We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Lunch”
Review of Berties Restaurant & Bar - CLOSED

Berties Restaurant & Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $88
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is an excellent place for lunch or dinner, excellent menu friendly staff. Tight entrance to car park. Don't this deter you well worth it when you get in. Excellent value.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paulsand186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    79
    27
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good, but not special enough to make us return in future”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This was a rare 'date' with my wife, having booked a babysitter, and Berties was chosen on a friend's recommendation.

After finding no info about parking on their website, we parked down the road near to Lidl (free at night) and walked to the restaurant.

The place was full, but not to the point of being unbearably packed in. The decor was bright and inviting, as was the welcome. Food delivery was reasonably paced, although trying to get service for additional drinks was a little frustrating at times.

The range available on the normal menu was reasonably good, with both a 'Simply Berties' fixed price option and 'Friday night steak night' offer also available.

The complimentary bread was a joke - 4 tiny slivers served in an over-sized Hovis tin.

The starter and main were well cooked and flavoursome. Unfortunately, despite clearly asking the waiter what came with my main course dish, he failed to mention the cabbage (which I would have asked to be swapped) and agreed that I should add a side of chips, despite the dish coming with potatoes (not mentioned on the menu or by him).

My cheesecake was warm and average, at best.

Most annoying was the fire alarm which went off five times over an hour. Once or twice is an irritation; more than that is a broken system which should be sorted. No goodwill gesture for the inconvenience offered either.

Conclusion: Resonable food towards the medium/expensive end of the range, but nothing special to make us go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank H0nestB0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Six of us had an excellent meal, service efficient, friendly and we were not rushed.

We all chose a different meal for the main course and it all arrived together, so no hanging around waiting for other meals to arrive.

Cheese was fantastic, from Isle of Wight, it was ripe and ready to eat, wasn't just taken out from the chiller, this was presented perfectly, along with enough biscuits, pickle, grapes, butter and a slice of fruit cake, perfect to finish my meal.

Will I return, you bet!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HampshireSweep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Don't understand the occasional negative comment about this restaurant Very good food, charming staff and service, exceptional value. What's not to like? Better than many London bistros.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jeffkwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I was here for a birthday lunch with family. It is a lovely little restaurant and there is really nothing that I could fault, the food was excellent, reasonably priced and there was plenty of it. The staff were friendly, attentive and delivered our food in a very timely manner. They also didn't mind us hanging around afterwards for a while for coffe and cake. If I lived nearer to here, I would make an effort to eat here regularly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ultrarun78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Berties Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Braishfield, Romsey
Sherfield English, Romsey
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing