We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly posh meal in charming setting”
Review of The Poacher Inn

The Poacher Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Poacher Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta GA
Level Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Surprisingly posh meal in charming setting”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

House-sitting for friends in the lovely Hampshire village of S Warnborough, we walked to the 12C Anglican Church for Sunday services and stopped in afterward at the pub. We both chose the Sunday Roast of beef, Yorkshire pudding, root veg and accompanying green vegetable mixture. Service and food were delicious at an affordable price. We had leftovers to take home with us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    23
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
26
42
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nacka
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We randomly booked this B&B departing Abingworth via Chawton -Jane Austen's house; Winchester - Cathedral and a round of golf at South Winchester GC. We had to return the rental the day after and needed a room with a decent distance from Heathrow. The search engine suggested The Poacher Inn. What a surprise! Unusually friendly and welcoming staff. A varied menu offering everything you could wish for, especially if you are sick and tired of fish and chips. I had a delicious pasta with mushooms, chicken, goatcheese, sundried tomatoes, pine nuts. Yummie, served on warm plates with a warm and friendly smile. Excellent location and I definetely agree with earluier reviews. Tr this one!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisenNacka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We went to this pub for a family gathering and were not disappointed. The food quality was excellent and the service friendly and efficient. We did however share a seafood platter which was lovely, however it was served with just 4 pieces of bread despite the fact we had opted for the larger portion which was to be shared by 7. Four pieces of bread was clearly not enough when the platter included pate, but when we asked for more bread we only received 4 more half pieces which was just silly and resulted in us leaving most of the pate! The main courses were enjoyable and plentiful and the prices seemed reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBM1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We turned up not knowing what to expect. We were more than pleasantly surprised! The welcoming atmosphere as you walk in, the tasteful decor and a great choice on the menu. I had swordfish which was amazing!
Unfortunately not enough room for dessert!!
We shall definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fudgeBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
153 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We have tried alot of places now we have the taste card but this is one I will return to again. Infact I am thinking of taking a group of friends for a Christmas meal.

The location is not too far from the hook junction of the M3, its plenty of parking and a garden to the rear with a kids play house for when we finally have some good weather.

Inside you notice the interior has been tasfully decorated and I found myself looking round and thinking how nice it was here. Just a shame that we were the only people there that night. This place should be more popular

We started with the baked camenbert packed with flovur and with fresh warm bread and then a pizza that tasted like we had been cooked a wood oven.

I would suggest everyone gives this place a try. I just hope the standard stays as high as it is now and we can manage to get a table next time we go.

I would also like to thanks all the staff that night who were all brilliant.

Would I make any changes. Maybe suggest they have Chef's specials board.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freckles22Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Loved it! Travelled from Australia to stay 3 nights, Kid friendly, service was first class, food was amazing and the rooms are gorgeous. It's situated central to all other towns and is only a short trip to the city. The area is beautiful and the people are welcoming, feel free to introduce yourself to the locals and they'll gladly help. A reflection of the Poachers inn. It's the perfect stay for any engagement.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emanddj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We met up with some family & friends that we had not seen for a long time. There were 12 of us & 9 of the party were staying in the new guest rooms. The general census was that the rooms were extremely comfortable & good value for money and breakfast was a great success.
The food we had @ dinner was delicious. The rack of lamb was so tender it fell off the bone & salmon & purple potatoes are well worth trying.
The restaurant was very busy when we sat down & we did have to wait a little while for the starters to arrive, but a member of staff did come over to apologize & the food arrived very soon afterwards.
It was a lovely evening catching up with everyone & hopefully it will not be too long before we can do it again.
Will definately go back to the Poachers

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue_jones41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Warnborough
3.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England
4.1 mi away
Raven Hotel
Raven Hotel
#4 of 6 in Hook
463 reviews
4.9 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Oakley Hall Hotel
Oakley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakley
1,109 reviews
5.3 mi away
Audleys Wood Hotel
Audleys Wood Hotel
#4 of 13 in Basingstoke
727 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hook House Hotel
Hook House Hotel
#6 of 6 in Hook
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Poacher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Poacher Inn

Property: The Poacher Inn
Address: Alton Road | Hook, South Warnborough RG29 1RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > South Warnborough
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in South Warnborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Poacher Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your The Poacher Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing