We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic and dirty”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Romsey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Green Pastures Farm
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This was our first ever camping trip. And maybe I just don't gei
t the camping thing but 4 filthy showers for some where with two whole fields of pitches is just not good enough. They were really filthy and awful. The field was bumpy and had a muck heap in the corner. The second night we had a young group next to us who played very loud music and swore enormously. They then lit a fire using twigs and threw lighter fuel on it and it stunk and scared our children. They were still up at 2 am behind out tent screaming slamming car doors . Our kids didn't sleep and neither did we. Awful experience

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thefarmerswife2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
There are newer reviews for Green Pastures Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 72 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

A bit pricey for what it was, we thought £5 per day for electricity excessive (we wouldn't use £140 pcm at home ) toilets clean but need updating, I am sure in 1980,s when they were built they were very modern, but the thing that killed it (not the owners fault ) was the motorway noise ,we stayed on one of the hottest weekends of the year and had to sleep with everything shut to avoid the noise . Would we stay again , No , only due to the M27 noise 24 hours a day. The Vine pub down the road did very good food , but go early and expect a wait of approx 1/2 hour for food as their two eat for £10 is very popular.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerbut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Got a very friendly reception and directions to a local pub; told we could stay in either one of two fields.
Field we eventually chose had no caravans to spoil the view (we only have a tent) but plenty of Motorway noise from the M27.
Also children from a big party at the other end of the field (we WERE warned) were encouraged to shout and play football at 6 A.M. by a very inconsiderate father.
Toilet/shower facilities adequate - not a disaster but not brilliant either...
One night's stay cost us £18 for our pitch.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark_Phil66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

brilliant couldn't fault it very dog friendly, showers a toilets were very clean, didn't find traffic noise a problem . Walks along the common to The Compass pub were very pretty, and the pub serves excellent food at reasonable prices, we loved our stay so sis the dog , will defiantly go back

Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank loublou25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Very noisy , close 2 busy rd , dirty shower/toilets unless you wanna clean them yourself with mop n bucket provided !!
very loud band going on till 3am , which we were not told about , poor lighting round toilet area , had a nasty fall over a disabled toilet wall , owner not interested in what i had to say , other than to say that nobody else had fallen over it .
the site shop consists of a few tins and crisps / chocs on a shelf in office , so if you do go there be advised to go tesco's beforehand , also take plenty of plasters as lighting is poor all over site .

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karrow1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

A fantastic campsite with very clean showers and toilets. The check in was quick and easy and we were given a choice of three pitches. As previously mentioned by another reviewer you are very close to the M27 which isn't an issue during the day as you don't notice the noise but at night the noise was a problem, however we only stayed one night, I am sure it is something you could get used to if you are camping for more than one night. The site is fantastic for closeness to Paulton's Park.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veebee16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2009

great place to stay for family spacious field clean toilets and showers very friendly informative owners lots of places to go to paultons amusment park just around the corner southampton short drive as well as new forest lovely and relaxing many thanks :-)will definitely come again

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danulson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romsey
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mortimer Arms Hotel
Mortimer Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Romsey
354 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel
4.1 mi away
New Forest Lodge
New Forest Lodge
#1 of 1 in Landford
143 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Pastures Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Pastures Farm

Address: Green Pastures Farm Whitemoor Lane, Romsey SO51 6AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Romsey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Romsey
Also Known As:
Green Pastures Farm Hotel Romsey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing