We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Visit”
Review of The Poacher Inn

The Poacher Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Poacher Inn
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“First Visit”
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

I have popped in for a drink on my way home many times but never eaten. Today my wife a I called in for lunch and have to say we thoroughly enjoyed it. Great home
made soup, beautifully cooked scallops and for main the chicken penne was lovely as was the duck wrap. The French Frys are to die for. This was something of a test and so we will be back for a try of the evening fare. Well done Poacher!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank eater1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    23
    13
    6
    5
See reviews for
26
41
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Very friendly pub. Full of friendly locals as well. Service was great and the food delicious. Very clean loos. A delight to visit. Not cheap but worth every penny. The ambience was lovely. Can't wait to eat there again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CassieSurreyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We visited The Poacher Inn for the first time last night. We are new in the area and so had no preconceptions whatsoever.

First impressions were of an old country pub consciously re-styling itself as a gastro-pub, but currently a little unsure of itself and of it's clientele. We were diners rather than drinkers, but were shown through to the lounge rather than the restaurant, past some frosty looking punters (regulars..?) supping ale at the bar.

The menu offered a lot, probably too much in terms of options - Sunday roast, seafood, burger or pizza anyone? - but ultimately the kitchen underwhelmed and under-delivered.

The roasted red-pepper soup was undoubtedly homemade, but was like molten lead in some places, stone cold in others, indicating it had been whacked in the microwave for re-heating. Likewise the confit was fresh from the fridge, and several degrees colder than the ambient room temperature it ought to have been served at. This would usually have affected the taste, but the confit was devoid of any, being the blandest I have tasted in a long while.

The pork loin was an improvement, but was unfortunately let down by the roast potatoes which were dry and tasteless, and also by the apple sauce which had clearly emerged from the fridge a few moments before being slapped on the meat. Again, the contrast between hot food and the stone cold accompaniments jarred on the palate.

The overall price of £31, including a couple of drinks, was reasonable enough, but given that the Poacher Inn is styling itself as a gastro-pub serving fine home-cooked produce, you don't really want to be reminded of the microwave and the fridge with every mouthful. The good news is that with a little more attention to detail with the preparation and presentation, mainly from the kitchen staff, then the Poacher Inn could become the gastro-pub it aspires to be. But now is the time to put this right.

I'm hoping that our first visit to the Poacher Inn will not be our last, but this will depend on subsequent reviews. Unfortunately it will be these that do the talking rather than the quality of the food we were served last night. It should be the other way around.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gemayze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Went there today for Sunday lunch. Newly refurbished, this place is great - although high end food so quite expensive.
Presentation is great and food full of flavour. Staff are pleasant and attentive.
Only minor critique was the roast potatoes were hard and unseasoned - needed some goose fat :)
Other than that an excellent place - will return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkDReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We live about 4 miles away and received a mail shot regarding the refurbishment/ new ownership and decided to give it a whirl! the menu is great and has a wide range of food that's not typical pub grub and is more varied (and high end) that was 4 weeks ago and we've eaten here 3 times since :) I didn't know till after i'd visited but it's the same chain as the wheelers arms near Reading, and the food, service and decor are all of the same high standard. The welcome was warm on each occasion, every dish (especially the mezze) we excellent, and every time it was PACKED!!! (we learnt our lesson and always go early to get a table now) by 8pm on a friday night they were turning people away! and not just one or two, we left by 8.45 and they'd turned about 15 people away! which for a country pub in these economically challenging times is really all you need to know!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FruitBat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We recently dined here for lunch with my mother in law and daughter and were given a very warm welcome from Matt and immediately shown to our table. The decor is very tasteful, bright and immaculately clean.
We all had starters which were well presented and good sized portions. The mains were so tasty and worth paying that bit extra to get such quality. The waitress was busy but very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. The owner came over to see that we were happy with the experience which was a nice touch.
We will certainly dine there again!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mumsy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We had heard about the refurbishment and takeover of this place and decided to pay a visit. We weren't disappointed. There's a lovely beer garden, the bar is spacious and the restaurant is decorated beautifully. The staff were very welcoming. The wine list is amazing and I enjoyed the pinot grigio I had. The food was delicious and the portions generous: we started with a smorgasbord (the Arabian mezze) to share, which was to die for. Delicious humus and mouttabel/babganoush, lovely bread, just perfect. I then had the risotto of the day which was salmon. It was so creamy and I would definitely choose to have it again.

All in all a great establishment. Up market, lovely food and atmosphere, and great staff. We will definitely be back.

It's getting busier as word spreads, so book a table if you're visiting on a Fri/Sat.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mcjools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Warnborough
3.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England
4.1 mi away
Raven Hotel
Raven Hotel
#4 of 6 in Hook
462 reviews
4.9 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Oakley Hall Hotel
Oakley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakley
1,108 reviews
5.3 mi away
Audleys Wood Hotel
Audleys Wood Hotel
#4 of 13 in Basingstoke
727 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hook House Hotel
Hook House Hotel
#6 of 6 in Hook
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Poacher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Poacher Inn

Property: The Poacher Inn
Address: Alton Road | Hook, South Warnborough RG29 1RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > South Warnborough
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in South Warnborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Poacher Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your The Poacher Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing