We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well placed and comfy”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Grosvenor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grosvenor
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stockbridge
nottm
Level Contributor
214 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Well placed and comfy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Right in the centre of the village, on a main street by River Test lined with nice independent shops, a few pubs and cafes. Well-maintained old hotel - my single room was not ready when I arrived, so I was upgraded for free to a superior room - very nice! Helpful and professionally run. Good breakfast!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    146
    88
    54
    29
See reviews for
60
200
16
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

I love Stockbridge and have driven through it many times over the years, and vowed to stay at the Grosvenor. My daughter is getting married in June, so we decided to have a mother and daughter break. This hotel is very good value, our room was a little tired looking, but had all the facilties we needed. It was lovely and warm as was the hot water (at all times). Tea and coffee facilities, a very good hairdryer and ironing board and iron were all in the room. I have paid a lot more for a break away and not had any of those extras.
The food was of excellent quality and very reasonably priced. Stockbridge has a few fine eateries with prices to match, but the Grosvenor was more that adequate,both for evening meals, breakfast and wines. We were not at all disappointed with this hotel.

Room Tip: We were in room 19, which overlooked the street. The noisiest thing was the person/persons in the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillianlinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Grosvenor, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Congratulations on your daughters forthcoming wedding. Many thanks for posting your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be of service to you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We had our 2nd visit to the Grosvenor last weekend which was another enjoyable stay.

Location is good, and parking is easy and free (some at the front of the hotel, and some in the car park at the back)

Stockbridge has lots of nice little shops to browse in too.

Really friendly staff, excellent meal in the evening, comfy room and great breakfast. What more can you ask?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Grosvenor, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we have passed on your compliments to our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

A good price in a lovely setting, breakfast was nicely done and if 28 other guests on a Monday night in early March are any indication then it is doing the job well.

However, room 20 does suffer from noise until about 10;45 at night, some sort of fan that runs persistently and is intrusive.

In detail, some of the wallpaper could also be better hung and the door lock had seen better days.

Ordering the evening meal at the bar I then returned to order a dessert, unfortunately coordination between or in the kitchen failed and the dessert arrived first. It was however removed and fresh dessert presented when required so no real complaint, just a background glitch in the organisation.

Would I go again, yes, it is good value, full of character and nicely presented.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeinfranceSavenay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Grosvenor, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to let us know your thoughts and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Spent a few night here recently. Like a lot of these old inns it can be a bit tatty round the edges, but far better than average; and with helpful staff, good plumbing, warm, plentiful parking and WiFi. The food is also good.

Room Tip: The 'superior' rooms are very spacious, but not really any difference in quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jangala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

under new management its agreen king now no more fine dining my starter was aubergine in batter but so burnt when cut with fork it turned into ashes mains no better lamb shank poking out of mash with peas wines have changed too husbands meal no better over £60.00 for two and wasnt asked if we enjoyed our food

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Grosvenor, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We are sorry that your visit didn't live up to your expectations and that you didn't enjoy your meal with us. We always try to both cook, and present our food to perfection, our team have been rebriefed with your comments in mind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stockbridge hotels

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

My partner and I were looking to buy a property in Stockbridge and on a whim decided to stay a Grosvenor 1 night as a base to explore the surrounding area - big mistake. The room felt dirty (we had dead spiders on the shower ceiling for example) and the rest of the hotel felt really run down and tatty (items of furniture were badly damaged and decor tired). Our room smelt of cheap air freshener and the bed gave us both a chronic back ache due to the 'valley' in the middle of the mattress.

Helpful?
Thank 308Dizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Grosvenor, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Sir/madam,
Thank you for your feedback , we are sorry that your visit to the Grosvenor hotel was not up to your expectations. We endeavour to try and keep all our rooms to a high standard of cleanliness. We are undergoing a rolling re-decorating programme of which the bar and rooms are a major part…thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockbridge
3.8 mi away
Peat Spade Inn
Peat Spade Inn
#1 of 2 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
5.8 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
8.0 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Star & Garter
The Star & Garter
#2 of 8 in Andover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
8.5 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
8.6 mi away
The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor

Property: The Grosvenor
Address: High Street, Stockbridge SO20 6EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Stockbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stockbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grosvenor 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Hotel Stockbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing