We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Tranquil”

Longstock Water Gardens
Attraction details
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Nice and Tranquil”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My Wife and I visited the garden yesterday. The garden is open on the 1st and 3rd Sunday of the month from April to September so we guess this was the last one for this year.

Although a lot of the plants had already gone over, those that were in bloom were superb. The gardens around the lakes are crammed full of gems and certainly inspire you to pick up the trowel and get busy in your own garden.

Our only complaint was that nobody told us it was a good 10-15 minute walk uphill through the main gardens of the stately home to the tea shop & nursery. Once we'd struggled up there (have difficulty walking), we saw lots of cars parked and found out that we could have driven via the public road! Why didn't the staff on the entrance tell us?!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank warthog4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    14
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“very good walking round to see such a garden brill.”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

owned by the john Lewis group it is kept very well indeed and you can walk up across the road to the bigger grassed area and cafe and garden centre for small and big plants for sale, sunny days better, if i remember it is open end of certain months, some shops in stockbridge do have the open times and days.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank paulspread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We thought these gardens were beautiful - very calming atmosphere. A wide range of planting creates a very tranquil feel

Helpful?
2 Thank Ruby067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durrington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Water gardens at their best”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

http://www.longstockpark.co.uk/
Off the beaten track and a part of the huge 3,750 acre Leckford Estate owned by the John Lewis Partnership and set in Longstock Park, these gardens are open every other Sunday from April to mid September and from 2pm - 5pm. Each open day has a particular charity that the modest entrance fee of £5 per person goes to.
The gardens are around 7 acres and the lakes, about 2½ acres, are fed by the famous River Test so are crystal clear. There are many varieties of fish as well as a large selection of interesting water plants, trees, shrubs and other plants. The International Water Lily Society calls it the best water garden in the world - some accolade, but well founded. Take your camera and allow around an hour or so to take everything in.
There are refreshments at the nearby garden centre, a short drive, and the modestly priced teas and cakes are provided by the local churches and refills of tea, coffee and squash are free! The cakes are delicious too...
An extremely enjoyable afternoon.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Merlin_de_Manaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Again by chance.”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We saw a flyer for this in The White Hart & thought it would be good. It was £5 each when we got there & we thought not really cheap. BUT, the gardens were sooo beautiful. The water lillies were pretty but the whole area was incredibly well planted, the colors were amazing. We went around several times. took loads of photos,still on the camera. Worth every penny & more. Didn't have time for tea,but sure it would have been good.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ndan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Longstock Water Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Longstock Water Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing