We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Indian Restaurant”
Review of Purbani

Purbani
Ranked #12 of 25 Restaurants in Stockbridge
Price range: $10 - $38
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian Restaurant”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We use this restaurant regularly and the food is always excellent. Aftie and Mintu are perfect hosts and always look after us very well.
We highly recommend this restaurant

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank visitingcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    37
    9
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not even close”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

This was highly spoken of by many people so myself and my fiancee went for dinner one friday evening. The gentleman who was our waiter was very blunt and gave across the feeling that he really didn't care and would rather we didn't bother coming. My chicken makhani was 5 measley pieces of chicken in a blended puree suitable for a baby but the split oil content would think that the baby would be on the way to a grade A heart attack. The portion of mushroom rice was okay but very small for the price.

I know Stockbridge is expensive but the likes of the Greyhound and delightful Three Cups Inn justify the prices you spend with their good portions and great food and polite conscientious service, there is no justification for the Purbani in terms of our visit. There are much better out there and they're the places that will get my custom.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edible-monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Super Food”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Food was excellent, service was good, its a very popular restaurant for takeaways as well.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank jimex3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best Indian in Hampshire!”
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Excellant friendly service, excellant food every time, you would be seriously bonkers to go anywhere else!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rod G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
108 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great quality Indian Food”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

This restaurant has been our local for many years and never fails to please. Whether it's a take-away or dining in, the dishes are well prepared and tasty; the ingredients come through with every mouthful. The staff are attentive and friendly, and the owner often visits the tables to check satisfaction.
We visited relatively late Saturday night and there were several tables vacant although one half of the restaurant was full. We ate the mixed Shaslik, with tender meat and salad; vegetable Biriani; Takka Dahl and Mushroom Bahji. It was really good. The draft Kingfisher lager was cold and inviting. All together a thoroughly good meal.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hampshirelass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Purbani also viewed

Stockbridge, Hampshire
Stockbridge, Hampshire
 
Chilbolton, Stockbridge
Stockbridge, Hampshire
 
Stockbridge, Hampshire
Stockbridge, Hampshire
 

Been to Purbani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing