We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Greyhound Inn at Stockbridge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stockbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Greyhound Inn at Stockbridge
Ranked #3 of 9 Stockbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Lucy's done it again - from The Hotel Du Vin, to The Peat Spade and now: The Greyhound on The Test - a great success.

The old pub has been turned from a well presented but empty boozer with a very good but unsupported kitchen, into a simply lovely upmarket pub / restaurant / B&B.

It has all the trappings, a genial and genuinely welcoming host, attentive and charming staff, great food, considered wines, comfortable interiors, great atmosphere, no-nonsense rooms, a decent sized car park, River Test frontage and fishing, and all reasonably priced..



My only complaint is that it'll no doubt, and quite deservedly, get busy..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gonewest2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    26
    6
    10
    7
See reviews for
22
36
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

I would like to endorse the full review written by LondonUKjohnW; our experience was much the same. From the initial telephone booking, through arrival and the stay itself, we found this inn very attractively decorated, impeccably clean and universally staffed by charming, polite and helpful people, at every level. Dinner was delicious and served in the restaurant which had a lively ambience. Lucy went out of her way generously to accommodate our friend's complicated arrangements - and sympathetically treated us suffering from post-wedding hangovers...one of the best small hotels I've stayed in recently. Bravo!

Room Tip: Because of the age of the building, rooms over the bar are a little noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann-MarieinYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Lucy Townsend has worked the magic on the Greyhound that she did with the Peat Spade Inn some years ago. She has brought her flair and professionalism to the design of the Hotel - for instance, there is a wonderful Victorian Picnic hamper decorating the dining room!

The dinner was excellent. An interesting wine list supplied by a neighbouring wine merchant. Quite a few unfamiliar names so well worth taking advice and exploring.

The whole establishment has had a top to toe refurbishment. Our room (2) just felt fresher than before. There is a large and enthusiastic team working at the hotel - I have memories of just two people trying to serve a group of 20 Belgians as well as other diners!

The Hotel/Restaurant now rejoices in the full title of "The Greyhound on the Test". I think that Lucy has taken the adjacent fishing in hand - so you should be able to enjoy the evening rise with a glass of wine! It has already, in the course of five or so weeks, attracted a large clientele so booking in advance will become essential.

A very welcome addition to Stockbridge which is generally going up in the world. The renovated Town Hall has removed a longstanding eyesore.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonUKjohnW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We revisited this establishment today and found the quality of the refurbishment excellent . The young lady who works in the bar and restaurant is a delightful asset to this hotel. However we were not impressed with the person who sat at the bar, who we presume was the new owner, reading the newspaper and totally unfriendly, we were disappointed, as this is a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank visitingcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockbridge
0.2 mi away
The Grosvenor
The Grosvenor
#2 of 2 in Stockbridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
3.9 mi away
Peat Spade Inn
Peat Spade Inn
#1 of 2 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
5.9 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greyhound Inn at Stockbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greyhound Inn at Stockbridge

Property: The Greyhound Inn at Stockbridge
Address: 31 High Street, Stockbridge SO20 6EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Stockbridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Stockbridge
Hotel Class:4 star — The Greyhound Inn at Stockbridge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Greyhound Inn At Stockbridge Hotel Stockbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing