We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place continues to be a conundrum”
Review of Berties Restaurant & Bar - CLOSED

Berties Restaurant & Bar
Price range: $0 - $88
Cuisines: Mediterranean, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“This place continues to be a conundrum”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I'll start by saying I've never had a bad meal here. Occasionally ordinary, frequently good, never outstanding. I can only believe they change chefs and with that comes a standard change. My last visit was in the ordinary category. The service is always good, friendly, prompt and helpful. Squid starter was chewy and sparse and my fillet steak was just o.k. My guests were very happy with their pork, so on the night still worth a 4. Just.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peterrexwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunchaser56, Owner at Berties Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your complimentary review. The team of chefs have been together for 8 years and I would hope have got a really strong work ethic and pride in what they do. I'm sorry you felt the squid a bit chewy, is it not always a bit chewy? I suppose we can all have our off nights, maybe it was us or perhaps it was you? Let's hope that a return visit can restore your faith as the last thing we want is a customer being less than fully satisfied. I hope you will agree that our team are professional and charming and go out of their way to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable experience. Thank you for recognising their efforts.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    79
    27
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I found the service friendly, the evening meal was well prepared and the selection of drinks good. The full English breakfast was well prepared, though geared for those who perhaps eat less.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Westlawns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunchaser56, Owner at Berties Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your complimentary review. Our team are professional and charming and go out of their way to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable experience. Thank you for recognising their efforts.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Lovely food in a friendly atmosphere, albeit a bit rushed.”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We really liked this restaurant. The food was of a very high standard and well presented. The staff were all very enthusiastic and helpful. Despite there being a private function with 40 people in the adjacent room, the service kept up to a high standard. Our one and only criticism, and it transpires that we are not alone, is that within 5 minutes of being sat at our table and being handed menus, the waiter returned asking if we had made our choices. We asked for a drink first, which he agreed to but before leaving to get the drinks he asked again if we had chosen. We gave him our order and within 3 minutes, the starters arrived. Before we were half way through them, the young waitress returned to ask if we had finished. We sent her away. two more waitresses returned hovering looking anxiously at our dwindling starter plates. The instant we finished, the plates were whisked away and our main courses arrived within 30 seconds. My wife's venison was clearly overcooked and it was obvious that the dish had been reheated under a salamander grill. So she rejected it and they had to cook her another. It seemed that they were trying to get us out so that they could turn the table over to later diners but that turned out not to be the case as many of the tables were by now empty and not re-used. We did take it up with David, the owner when he came round at the end of our meal for a chat and he said that his chef had a reputation for going at warp speed all the time and that regular's knew to ask for a 10 minute break between courses. That didn't help us much and it detracted from an otherwise very enjoyable meal. Don't let this put you off, this is a very good place to eat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill2Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunchaser56, Owner at Berties Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your complimentary review. As you mentioned in your review, our kitchen team are very experienced and particularly on very busy nights, far too quick.
I'm very pleased however that you enjoy the food and like our restaurant.
Thank you for recognising their efforts.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Best wishes
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“What a mix!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Bertie's is a restaurant serving excellent food in pleasant surroundings and clearly a local favourite. It is also a hotel - of which more later.

Most visitors will be interested in the food which is imaginative without being overly fussy(check the on line menu for ideas). Portions are a sensible size, well seasoned and balanced. The pigeon breast starter was a particular star but all the food was a credit to the chef. The staff were friendly but it did become a little wearin to have the conversation interrupted regularly to check everything was ok. Positively annoying to be interrupted mid mouthful when a waitress leant across the table to place a card promoting the next "specials" event in front of us. If you're a local or have accommodation in the town visit to enjoy the meal. The Friday steak night with 2 meals and a bottle of wine for £30 is a steal.

A word of warning. The rooms are accessed via a grubby and steep staircase. Ours was noisy and tiny. Sold as a twin there was just room for 2 beds but no chair; the bathroom door was partially blocked by the small TV table and there was no blind or curtain in the bathroom - which entertained the builders outside. When we commented on check out we were told that this was the fault of the online booking agency! A room is either a double or not - in this case it wasn't!

Breakfast, again a credit to the kitchen, went a long way to improving our mood.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank FormerFlyer19560415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunchaser56, Owner at Berties Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Guest
We took on board your comments regarding the room you stayed in and have since completely refurbished it throughout, it is now beautiful and functional!
I'm glad you enjoyed dinner, that of course is our forte, the rooms were always a little forgotten, but no more.
If you would like to return we would be delighted to let you have a 50% discount on your room, email me for details.
Best wishes
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fabulous food at a very reasonable price”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Very welcoming staff who have just the right attitude. The food is brilliant too ! When we want to go somewhere special to eat in Romsey, its Berties we head to.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunchaser56, Owner at Berties Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your complimentary review.
We work hard to offer really good food and great value too….glad you enjoyed it!
Our chefs are dedicated and our front of house team are professional and charming and go out of their way to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable experience.
Thank you for recognising their efforts.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Berties Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Braishfield, Romsey
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing