We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect place to stay with so much on the...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Barns in the heart of the Test Valley Luxurious large double ended roll top bath
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
The Old Barns in the heart of the Test Valley
Luxurious large double ended roll top bath
Triple aspect views from the vaulted and beamed open plan lounge/kitchen/diner.
Alfresco dining on the south facing balcony or watch the sunset with a glass of wine.
The french doors into the bedroom of Damson Cottage
Rustic styling on the solid oak doors
The Old Barns courtyard.
Sunset at The Old Barns
Local walks - in the early winter sun.
Local walks - accross the rape fields.
Lillies on our pond.
Fly fishing on the River Test.
Horsebridge - 1 mile along the Test Way (The John O'Gaunt pub can be found here)
The River Test at compton's fly fishing.
The Old Barns in the snow.
The River Test at Houghton.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Stockbridge, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
OutandAbo...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect place to stay with so much on the doorstep to enjoy”
Reviewed October 2, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We made a last minute booking and were fortunate they had had a cancellation. On arrival we were made very welcome and were shown to our barn. The accommodation was spotless and had a lovely balcony over the courtyard where we enjoyed a glass of wine before heading out for a walk. Unfortunately, the place we were heading to did not serve food that evening so we had a long walk back.

Only downside on arrival back from our walk was that the balcony had no privacy and we ended up with the neighbours on one side trying to join our evening.

The honesty box for essentials is a lovely touch as were the eggs.

It was just a shame our stay was not long enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, welcome by owners, cleanliness
Liked least: Balcony area can be accessed by neighbour - not ideal if not part of your group.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 7, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. The balcony areas are normally quiet and people normally keep to themselves, but we are currently working on alternative outdoor seating areas, so hopefully you will always be able to find a private area to yourselves. Hope to see you again. Rob and Sarah.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thyme138
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding Accommodation in the Test Valley”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We were welcomed warmly by the owners, nothing was too much trouble and they went out of their way to help us with any requirements we had during our stay. Great kitchen facilities, spacious lounge and dining area and the balcony is great when the weather is good. Lovely walks nearby. Very quiet and peaceful. Thoroughly recommend The Old Barns for anyone wanting a relaxing break in the country.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sun on the balcony !
Liked least: The rain !
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 7, 2014
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your lovely review.
We hope to see you again soon. Rob and Sarah.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cees H
Hengelo, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A great little cottage”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

What a lovely place this is! A nice place to stay in the country, but not too far away from Winchester, Salisbury and the New Forest. The owners Rob and Sara are really very concerned with your wellbeing, providing milk and eggs on arrival and offering advice on what to do. Again, if you`re looking for peace and quiet, this is it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: laid back atmosphere
Liked least: the bed and mattress
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 7, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. As you mention we are located less than 30 minutes from Winchester, Salisbury and the New Forest, so lots to see and do. Hope to see you again. Rob and Sarah.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smantha
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Lovely rural location”
Reviewed August 7, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

My parents and I stayed here for a month due to moving house. The owners are very friendly as I their dog. The cottage its self has all the equipment you need from a washing machine, dishwasher, washing tablets, tv and stereo. The only problem we found was that as we were staying in the heat wave the upstairs was unbearably hot. The bedroom is downstairs with a bathroom then upstairs in an open plan kitchen/lounge with balcony. I love the honesty box idea although we never used it, you could get fresh eggs, milk and wine. When you first arrive fresh eggs and milk are given for free which I thought was a nice touch.
The area itself has lovely walks along the river or to the pub and local villages.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 7, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and hope that you have settled into your new house. I am sorry the upstairs was so hot during your stay, but it was an exceptionally hot summer and the French door onto the balcony face south. The heat is not normally a problem, but we will look to see if there is anything we can do to improve this, should we have another hot summer. Hope to see you again. Rob and Sarah.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirstt203
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing accomdation, Lovely People”
Reviewed July 24, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We stayed at The Old Barns for a weekend with our dog. The accomodation is really nice, modern yet still has a traditional feel, very clean and set in a lovely country setting. Perfect for country walks and relaxing. The owners Sarah and Steve were lovely, very welcoming and we even stayed up to have a few drinks with them one evening. We cant wait to go back and see the progress with them accomodation they are currently modernising.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 7, 2014
Thank you for you lovely review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We have now moved into phase 1 of our new build and you can look at the pictures on facebook if you are interested - please just search for The Old Barns. Hope to see you again. Rob and Sarah.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pearlfish...
Sevenoaks District, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Escape for peace and comfort in the Test Valley”
Reviewed June 10, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Caught some rare sunshine on the balcony. The bedroom below with a comfortable king-size was a pleasant retreat. Rabbits and chickens on the lawn, owls and bats at night. The test way is close by, you can reach the river in either direction in about a mile on foot or bike. Pubs and Mottisfont Abbey are also easily reached. Our object was fly fishing and our hosts have plenty of info, but you do need to book in advance.
The dining table sits six so, you could share meals there with friends or family next door. The fresh free range eggs are fabulous.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace, quiet, beams, bed, bath
Liked least: Lack of wi fi and O2 is poor
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and you had a fantastic week of lovely weather and good fishing. Look forward to seeing you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vince B
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Wonderfully relaxing stay and a stunning cottage”
Reviewed June 5, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We only stayed one night in cottage No 1 but would have loved to have stayed longer. The cottage is fabulous, with everything you could possibly need and to a very high standard. The eggs and milk on arrival and the local information was very much appreciated. We will definitely stay again and will recommend it to our friends and family for a relaxing stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size, location and quality of the accommodation
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing