We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding Venue of choice.”
Review of The Grosvenor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grosvenor
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stockbridge
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wedding Venue of choice.”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We looked around for value and location before deciding on the Grosvenor. We were not disappointed. We stayed for 2 nights, had 3 planning meetings prior to the occasion and it ran like a well oiled machine. We knew what we wanted, we got what we asked for, and more. From recommendations on flower and room decoration providers, to what needed to be done when. The staff went about their business in a discreet and professional manner, where nothing was an imposition. The whole day went without a hitch, food, function room, DJ, all very impressive. We gave them the tools, they did the job! Thanks to all for a perfect day. Wholeheartedly recommended!!

Room Tip: Try room 16 (suite) for the big wooden 4 poster!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gary k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    146
    92
    55
    29
See reviews for
61
204
16
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We only spent one night at this hotel and that was enough. We had a superior double and being called this they should be done for trades description. the double bed was two singles pushed together, the room was very tired and dated, room furnishings that must have been 20 years old, bits missing, handles hanging off and more knocks than a banger car! and for this privilege it cost £94. Breakfast took 30 mins to turn up from the time of ordering and the excuse for this was "The wedding party all came for breakfast at the same time and we only have one chef on this morning" I am no hotel manager but even I would have thought that we need staff to cover a wedding party. This hotel really needs to spend time and money updating its rooms and then it could have a 3 star rating.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gazski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stockbridge hotels

Alresford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We held our Wedding ceremony, breakfast and evening reception at the Grosvenor in Stockbridge Hampshire. The hotel offers 3 different tier packages with the option to host a Civil ceremony if you want to do it "all under one roof". We opted for the Gold package which included a 4 course meal hire of a function room and an evening Disco.

The staff were friendly flexible and helpful in the months leading up to our event in getting the venue and various suppliers organised. They also provided us with a rooming list for our family guests and were on hand via email and phone to answer any queries or questions.

The wedding breakfast was delicious and well priced. The Bar had 3 real ales as well as the normal lager and stout offerings.

Not only were we impressed but our guests who stayed for the breakfast and overnight commented on how smooth everything went. One of the advantages of doing everything all under one roof!

The rooms are good and what you would expect for a 3 star hotel, I thought the beds were on the soft side, however we both got a good nights sleep after a busy day!

Breakfast the next morning was great, a full English was included in the price - including coffee and tea refills.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA U.S.A.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My wife and I just spent 5 nights in the Grosvenor House J.W. Marriott. We are extremely pleased will all aspects of our stay at this wonderful hotel bordering on Hyde Park, London. Every aspect of our stay was handled by hotel staff with precision, accuracy and polish. Our executive room was large, spotless, quiet and perfectly situated on the floor housing the Executive Lounge which we used frequently. The Executive Lounge staff was as good as I've experienced in using Marriott's worldwide over a 45 year period. The service was so good in the Executive Lounge as well as everywhere else in the hotel that I was prompted to write directly to the Hotel Manager to tell him so and to ask him to thank his staff for us.
We ate in the hotel's J.W. Marriott Steak House and were extremely pleased with the food and service. Before bed after being at the theatre we usually stopped at the lobby bar for a drink and dessert. Again, service and food were of a very high standard.
Without question we will stay at this excellent hotel whenever our travels brings us back to London.

Room Tip: This hotel had only good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FRIARTUCK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK, Midlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

One of those "ye olde" feel hotels complete with creaky floorboards.

Free wifi in rooms via the cloud, need to register.

Not exactly 3 or 4 star, old furnishings but functional, room was dark, making the mirror in the room obsolete. Good strong shower with hot water. Wash basin could do with being changed out for one with mixer taps. Bed comfortable.

Good picture on TV with full freeview channel choice.

Breakfast was standard self service cold buffet with hot items including toast having to be ordered.

Interesting experience with evening meal. Upon arriving, asked receptionist, if I needed to booking for evening meal. She told me not to. Ok. When I went down to eat, the bar attendent said reastuarant fully booked, I could eat in bar. They do same menu in both. Having eaten in bar, the restuarant was never full !!! How odd !!

The food choice is good, with a good vegetarian choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hits67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ampthill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Grosvenor ( an Old English inn ) in a premier room.It was large, with a very comfortable bed a couple of arm chairs too.There was a vent from the kitchen outside the window, but you didn't hear it if you kept the window closed ( it did go off at about 10pm )
The breakfast was very good , and much better service than a lot of Old English Inns.We ate in the restaurant both nights, and although a bit on the basic side, the food was good quality and good value for money.Nice bar area , although could do with a bit of a spruce up.There was a wedding on the Saturday night, but because the function room was at the far emnd of the hotel it didn't bother us.Parking is free and plentiful.Overall a good base for Winchester, Salisbury,Romsey etc

Room Tip: If staying on a Saturday, ask if there is a wedding, and if there is, book a room at the other end o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

If you are looking for a budget stay in a lovely village, the Grosvenor Hotel should be considered. The rooms are older in style and, as we were in an 'annexe' of accommodation at the back of the hotel, not elegant at all. It was not unpleasant, though, with views over the gardens and an ensuite bathroom. Access was through an all-weather glass 'conservatory' style walkway, complete with tables and chairs for drinks with garden views. We found the hotel meals to be excellent and not expensive - we ate in the hotel restaurant. Breakfast was included in the room tariff and consisted of a help-yourself buffet, followed by a full cooked breakfast, in the restaurant area.

Stockbridge is a very pretty village and a walk around it is worthwhile, with many interesting country style bric-a-brac and art stores and little streams running through the village. Include a walk into the Common Marsh where the river Test flows.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ennayd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockbridge
3.8 mi away
Peat Spade Inn
Peat Spade Inn
#1 of 2 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
5.8 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
8.0 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Star & Garter
The Star & Garter
#3 of 8 in Andover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
8.5 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
8.6 mi away
The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor

Property: The Grosvenor
Address: High Street, Stockbridge SO20 6EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Stockbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stockbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grosvenor 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Hotel Stockbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing