We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food”
Review of The Grosvenor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grosvenor
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stockbridge
Kent
Level Contributor
155 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here again as wanted to visit the Patrick Lichfield exhibition at mottisfont! close by. Check in was very good. Friendly lady. We ate here both nights and the food was excellent. Chef has a light touch. Hot food and chilled wine. Breakfast was also superb. Lovely scrambled egg and the smoked salmon was lovely. The male waiters were excellent. Enough time between starters and main. Very cheerful and lovely personalities. Sorry can't say that about the female waitresses. They need to learn to smile and be more attentive. The beds are huge and comfortable. Good quality sheets and nice towels. We were in the annexe. There is a lot of wear and tear in this hotel and could probably do with a complete refurbishment. Saying that everything works and the room was warm. Also this probably reflects in the price we paid. We are already looking to come back in the summer.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank angie60Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    147
    95
    56
    29
See reviews for
62
207
16
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I have stayed here 3 times and each time I have been more than happy. No cause for any complaints, clean rooms, good food. Bar prices a bit high but not too bad. Look forward to coming again on my next business trip down here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

A work colleague got married here and they appeared to have had a nice time. We were invited to the evening function but the wedding breakfast had run behind schedule so the staff were busy clearing the room for the evening disco when we arrived at the allotted time. This left a lot guests to jam the corridors and bar area, as there was limited seating and nowhere else to go. However, the bar staff were very good in trying to serve everyone, even though the prices were more like London West End!
We and others arriving for the evening had nowhere to hang our coats as the hotel did not have a cloakroom or any other facilities to store visitors clothing, which i find strange as it is an hotel that offers non resident facilities like weddings, meals, etc.
The buffet was very good and the overall service was good with pleasant staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

stayed here for business trip, found hotel on this web site thought give it a go, worth it found staff very helpful, room was very large a little tired in decor but overall very clean. food good but could do with bigger portions.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mossey58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed for just one night on a Saturday and found it a nice place to stay, it's one of those slightly faded hotels that could probably do with a refurb, but I quite like that.

Our 'superior' room was a good size and over looked the garden, a bit tired in places but everything worked. Service was good and the ( very busy ) staff were all pleasant and friendly, we ate in the restaurant and the food was OK, but nothing special, good value for a hotel though.

Overall a comfortable and characterful hotel, but if you're used to ultra modern or boutique type places, look elsewhere. We'd definitely go back.

Room Tip: Try and stay in main (old ) building, rather than modern annexe at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gordonrgs37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We went to Stockbridge for a Sunday outing and thought we would try this hotel for lunch. The potatoes were from frozen, the beef was a little tough and the veg was a bit soggy. Veg is so cheap to buy and why restaurants don't ever give you enough is beyond me.! The horseradish was also bland.

We arrived at 12.15 so you would have thought that this would have given them time to vacuum the floor from the night before. There were coins on the floor by the edge of the bar, a broken glass and beer stains. My first impression should have told me that the food would not have been that great. Even dirty cups and saucers were left on the table.

Would not recommend or go back !

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank SammersSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stockbridge hotels

Bungay, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2014

A lovely comfortable hotel set in picturesque Stockbridge. Made to feel at home as soon as we arrived, staff very friendly and helpful. Food was very tasty. Had the best nights sleep for a long time in crisp white sheets. Wonderfully hot shower. No airs or graces just felt perfectly comfortable. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilla Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockbridge
3.8 mi away
Peat Spade Inn
Peat Spade Inn
#1 of 2 in Stockbridge
198 reviews
6.3 mi away
Best Western Andover Hotel
7.1 mi away
Days Inn Sutton Scotney North
Days Inn Sutton Scotney North
#13 of 13 in Winchester
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
2,101 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Star & Garter
The Star & Garter
#2 of 8 in Andover
235 reviews
5.8 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor

Property: The Grosvenor
Address: High Street, Stockbridge SO20 6EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Stockbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stockbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grosvenor 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Hotel Stockbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing