We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Stockbridge
Post
Inbox
Search

“Nothing special.”
Review of Prego Deli

Prego Deli
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Stockbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $32
Description: Authentic Italian Deli restaurant serving a full menu of pasta meals, coffee, cakes, Italian cheeses and hams. The intimate dining area is ideal for a quick bite to eat or an enjoyable meal of fresh pasta, and delicious cakes and gelato. Relax and enjoy an Italian experience of great food and a selection of wines from the Lake garda area. Dog friendly.
Restaurant details
Description: Authentic Italian Deli restaurant serving a full menu of pasta meals, coffee, cakes, Italian cheeses and hams. The intimate dining area is ideal for a quick bite to eat or an enjoyable meal of fresh pasta, and delicious cakes and gelato. Relax and enjoy an Italian experience of great food and a selection of wines from the Lake garda area. Dog friendly.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Been there several times, it’s always busy, easy to see, one can’t miss it, expensive and nothing special at all.

Date of visit: December 2019
2  Thank Greta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidbY7184UC, Owner at Prego Deli, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Greta
Thank you for your review, I'm sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your time at Prego Deli, although it is good to hear that you feel we can't be missed, as we are located at the far west end of Stockbridge High Street. I agree with you that we are a busy deli as we continue to work hard to build a good reputation within the community.
However, I cannot agree with your expensive assessment, you do not specify what you felt was expensive? All our food is made fresh even our pasta is home made, it is rare to find a fresh pasta meal in Stockbridge for less than £10. Our wines, goods and coffee are all imported direct from Italy and are priced competitively.
We pride ourself on offering a unique dining experience with a relaxing atmosphere, that sees many customers returning and visiting from all over the country. You state that you have been several times, and yet despite being "nothing special" you keep returning so I am hoping that we must be doing something right.
Finally I do agree with you that when visiting Stockbridge Prego deli should NOT be missed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 225 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2020

Another delicious lunch from the specials board, meatballs for me and prawns for my husband. All freshly cooked, so good opportunity to sit back, relax, have a chat with Mandy, who makes time for everyone whilst Dave works his magic over the hot stove. Their enthusiasm for and love of freshly cooked Italian food is contagious - no pop and ping here.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jappieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidbY7184UC, Owner at Prego Deli, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our deli. It was a pleasure to meet you the other week and I am so pleased that you enjoyed our food. We look forward to seeing you soon. Kind regards Dave and Mandy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2019 via mobile

Visited lunchtime with friends who had been before. Excellent freshly cooked Italian food and great friendly service. Not too big a menu (which I like) but they were happy to do combinations from the ingredients if you wanted something slightly different. Good wine choice too. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: December 2019
1  Thank LeslieKing603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidbY7184UC, Owner at Prego Deli, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2019

Dear Leslie
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our deli, we are so pleased that you enjoyed the food and atmosphere, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Dave and Mandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2019

Popped in for a coffee at lunchtime - and seeing delicious-looking meals being served to other tables we couldn't resist ordering the sharing platter of authentic artisan Italian cheeses. Fantastic food, fantastic value.... and the coffee was great too!

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank trisha28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidbY7184UC, Owner at Prego Deli, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2019

Dear Trisha
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review of our deli. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the food and atmosphere and we look forward to seeing you soon. Kind regards Dave and

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2019 via mobile

I have been taking my elderly step father to Prego every 4-6 weeks for over a year now. He loves it as do I. Dave and Mandy are warm and welcoming and very considerate of individual requirements.
Dave’s gnocchi is to die for! A slight kick of chilli, the sweetness of tarragon and just a little touch of acidity (not sure what it is) all bought together with beautiful good Italian olive oil. Superb!

Date of visit: December 2019
2  Thank maryrC8591EI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidbY7184UC, Owner at Prego Deli, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2019

Dear Mary
As always it was a pleasure to see you both, we are so pleased that you continue to enjoy the food and atmosphere. Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review and we look forward to seeing you very soon. Kind regards Dave and Mandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prego Deli also viewed

Stockbridge, Hampshire
 
Chilbolton, Stockbridge
Houghton, Stockbridge
 
Stockbridge, Hampshire
Stockbridge, Hampshire
 

Been to Prego Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing