We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always 100%”
Review of The Poacher Inn

The Poacher Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Poacher Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Always 100%”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Come here at least a few times a month now. I have never been disappointed. Staff are always friendly and helpful. The food it always lovely. Couldn't put this place down at all to be honest.
Would definitely recommend the poachers to family's/couples.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    25
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
26
46
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

I booked a table for 15 for Sunday lunchtime today, we had excellent service and the food was great. The pub has a lovely welcoming feel about it and I would definately go back again. Prices are reasonable and it has a lot of space so you're not too close to the table next to you.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I recently took a friend to the Poacher Inn for a birthday meal. I found the pub on TasteCard, and the first thing I mentioned when booking was that I had a TasteCard; I was told this was fine. When the bill came, the waitress told me no restaurants take TasteCard in December, so I was forced to pay the full bill and embarrassed in the process. This is incorrect as only participating restaurants that specifically state the card isn't accepted in December are exempt and this was not the case for the Poacher Inn. I called TasteCard the next day and they told me that it wasn't their problem as, that morning, the Poacher Inn had pulled out of the TasteCard scheme. I pointed out that when I booked, and on the date we dined, the Poacher was still participating and therefore should have honoured the discount. In fact, they were still on the TasteCard website after having supposedly withdrawn that morning. TasteCard has no contract with participating restaurants and is basically toothless - they made no attempt to enforce compliance. However, the Poacher was at fault for not honouring the TasteCard booking and leaving me with an unexpectedly high bill. It undermines my faith in TasteCard, and I have no wish to return to or recommend a pub that selectively declines card or voucher schemes and is happy to misinform and embarrass its patrons.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthCoastKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

While looking for a Sunday lunch pub, I decided to take my elderly parents to the Poachers having never been to it before. From the moment you step in the door, you feel a great ambience, with a beautifully decorated , spacious dining area. We all had a roast dinner, not your usual meat and veg roast butch classier. The staff were very attentive. Excellent value for money and we will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Birdie0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Having not visited since this pub changed hands last year, we were surprised at just how superb the welcome and the food was. If you visited in the past, you probably would not have returned again, but let me re-assure you, this place is now excellent and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Buster_the_Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We enjoyed a three night stay during September at The Poacher Inn. Our room was above the front of the property (some minor traffic noise) and although it was not the largest of rooms it was furnished and cleaned to a very good standard. Breakfast was not the usual buffet style and was prepared individually and served to you at the table, limited choice but very nice. We had two evening meals in the restaurant during our stay and both were very good. All staff were friendly and helpful. Thank you, would stay again!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Experever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAMPSHIRE
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Very varied menu without being too fussy. Friendly, polite attentive staff. I had the fish platter, beautifully presented and full of flavour. My daughter had the duck which was extremely tasty. Very generous portions great value for money. Will definitely go back very soon.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank rugbyclown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Warnborough
4.1 mi away
Raven Hotel
Raven Hotel
#5 of 7 in Hook
470 reviews
4.9 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
1,324 reviews
3.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Audleys Wood Hotel
Audleys Wood Hotel
#3 of 13 in Basingstoke
748 reviews
8.7 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
4.8 mi away
Alton House Hotel
Alton House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Alton
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Poacher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Poacher Inn

Property: The Poacher Inn
Address: Alton Road | Hook, South Warnborough RG29 1RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > South Warnborough
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in South Warnborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Poacher Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Poacher Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing