We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Poacher Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Red Lion(Odiham)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tylney Hall(Rotherwick)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swan Hotel(Alton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Audleys Wood Hotel(Basingstoke)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveler rating
71
29
14
6
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
71
29
14
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubsunday roastgreat choice on the menucooked breakfast in the morningevening foodcooked to perfectionwatercress lineenjoyable staystayed one nighttea and coffeepoacherspintstarterslandladypubsensuitehampshire
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 126 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2013

While looking for a Sunday lunch pub, I decided to take my elderly parents to the Poachers having never been to it before. From the moment you step in the door, you feel a great ambience, with a beautifully decorated , spacious dining area. We all had a roast dinner, not your usual meat and veg roast butch classier. The staff were very attentive. Excellent value for money and we will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Birdie0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Having not visited since this pub changed hands last year, we were surprised at just how superb the welcome and the food was. If you visited in the past, you probably would not have returned again, but let me re-assure you, this place is now excellent and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Buster_the_Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We enjoyed a three night stay during September at The Poacher Inn. Our room was above the front of the property (some minor traffic noise) and although it was not the largest of rooms it was furnished and cleaned to a very good standard. Breakfast was not the usual buffet style and was prepared individually and served to you at the table, limited choice but very nice. We had two evening meals in the restaurant during our stay and both were very good. All staff were friendly and helpful. Thank you, would stay again!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Experever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Very varied menu without being too fussy. Friendly, polite attentive staff. I had the fish platter, beautifully presented and full of flavour. My daughter had the duck which was extremely tasty. Very generous portions great value for money. Will definitely go back very soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank rugbyclown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband and I went to The Poacher Inn today for lunch. The roast beef, together with the Yorkshire pudding, vegetables and roast potatoes were beautifully cooked and presented. The service was efficient and friendly and prices were reasonable. When we ordered our desserts we happened to mention that it was our wedding anniversary and one of our desserts came with "Happy Anniversary" inscribed in chocolate! What a nice touch from the Chef. We would thoroughly recommend The Poacher Inn and we will be back again long before our next anniversary!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank MTA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews