere about and is an ideal place to chill out. A walk along their piece of the River Test was fascinating. If you looked for a fault you could say it was a bit noisy due to the bar downstairs and traffic in Stockbridge street, but that would be unavoidable. I will visit there again as it was fun.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the rear of the building for a quieter night.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tigermothAshfordKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockbridge
0.1 mi away
The Grosvenor
The Grosvenor
#2 of 2 in Stockbridge
457 reviews
3.8 mi away
Peat Spade Inn
Peat Spade Inn
#1 of 2 in Stockbridge
206 reviews
5.7 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
2,210 reviews
8.6 mi away
The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie
10.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#4 of 13 in Winchester
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greyhound Inn at Stockbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greyhound Inn at Stockbridge

Address: 31 High Street, Stockbridge SO20 6EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Stockbridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Stockbridge
Hotel Class:4 star — The Greyhound Inn at Stockbridge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Greyhound Inn At Stockbridge Hotel Stockbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing