We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed for longer!”
Review of The Poacher Inn

The Poacher Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Poacher Inn
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Wish we could have stayed for longer!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I recently stayed a night here at the Poachers Inn. As soon as we entered the pub we were greeted by a friendly barman who was very attentive and warming throughout the evening, whilst we had food. We randomly booked a night here as we needed a place to stay after visiting Thorpe Park, we were very pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness and chic style of the rooms (because we have had some pretty bad experiences in the days prior to our stay here) Also, the facilities in the room were great, it felt like home from home. The food was another pleasing aspect to our stay. We opted for the salmon and the steak and they were both very tender and succulent (we're salivating just thinking about it!) We would definitely recommend this B&B to those looking for a clean room, friendly service and a relaxing stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WelshCouple8589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    24
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
26
43
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Wow, what a place. Stayed one night for business. Checked in V friendly staff, very comfy room and then the food just blew us away. What absolutely fabulous food, I cannot recommend this place highly enough

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Covbusinessman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

All that you would want from a B&B:
- a proper pub, with real ale on tap;
- comfortable rooms, nicely and simply furnished;
- excellent 'Full English' breakfast;
- staff were very welcoming and always friendly and helpful.
Easily accessible from M3

Quibbles:
- check-out time at 10.00am is very early - but since they serve breakfast till midday on a Sunday this wasn't a problem in practice as we sat down for breakfast after checking out.
- No phone in room so you have walk round to the front of the pub to contact reception

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKDjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was a last minute find as I read review on trip advisor , we stayed there for 2 nights , and we couldnt fault it, the food was Exellent, the staff we just so friendly and helpful and made you feel welcome.will definitely stay again :-) the only thing that we found a let down was breakfast, but hasnt put us off in anyway :-)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boldeyandpleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

House-sitting for friends in the lovely Hampshire village of S Warnborough, we walked to the 12C Anglican Church for Sunday services and stopped in afterward at the pub. We both chose the Sunday Roast of beef, Yorkshire pudding, root veg and accompanying green vegetable mixture. Service and food were delicious at an affordable price. We had leftovers to take home with us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nacka
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We randomly booked this B&B departing Abingworth via Chawton -Jane Austen's house; Winchester - Cathedral and a round of golf at South Winchester GC. We had to return the rental the day after and needed a room with a decent distance from Heathrow. The search engine suggested The Poacher Inn. What a surprise! Unusually friendly and welcoming staff. A varied menu offering everything you could wish for, especially if you are sick and tired of fish and chips. I had a delicious pasta with mushooms, chicken, goatcheese, sundried tomatoes, pine nuts. Yummie, served on warm plates with a warm and friendly smile. Excellent location and I definetely agree with earluier reviews. Tr this one!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisenNacka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We went to this pub for a family gathering and were not disappointed. The food quality was excellent and the service friendly and efficient. We did however share a seafood platter which was lovely, however it was served with just 4 pieces of bread despite the fact we had opted for the larger portion which was to be shared by 7. Four pieces of bread was clearly not enough when the platter included pate, but when we asked for more bread we only received 4 more half pieces which was just silly and resulted in us leaving most of the pate! The main courses were enjoyable and plentiful and the prices seemed reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBM1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Warnborough
3.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England
4.1 mi away
Raven Hotel
Raven Hotel
#4 of 7 in Hook
466 reviews
4.9 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Audleys Wood Hotel
Audleys Wood Hotel
#4 of 13 in Basingstoke
739 reviews
6.8 mi away
Lismoyne Hotel
Lismoyne Hotel
#2 of 4 in Fleet
674 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Poacher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Poacher Inn

Property: The Poacher Inn
Address: Alton Road | Hook, South Warnborough RG29 1RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > South Warnborough
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in South Warnborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Poacher Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Poacher Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing