We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location and all mod cons and creature...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Barns in the heart of the Test Valley Luxurious large double ended roll top bath
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
The Old Barns in the heart of the Test Valley
Luxurious large double ended roll top bath
Triple aspect views from the vaulted and beamed open plan lounge/kitchen/diner.
Alfresco dining on the south facing balcony or watch the sunset with a glass of wine.
The french doors into the bedroom of Damson Cottage
Rustic styling on the solid oak doors
The Old Barns courtyard.
Sunset at The Old Barns
Local walks - in the early winter sun.
Local walks - accross the rape fields.
Lillies on our pond.
Fly fishing on the River Test.
Horsebridge - 1 mile along the Test Way (The John O'Gaunt pub can be found here)
The River Test at compton's fly fishing.
The Old Barns in the snow.
The River Test at Houghton.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Stockbridge, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sophia L
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location and all mod cons and creature comforts”
Reviewed June 4, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Lovely private setting in courtyard. Generous decor and creature comforts. Deluxe beds and linen. Beautiful bathroom and tub. Fabulous open plan living space in loft area. Loads of room. Kitchen fully equipped. Spacious grounds for energetic children and a stones throw from Test Way for walking/cycling. This was second visit with 3 children and will return again. Highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spaciousness and standard of property
Liked least: Wifi not accessible and mobile phones intermittent due to poor signal.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2014
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again. Rob and Sarah.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vince B
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Fabulous”
Reviewed June 4, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This was our third visit to The Old Barns and we enjoyed every minute. Great accommodation, very clean and spacious, and wonderful hosts. The local area has great walks from the door step and it is very easy to access the New Forest/Test Valley. We will return very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Living area and balcony.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2014
Always lovely to see you both and thank you for your lovely review. It is lovely that our guests enjoy the accommodation and want to return. Hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Rob and Sarah.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markwilso...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely escape”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

A lovely little place, nestled in the test valley approx 8 miles from the new forest. Some great local walks and plenty more within a short drive. Great accommodation with full kitchen etc, very comfortable bed and spacious entry for muddy feet. One large barn divided into 4 apartments. Although there are close neighbors we didn't hear anything. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2014
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your lovely review. It is always nice to hear that our guests like our accommodation and the local area. Hope to see you again. Kind Regards, Rob and Sarah.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S
Aldershot, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent place just to get away!”
Reviewed February 28, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

The Barn was perfect and catered to our every need! The apartment is very clean with lots of space and light. The bathtub was amazing and I had one of the best baths in my entire life! The barn is a little hard to find if you go by Satnav in the dark. However the owners were perfect and helped us find our way in seconds. The fresh eggs left were very tasty and a lovely touch.

The owners were perfect and welcoming even fitting to our arrival needs due to work commitments. They were so friendly and on site. However I must add that they are close enough should you need them. But far enough away to give you your own space.

One of the bet getaways we have ever had! Thank you for having us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bathtub!
Liked least: Not having enough time to stay there!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 7, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. Rob and Sarah.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natalieis...
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little Gem in a gorgeous location”
Reviewed November 20, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

I stayed at The Old Barns at the end of October with my mum and we were very impressed with the accomodation. We stayed in Cottage 1 which was the bigger of the cottages available. It was spacious and homely and the decor was to a high standard. Especially loved the bed and the bath was amazing! The views from the cottage were lovely and nice to wake up to every morning. We came with our 11 year old Golden Retriever and there were plenty of walks nearby for us to take him on along the Test Way as well as plenty of dog friendly pubs which was a massive bonus. Would recommend The Three Cups Inn in Stockbridge for food, a bit pricey but definitely worth every penny. The Owners were very welcoming and we even enjoyed a night with them cooking on their pizza oven which was fab! Will think of you guys when we are next staying in the area.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 7, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. It is lovely to hear such positive feedback and hope to see you again. Rob and Sarah.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vince B
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

You know when you find somewhere perfect and cannot wait to return, well this is it. Great hosts with the time to welcome you properly and they have made the cottages very stylish and comfortable.

We would like to keep it a secret from the rest of you but Sarah and Rob deserve commendation for the time they have spent making the cottages ideal to take a well earned respite.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lounge,Bedroom,Kitchen and balcony.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 7, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. It is so lovely to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Even if other people hear about us I hope that your stay will always feel special. Hope to see you again. Rob and Sarah.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutandAbo...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect place to stay with so much on the doorstep to enjoy”
Reviewed October 2, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We made a last minute booking and were fortunate they had had a cancellation. On arrival we were made very welcome and were shown to our barn. The accommodation was spotless and had a lovely balcony over the courtyard where we enjoyed a glass of wine before heading out for a walk. Unfortunately, the place we were heading to did not serve food that evening so we had a long walk back.

Only downside on arrival back from our walk was that the balcony had no privacy and we ended up with the neighbours on one side trying to join our evening.

The honesty box for essentials is a lovely touch as were the eggs.

It was just a shame our stay was not long enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, welcome by owners, cleanliness
Liked least: Balcony area can be accessed by neighbour - not ideal if not part of your group.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 7, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. The balcony areas are normally quiet and people normally keep to themselves, but we are currently working on alternative outdoor seating areas, so hopefully you will always be able to find a private area to yourselves. Hope to see you again. Rob and Sarah.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing